'The Bluffs' at Gore Bay

241 Cathedral Road, Gore Bay
13
Max Guests
5
Bedrooms
3.5
Bathrooms

About this Holiday House

For the first time since it was built, ‘the Bluffs’ is now available for the public to stay. This iconic residence perched atop the cliffs at Gore Bay has the most amazing view and serene setting. Concealed down a landscaped driveway with neighbours nowhere in sight ‘The Bluffs’ offers space ‘o plenty. Boasting five large double bedrooms, three and a half bathrooms (two ensuites) accommodating up to 13 guests. Ocean views are had by three of the bedrooms including private patios so you can take in the view overlooking gardens. From any room, you can wake up to the awesome dawn chorus and the hypnotic crashing waves. Being above the beach means you get a lot more sun, and being perfectly situated ‘The Bluffs’ open-plan layout offers easy access indoor outdoor with ranch sliders and large windows to enjoy the sun as it moves around the house. A classic log burner is in residence to warm any cold wintery feet. Whilst also heating the water the fire ensures you can take that hot shower after a dip in the cool Pacific Ocean. ‘The Bluffs’ has wheelchair access throughout including a bedroom with ensuite on the ground level. There is plenty of space for parking and maneuvering any larger vehicles. Check-in is after 2 pm and Check-out is at 10 am

Details and amenities

Child friendly
Pet: please enquire
Linen not provided
No smoking
Accessible
Features
BBQ
Heating & cooling
Fire place
Heat pump
Kitchen
Dishwasher
Freezer
Fridge
High Chair
Microwave
Oven
Bathroom
Accessible Bathroom
Shower
Laundry
Dryer
Extra Bedding
Iron
Washing Machine
Parking
Boat parking
Garage
Off Street Parking
Basics
Tea, coffee, sugar etc
TV
Wifi
Other
Broadband
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning equipment
Clothes line
DVD
Electric heat
Ensuite Bathroom
Extra Toilet
Fire wood supplied
Fridge/Freezer
Internet available
Laundry Tub
Outdoor furniture
Phone
Toaster
Wood stove

Bed layout

5 King(s), 3 Single(s), 4 Stretcher(s)

Special Amenities

'The Bluffs' is very private, the rural setting means you cannot see or hear any neighbours. There are walks around the property through extensive gardens, and a native tree gully to explore for the adventurous. But do be mindful the cliffs are not fenced at any point. Being rural means no light pollution, so the night sky is wide and star-filled great for photography and general star gazing. The iconic Cathedral cliffs a natural land formation which overlooks Gore bay is a 5-minute walk.

Special Attractions and Activities Nearby

Gore Bay is a well-known surf beach, you can get surfing lessons by top surfers - hire of boards and wetsuits are available. Top-notch surfcasting and fly fishing spots are both nearby at Manuka Bay and the Hurunui River (5-10 mins car). Where the Hurunui River meets the ocean (the river mouth) there are excellent Kayaking and swimming spots. There are both coastal and bush walks in and around the Gore Bay area, and the roads are nice and safe to cycle. Gore Bay has several playgrounds and a tennis court. Cheviot town is 7 km away and has cafes, takeaways, and a pub that serves evening meals. A 4-Square supermarket which stocks most things, a hardware store, and a homeware/gift store. Note. Cheviot does not have a pharmacy, however, the supermarket does supply a few things that you wouldn't expect.

Reviews

Average Rating: 5
4 total reviews

J Iti
I was very satisfied with my stay at "The Bluffs". The planning was easy as communication was great from the get go. The first thing you notice about this house is the view. There's no better view available in my opinion. The house was awesome and held the warm weather nicely all week. The features and details in the house show someone who cared about their house. We had family stay for one night and my wife, son and I stayed on for the rest. There was plenty of room and very private which made us feel comfortable. On the first night we got a beautiful sunset sky, a sky full of stars and lastly a beautiful orange moonrise. Waking up to the waves and view of the beach was incredible. Cheviot is only 10-15mins away and the fish n chips are great. Our family loved it so much we have booked again closer to Christmas. This is definitely a go to for all family getaways from now on. This was my first time to Gore bay and is now one of my favorite places in NZ. Best value for money/experience/attraction/well being house going on this website. Thank you Bernie
Response from Owner
Thank you so much for your wonderful words. We are happy you all were able to enjoy yourselves & the surroundings. Our parents built this house themselves, with the help of some grandchildren in Uni holidays, in their 60's and made it their piece of paradise.
Sam G.
We stayed here recently and the experience was among the best we have had - the location and house itself are amazing. We had absolutely no complaints at all during our entire stay with the house completely full (17 people). It was warm, spacious and well equipped. I would seriously encourage groups of any size to stay here - it's a perfect location to get away from the madness of town and unwind with some unforgettable sights and sounds. We greatly appreciated Bernie's prompt and clear instructions and correspondence - an absolute pleasure to deal with. Will certainly be looking to come back in the near future. Thanks 'The Bluffs' - you were mega!
joydeepgoon
AWESOME!!!!!! Total fun for all ages. The weather was superb, the location was outstanding, kids loved every bit of it.
Response from Owner
We are so happy you all enjoyed your time here. Thanks so much for your kind words.
View more...

Availability

Rates

Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
24 Dec - 28 Feb $200 / Night for 2 guests$252 Nights
Rest of year$150 / Night for 2 guests$252 Nights
Rest of year (Weekends)$180 / Night for 2 guests$252 Nights
24 Dec - 28 Feb
$200 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
Rest of year
$150 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
Rest of year (Weekends)
$180 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 2 Nights
Children under 1-year-old stay free. A cleaning fee of $150-200 is required.
The $200 nightly rate applies for Easter, school holidays and all other public holiday long weekends.
Linen can be provided at $20 per bed. Tea towels, bath mats and dish cloths will be provided.
A bond of $100 up to 6 people. $200 over 6 people.

Please bring your own beach towels. No bath towels are allowed on the beach.

50% deposit on booking. Full payment 7 days before stay.

No pitching tents or groups of people aged 20 and under.
No smoking or vaping.
Open fires or fireworks are prohibited at any time due to high fire risk all year round.


Check-in and check-out time
You may arrive anytime from 2 pm, check out is by 10 am on the day of your departure. If you wish to have a different check-in or check-out time please arrange this before your stay. Note that this can only be honored if the booking before or after you fits with this.

Payment
A deposit of 50% of the total cost of accommodation is required to secure your booking. Payment in full is required if your stay is for one night. A booking confirmation will be forwarded to you upon confirmation of availability and receipt of payment. Each booking made contains a $20 non-refundable administration fee.
There is a minimum number of nights permitted to be booked for events/long weekends.
You may pay your deposit by direct deposit. We will send you our bank account details when you make your reservation request. Please note that when paying by direct credit the balance must be paid at least 7 days prior to your arrival date.
Deposit payment is required for confirmation of a reservation request. Until the deposit is received the booked dates are still open for anyone to book, emailing us proof of payment is required. Should you require extra time or wish to cancel a booking please contact us immediately.
Once the full deposit is received we will email a confirmation receipt with information on where to pick up the key.
In the event of an account not being paid when due, for accommodation, or if not provided, to invoice the tenant and if necessary refer the account to a debt collection agency and add all costs of collection to that account.

Cancellations and Alterations
If you wish to cancel your booking for any reason 30 days or more prior to the arrival date you will receive a refund of the deposit made less a $20 non-refundable administration fee.
Cancellation within 30 days prior to arrival date, forfeit your deposit.
Cancellation within 14 days prior to arrival date, total accommodation amount needs to be paid.
Choose your dates carefully. If you choose to shorten the length of your stay within 7 days prior to the arrival date you will still be liable for the full period originally booked.

Occupancy
Our home is made available on a per-person basis and only for guests that form part of the booking. We reserve the right to charge if you are found to have extra guests staying at the property after 9 pm.
Please do not exceed the maximum number of occupants.

Damage
The tenant booking the home is liable for damages to any property or content of the property incurred during their stay. Please inspect the property and report any damage immediately to the manager upon arrival.


Location

More Holiday Houses near Cheviot