Tongariro Lodge Villa

Grace Road, Turangi
Max Guests

About this Holiday House

Stay at New Zealands most iconic trout fishing lodge on the banks of the Tongariro River . Enjoy a magnificently appointed 3 bedroom villa with its own secluded sunny terrace and views of the Tongariro River or mountains beyond. The Villa provides plenty of space along with quality furnishings. Enjoy separate, open plan lounge and dining areas with snug armchairs, deep drapes and sky television. Your villa has a private bathroom and ensuite facilities, a full kitchen, laundry and free Wi-Fi. King beds and a variety of bedding options are available upon request. The main lodge is for your enjoyment also During your stay with us we encourage you to partake in the full Tongariro Lodge experience and to enjoy the unique experience our Lodge provides, including the best of hospitality,dining and outdoor activities . Please feel free to utilise our main lodge at any time at your leisure to either relax in our comfortable lounges,enjoy a coffee or drink from our bar ,read a book or the daily newspaper in front of the open fire.In the evenings we welcome you to join fellow guests for a pre dinner drink ,before enjoying our wonderful dining experience.In the mornings our cooked breakfasts will set you up for the days activities. This area truly is an outdoor wonderland and our staff have first hand experience and are very knowledgable about all the activities on offer and can recommend and reserve the very best guides and operators available for you.See our Guided trout fishing and outdoor activity sections and details of our lodge on our web site for some ideas to inspire you and our staff will get you out to enjoy it all.

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen provided
No smoking
Accessibility: please enquire
Tennis court
Heating & cooling
Air Conditioning
Heat pump
Cot Available
Washing Machine
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Tea, coffee, sugar etc
CD player
Cellphone coverage
Ensuite Bathroom
Extra Toilet
Internet available
Laundry Tub
Outdoor furniture

Bed layout

1 King(s), 2 King single(s), 2 Queen(s)

Special Amenities

Set in beutifull parklike grounds on the banks of the Tongariro River

Special Attractions and Activities Nearby

Resident Fishing guides,Tennis,whitewater rafting,golf,massage,scenic flights,snow skiing,Tongariro Alpine Crossing,Heli Hiking,hunting etc


Average Rating: 3
1 total review

Therese KELLY
For what we paid and the photos we'd seen on the website and 'Holiday homes to rent' we were a little disappointed in the villa we had when we arrived, as well as the facilities and amenities. We rented a villa for two nights for 5 people. Whilst the beds were comfortable, the villa itself was tired and in need of refurbishment. Light shades in the lounge were fragile and at breaking point. Kitchen and bathrooms are tired and the wallpaper/furnishings a little 'scarred'. The lounge has only enough seating for 4 people and for a villa that accommodates 6, this is not really sufficient. There is room for a couple of nice easy chairs which would be a great addition. Also the kitchen has a lot of equipment/crockery but it's patchy eg only 4 spoons, only 5 mugs and one of them chipped. The salt shaker was empty, the coffee plunger was only big enough for 2 cups (for a group of 5, and for a villa sleeping 6, this seemed odd). The kettle didn't work, the fridge light didn't work, there were no bowls for mixing scrambled eggs, there were only 4 wineglasses (and 2 champagne flutes). The spa pool had been out of action for a while according to one receptionist we inquired with ("it's not been a happening thing for a while now" were her words. Given this was the middle of winter, our two men were fly fishing all weekend and we would have all LOVED a good soak. Furnishings in the villa are tired and need a facelift. Toilets all very noisy (cisterns running all night keeping one of our party awake), no expel-lairs in the bathrooms seems strange? The setting and the park like grounds are just beautiful and location /proximity to river for fishing excellent. However no facilitaties at the lodge that we were aware of for cleaning fish/fishing gear.
Response from Owner
Hi Therese K, Thank you very much for taking time to write such a detailed review, I am sorry to hear that in this occasion we 'dropped the ball' and I would like to personally apologize. You feedback is extremely important to us as it tells us what we do well and where we can improve. The SPA pool unfortunately was out of action due other guests leaving it not in the best state and it took sometime for the team to have it up and running again. As to your personal email to me, you did find our reception staff (Becky) extremely helpful, it is a shame you didn't find time to write it in the public review. It has been a pleasure having you at the lodge, and I am glad we managed to sort all the hiccups you had with the Holiday Homes website due to initially booking the wrong date. Kind Regards Guido



Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
All year$525 / Night for 4 guests$501 Night
All year
$525 / Night for 4 guests
Extra guests: $50Min. stay: 1 Night




More Holiday Houses near Turangi