Ponga Forest Lodge

549 Spencer Road, Lake Tarawera, Rotorua
15
Max Guests
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms

About this Holiday House

Now is the time to get away and put your feet up. This little hideaway is perfect for you to just get away, relax and forget about the world for a while. Tucked away amongst tranquil native bush and surrounded by iconic Ponga trees (the New Zealand silver fern), sits Ponga Forest Lodge, a charming Lake Tarawera retreat with Wi-Fi. Sleeping up to 15 across four bedrooms and a sleep-out, this is the perfect place for the extended family to kick back and relax in holiday mode. There's plenty of room for everyone to enjoy their own space, whether you're kicking a ball around the garden, cooking up a family feast on the BBQ or catching up on some holiday reading surrounded by the treetops. Your furry friends are welcome to come and join in on the fun too! Ponga Forest Lodge catches all day sun and is just 200m walk to the lake front reserve and boat ramp in the sheltered Otumutu Lagoon. Here you can go waterskiing, splash around in the water or launch your boat for some famous trout fishing. You're also just 10 minutes drive to the Blue Lake entrance to the mountain bike tracks adjoining the Redwoods mountain bike park. Enjoy scenic bush walks around the lake or walk to the natural hot pools and rock ledges to swim and jump into the clear lake waters. Slip into full relaxation mode at your own private retreat, secluded from the main road and surrounded with abundant birdlife as Tui's and Kereru fly overhead. If you fancy some adrenaline-filled adventures and a great meal, cruise over to Rotorua just 20-minutes drive away. Ponga Forest Lodge is a special find for the whole family, and is waiting to welcome you today! This is an amazing community that the house is set in. Enjoy time with the locals and please respect the locals peace and quiet. Although we encourage catching up with people, it is not a party house. Mid winter school holidays will be charged at a rate of $425 per night. All other public and school holidays will be charged at a rate of $465 per night. Please go to the bottom of listing prices and minimum nights stay. All bookings will be charged a $150 cleaning fee. Linen can be provided at $25 per head

Details and amenities

Child friendly
Pet outside only
Linen: please enquire
No smoking
No disabled access
Features
BBQ
Kayak(s)
Kitchen
Freezer
Fridge
Microwave
Oven
Bathroom
Accessible Bathroom
Shower
Laundry
Dryer
Extra Bedding
Washing Machine
Parking
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Basics
Tea, coffee, sugar etc
TV
Wifi
Other
Broadband
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning equipment
Cleaning supplies
Clothes line
DVD
Extra Toilet
Fire wood supplied
Fridge/Freezer
Internet available
Oil heaters
Outdoor furniture
Toaster

Bed layout

3 Queen(s), 1 Double Bunk(s), 3 Bunk(s)

Reviews

Average Rating: 4
4 total reviews

Greer
Beautiful quiet spot, well equipped house with a good entertainment selection for when you're not out and about enjoying all the area has to offer. Great host communication.
Nathan
This place was amazingly beautiful and such a wonderful location. The house was awesome and they had great movie selections.
Marie-José van Rhienen
Over the years we’ve stayed at many batches and this one left a lot to be desired! The place is a lot smaller than the photos suggests. But the biggest disappointment was when we ran out of water, which took some hours to get sorted! Coming back from a long mt bike ride and wanting to get clean this was a less than ideal situation plus leaving us with toilets that couldn’t be used. When emailing the owners they were less than concerned about our plight. Will not be staying here again given we believe that running water and working toilets are essential and should be guaranteed for this kinda money!
Response from Owner
Hi MJ. Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry about the water running out. Unfortunately this is the first time that this has happened. We thought we had gotten onto it very quickly for you but found that the pump had an issue and it took longer than it should have. We have now put in place some more steps to ensure that this does not happen in the future. Warm regards, Quent and Mel
View more...

Availability

Rates

Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
1 Feb - 28 Feb $450 / Night for 10 guests$252 Nights
5 Feb - 9 Feb $500 / Night for 10 guests$253 Nights
13 Apr - 19 Apr $500 / Night for 10 guests$254 Nights
19 Apr - 3 May $465 / Night for 10 guests$253 Nights
23 Apr - 27 Apr $465 / Night for 10 guests$253 Nights
4 Jun - 8 Jun $465 / Night for 10 guests$253 Nights
9 Jul - 26 Jul $450 / Night for 15 guests$253 Nights
2 Oct - 18 Oct $465 / Night for 15 guests$253 Nights
21 Oct - 26 Oct $465 / Night for 10 guests$253 Nights
1 Dec - 10 Dec $450 / Night for 10 guests$252 Nights
11 Dec - 16 Dec $465 / Night for 10 guests$252 Nights
17 Dec - 31 Jan $500 / Night for 10 guests$305 Nights
Rest of year$400 / Night for 10 guests$252 Nights
1 Feb - 28 Feb
$450 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
5 Feb - 9 Feb
$500 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
13 Apr - 19 Apr
$500 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 4 Nights
19 Apr - 3 May
$465 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
23 Apr - 27 Apr
$465 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
4 Jun - 8 Jun
$465 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
9 Jul - 26 Jul
$450 / Night for 15 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
2 Oct - 18 Oct
$465 / Night for 15 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
21 Oct - 26 Oct
$465 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
1 Dec - 10 Dec
$450 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
11 Dec - 16 Dec
$465 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
17 Dec - 31 Jan
$500 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $30Min. stay: 5 Nights
Rest of year
$400 / Night for 10 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
All bookings will be charged a $150 cleaning fee.

Location

More Holiday Houses near Lake Tarawera