Oke Bay Lodge

147 Rawhiti Road, Rawhiti, Rawhiti
12
Max Guests
5
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms

About this Holiday House

This is a 120 year old, two storey, historic Villa. Watch this video: https://vimeo.com/229831275 The renters comments on this site are horribly out of date! This because we advertise on other sites such a bookabach and airbnb and rarely get traffic through this site now. Suffice to say, it's now 2018 and the Lodge is fully restored and complete! When you rent the Villa, you'll have it all to yourself. It is located right at the beginning of the Cape Brett walking track, rated one of the best 100 in the world. All you need to do is walk out the front door and onto the track! The Villa is by far the best location available in Rawhiti if you want close proximity to Oke Bay (Kiri Te Kanawa's favourite beach. Her holiday house not far away) and the walking track. Check out Kiri's holiday house: http://www.nzwomansweekly.co.nz/celebrity/wish-you-were-here/ Two showers, a bath, mains pressure hot and cold water, 3 flush toilets, stove, microwave, two fridges, a freezer, kitchen with all the essentials (in terms of pots and pans, bowls, glasses/cups and cutlery), phone, wireless broadband, boat ramp down the road, sky TV via the internet, auto washing machine etc. If you have a boat, you'll be able to anchor it right in front of the Lodge in full view of the deck. We have our own mooring. The Villa is rustic but clean. Almost the entire inside is kauri. It's best described as a large-classic-kiwi bach, ideal for kids and large families who don't want 5 star and who want to relax and not have to worry about damaging anything. BEDS AND BEDDING In total, there are beds for 13 people at present. Upstairs there is a double bed in two rooms, a queen in another, and a set of bunks in another. Downstairs there are a set of bunks, and a couch that unfolds and turns into a comfortable double bed. The bed sizes of the three upstairs beds are: 2m x 1.55m (Queen) 1.95m x 1.45m (Double) 1.9m x 1.4m (Double) Downstairs, one set of bunks has two king single mattresses 106 cm by 203 cm All the beds have pillows, duvet's, and under blankets. All you need to bring is sheets pillow slips. Best of all, bring sleeping bags. The SPECIAL feature of this property is that there is a beach on both sides (an Isthmus) so you'll get breathtaking views. Oke Bay is world class with incredible diving, safe swimming and fishing. It's a one minute walk from the Villa. You'll never be short of things to do! Dolphins frequently visit this bay, so if you strike it lucky, you'll be swimming amongst them! Please watch this video to see what I mean: http://youtu.be/FzIzf77WWx0 There is off street parking for up to 8 cars. You'll also have no neighbours as we own the land on both sides i.e. the house sits in a sun trap pocket of native bush. Elliot Bay, a renown surfing beach, is only 10 minutes away by car. The Lodge is 1 hour from Whangarei and 3 hours from Auckland, 35 minutes from Russell. COSTS/REFUNDS/CHARGES? Please keep a record of extra people who stay the night (i.e. extra family and friends). With your permission, extras will be deducted from your bond at the end of your stay. We appreciate your honesty on this one.

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen not provided
No smoking
No disabled access
Features
BBQ
Kayak(s)
Sky TV
Kitchen
Freezer
Fridge
High Chair
Microwave
Oven
Bathroom
Accessible Bathroom
Bath
Shower
Laundry
Extra Bedding
Iron
Washing Machine
Parking
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Basics
Tea, coffee, sugar etc
TV
Wifi
Other
Broadband
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning equipment
Cleaning supplies
Clothes line
Computer/internet
DVD
Electric heat
Extra Toilet
Fire wood supplied
Fridge/Freezer
Internet available
Outdoor furniture
Phone
Toaster

Bed layout

2 Bunk(s), 1 Sofa bed(s), 1 Single(s), 2 King single(s), 3 Queen(s)

Reviews

Average Rating: 5
15 total reviews

Bruce
This is five-star all the way for position - beautifully perched above a tranquil bay (with terrific views over the Bay of Islands), with a second, more isolated but just as lovely, bay a couple of minutes wander behind. From the outside, the house and grounds are wonderful, with a restful dining "pad" at the front for a drink or meal overlooking the bay. Inside, it's still a work in progress, but entirely comfortable and pleasant. The double bedrooms upstairs (with great views) are brilliant. Once the floors are sanded and stained (at present, bits and pieces of carpets are spread around - but that's fine), and some of the walls plastered and painted, this will be even better. The kitchen is completed (huge and very modern) and the downstairs bathrooms are also complete (leaving the upstairs bathroom needing just the wonderful claw-foot bath to be connected). The stairway is a bit rickety and needs a rail, but take it easy and everyone will be fine. All in all, a great place to stay (there were just two of us and we rattled around a bit with all that room!), though fishing off the rocks was disappointing (too hard to find a decent spot from half tide on). But no complaints from us - just brilliant! Love to come back when the restoration is finished.
Response from Owner
Thanks for your comments Bruce. We look forward to seeing you again! :)
jennifer
What a great place to unwind - total peace and utterly beautiful location. It was a long drive from Auckland, but I felt my blood pressure slowly drop as soon as we arrived and realised what a lovely place we were staying in. Watched the sun set over the water from the front deck. Waking to the sound of waves gently lapping the shoreline was lovely. Then the next morning we walked up behind the property and were stunned by the beauty of the white sands and blue waters of Oke Bay. As there is no road access, we had the beach completely to ourselves for most of the morning. The house renovations are not yet complete but it is clean and well organised, and the kitchen and bathrooms are pristinely new - mostly just a bit of painting to go. It's a real pleasure to see a lovely old building being rescued. The outdoor decks are fantastic for outdoor dining, and there are lots of facilities for outdoor cooking. We'll be back for a week next time, 2 nights wasn't long enough.
Response from Owner
We'd love to have you back!!! :)
Elayne
We stayed here for 13 nights and it was the most wonderful holiday! Our 4 children (ages range from 1-8) loved Oke Bay with it's gentle waves great for learning to boogie board, but with no worry of rip or tow. It is a popular beach judging by the amount of people that would walk up the track next to the property, but it was nice knowing we were the closest house to the beach and could go there anytime. The beach out in front of the house (the one you get a view of from the small front deck) was a short walk to the soft sand and kids enjoyed swimming, jumping off the pontoon, swinging on the tree swing, exploring the rock pools and building sandcastles there also. We loved being able to moor the boat straight out in front of the property. The kids loved standing carefully on the front deck watching the fishermen return and call out to them as they were mooring the boat to see what fish they had landed. We saw dolphins, penguins, a large sea turtle, and tonnes of king fish, snapper, squid, scollops and other impressive aquatic life. The water is so clear and warm and the many beaches around the Bay of Islands are all so different. We would highly recommend a trip out to Urupukapuka Island for a simple bite to eat at Otehei Bay and a walk around the island. The views are spectacular. Oke Bay Lodge was great for us. We had 2 other family come to join us while we were there and there was plenty of room for all 15 of us. Because the kids ages were 1-8 we could relax knowing we were staying in a house that was being done up, and wasn't too ornate. It is beautiful though. We did find it very hot and didn't want to leave the windows open at night as we would be eaten alive by mosquitos. But we found Julian excellent to deal with. He is very thorough and generous. We loved cooking on the new Weber BBQ, and enjoyed a lot of fresh seafood. The grounds are lovely, we can't wait to visit again and see how all the beautiful tropical palms have grown. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking and baking and we were short of nothing. The lounge is small, but most of the time we just relaxed outside. There is great fridge and freezer space which was important as the supermarket is over an hour away! We can't wait to return.
Response from Owner
Thanks Elayne and Chris. I was a pleasure having you. Thanks for leaving the Lodge so clean and tidy.
View more...

Availability

Rates

Date rangeRatesMinimum stay
All year$150 / Night for 1 guest1 Night
All year$250 / Night for 2 guests1 Night
All year$345 / Night for 3 guests1 Night
All year$420 / Night for 4 guests1 Night
All year$490 / Night for 5 guests1 Night
All year$456 / Night for 6 guests1 Night
All year$630 / Night for 7 guests1 Night
All year$696 / Night for 8 guests1 Night
All year$756 / Night for 9 guests1 Night
All year$810 / Night for 10 guests1 Night
All year$858 / Night for 11 guests1 Night
All year$912 / Night for 12 guests1 Night
All year
$150 / Night for 1 guest
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$250 / Night for 2 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$345 / Night for 3 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$420 / Night for 4 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$490 / Night for 5 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$456 / Night for 6 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$630 / Night for 7 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$696 / Night for 8 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$756 / Night for 9 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$810 / Night for 10 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$858 / Night for 11 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
All year
$912 / Night for 12 guests
Min. stay: 1 Night
Even though there are only beds for 13 people, there are 150mm thick quality mattresses available so the house can sleep up to 23 people.
Also, many visitors like to pop tents up on the lawn, especially teenagers.

Location

More Holiday Houses near Rawhiti