Lake Clearwater Bach

30 Mt Guy St, Lake Clearwater Via Mt Sumers, Canterbury Area
13
Max Guests
3
Bedrooms
1
Bathroom

About this Holiday House

Large Bach, Polished Remu floorboards, Sleeps 12. Verandah with lovely lazy bench, Solar Hot water Bag Showers in inside bathroom. Open plan living, Dining and Kitchen areas. Main bedroom has a Queen + two Single Beds, (4 people) 2nd Bedroom has a Double bed and four Single beds (6 people) 3rd Bedroom has a Queen bed. (2 people) Lounge Room has a Sofa / Fold down Double bed (2 people) Lovely lake views from Verandah, fresh rainwater, new rear outside building & toilet. Modern inner sprung mattresses and new Gas Oven and upright stove. New Metro Fireplace also in kitchen and 2 * large Fridges, one 12 Volt and one LPG. Quiet peaceful location in DOC land (Dogs not permitted-sorry :) Plenty of walks, and outdoor pursuits..or a lovely spot for reading on the verandah or lounge.....Internet Wi-Fi available at an extra cost. Our rear private entertaining area with large table on Wheels and surround seating has been completed. Enjoy the serenity from your perfect private Lunch or breakfast spot! Relax on a sun lounger and read a book in peace. Feb 2022 UPDATE: We have completed some internal renovations during April / May 2021, however we are undertaking and finishing off further internal, and some additional exterior renovations to the Bach and there may be some inconvenience with building materials until this is finished. I have Gyb board stored inside behind the couch. The inside shower uses one of two 20 L Solar Hot Water Bags, which in sunny weather can be left outside, or during grey days, can be heated on the Stove. A new shower will replace these Solar Hot Water bags once LPG Califont installation is completed. Please message me if you would like further info or please book accordingly for your dates at an amazing location. :)

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen not provided
Smoking outside only
No disabled access
Features
BBQ
Trampoline
Heating & cooling
Fire place
Kitchen
Food processor
Freezer
Fridge
Oven
Bathroom
Shower
Parking
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Basics
Wifi
Other
Cleaning equipment
Cleaning supplies
Internet available
Laundry Tub
Outdoor furniture
Wood stove

Bed layout

3 Queen(s), 6 Single(s), 1 Fold out bed(s)

Special Amenities

Views of mountains all round. Views of lake from Verandah. 33km from Mt Sumers and 90 mins from Chch. Lovely walks in DOC land and round lake walks. 2 lakes - plenty of Fishing - Salmon and Trout. Lovely peaceful environment...relaxing. Local payphone available, no mobile coverage. No Dogs allowed in DOC area.

Special Attractions and Activities Nearby

Lovely walks in the DOC reserve and a short trip to Lord of the Rings filmset location. Great Salmon fishing in both rivers, Perfect for children, lots of play equipment and specific kids playgrounds.

Reviews

Average Rating: 3
10 total reviews

Nicola Scott
Unfortunately we were disappointed with this bach, for the price asked. It did have good beds, mattresses, the fridge worked & was clean inside. However, the main water tank was empty so we had no running water inside. Had to fill pots & kettle at outside tub. The shower also does not work. It is misleading on the website (which says solar hot water shower inside), that there are only camping type plastic solar shower bags hanging in the bathroom, that you need to boil water and fill up to use. The instructions sent state there is a "good hot water shower". We understood there was construction activity, however the outside has a lot of just old junk etc everywhere. Our complaint really is that $145 a night is very pricey for what is offered here, we'd expect only to pay about $75 for this (as is the price of the bach next door in a similar condition, that we've stayed in before). We stay in a lot of holiday baches around NZ and this was very steep for what you get. Owner communication was difficult, we had to chase up access instructions which we only got just minutes before needing to leave home. Sorry to be negative, but we felt a bit deflated on arrival.
Response from Owner
Nicola Thanks for your review and comments. I am pleased you found the inside of the Bach clean with great beds and mattresses and the LPG Fridge was clean and worked. We have spent considerable time and money on renovations to the interior of the Bach. I am however, disappointed to see your comments – especially given our attempts to address your concerns directly with you. Water Tanks. My cleaner serviced the Bach a few days before you arrived and reported using the inside kitchen taps for water for cleaning. There were no low water levels during her visit. I accept that the tank feeding the inside sink was low, but as it had been checked a few days before your arrival, and this had never happened before, I had no reason to suspect there would be a problem. Since your comments, I have had the tank and pipes investigated and found a pipe-leak that has since been repaired. Whilst I regret that this unfortunate incident happened to you, it was a once off, single event and now fixed, would not be repeated. I am also pleased you were able to source rainwater from another one of our tanks onsite. We are finalising Council approval now for an additional 5500 litres of water storage in tanks, so this will increase our water storage from 25,000 litres and give us an additional 5500 litres of header tank storage. Hot Water. I note your comments re the solar hot water bags but it was disclosed on the website. In my advertisement for the Bach on Holiday Homes, I state “Solar hot water showers inside Bathroom,” and “the inside shower uses Solar Bags or stove heated water until the LPG Califont instalment is completed.” I am sorry you overlooked this disclosure or didn’t seem to understand this, but it was disclosed on the website that guests would need to use Solar Hot Water Bags. If you did not understand this, or had any questions, you were welcome to discuss before booking. The advertisement itself states “Please message me if you would like further info.” A renovation was underway, but the bathroom has not yet been completed. Until it has been completed, the system will remain two solar hot water bags of 20 litres, but we expect later this year for the new shower to be installed. Building Materials. Again, the advertisement for the Bach indicated that there were building materials left in the exterior. The advertisement stated “we are undertaking and finishing off some additional exterior renovations to the Bach and there may be some small inconvenience with building materials until this is finished.” I regret that you seem to have overlooked this, or had a different expectation, but the advertisement sought to be transparent. I have checked with my onsite manager/cleaner and only building materials have been left in the exterior. I note that the rear decking Table / Chairs undercover setup is free from all materials and was completed for guests use and comfort, as is the front decking area. Price and Comparisons. We note you state your primary concern is price. You freely chose to book the Bach, and the advertisement made the above disclosures. We note that you seem to have had less than ideal experience. Because we accepted that the tank water leak was something that should not have occurred, and for that, offered to compensate you to remedy the situation and make it right. We note this Bach has three separate bedrooms, each with a Queen or double bed, and sufficient beds to sleep 13 people – at full capacity, with an additional price over 4 persons, the Bach offers accommodation for $25 a person – which we are sure most would agree is a more than reasonable price. While we do not feel it appropriate to make comparisons with our neighbouring Bach’s, we note that the pricing of our Bach is in the middle range of nearby available Bach’s with others greater and less in price. Our Bach is priced according to the number of rooms/beds and available facilities (i.e. fridge, innersprung mattresses, and internal shower), with cheaper Bachs having less rooms, no inside shower or bathroom, and long-drop toilets. We do not feel your making of such comparisons is an appropriate critique. We also note to complain after the event of price when you freely accepted the choice to book, and refused our attempts to remedy the situation, is unfortunate. Communication. We communicated with you prior to your arrival and instructions were sent as usual before 8am on the planned day of arrival. We followed this up with a phone call to ensure you did receive the Bach instructions. We note that we had an onsite representative available to assist you, who did assist you when contacted. As mentioned above, we want all our guests to have a terrific time at Lake Clearwater, and recognized that you felt your experience was less than ideal (although we do believe we disclosed two of the key matters for which you had concerns), and sought to remedy this. We find it disappointing that despite our disclosures and attempts to remedy the situation you chose not to take us up on our efforts. For our future guests, we are aiming to complete the bathroom renovations and building exterior works within the next 6 months and ask you to be patient while we navigate the Covid restrictions that we have been dealing with. Lake Clearwater is an awesome area to discover and we love sharing this location with our guests to also enjoy.
Jamie Clapperton
Great location, undergoing renovations while we were there but should be a good spot once finished.
Response from Owner
Hi Jamie Fantastic you were able to go and enjoy the Bach. Thanks for your patience with the improvements - on track and YES the improvements will make it amazing! thanks.... Warren
Daniella Whitaker
Great place with great price for a weekend hang out :) The fire is AMAZING! Prompt and clear communication from owner. Thanks!
View more...

Availability

Rates

Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
23 Dec - 10 Jan $145 / Night for 4 guests$201 Night
Rest of year$135 / Night for 4 guests$201 Night
Rest of year$1015 / Week for 4 guests$201 Week
Rest of year (Weekends)$145 / Night for 4 guests$202 Nights
23 Dec - 10 Jan
$145 / Night for 4 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 1 Night
Rest of year
$135 / Night for 4 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 1 Night
Rest of year
$1015 / Week for 4 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 1 Week
Rest of year (Weekends)
$145 / Night for 4 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 2 Nights
Weekend Rates are $145/night (including Friday and Saturday nights).
During 3 day long weekends, min booking 3 days.
During 4 day long weekends, min booking 4 days.
Ask for last minute rates - Keys on site, if you want to book now and jump in the car.
Internet WiFi available at an extra cost
warrenfrancisbach(at)gmail.com

Cancellations

Loading...

Location

More Holiday Houses near Lake Clearwater