The Old Trout's Place

21 Korua Street, Moana/Lake Brunner
Max Guests

About this Holiday House

NEW OWNERS DEC 2020 "The Old Trout's Place" is a small but charming, genuine kiwi bach. Backing onto a native bush reserve, with magnificent views of Lake Brunner and the mountains and a large deck for outdoor dining, it is the perfect spot for a romantic weekend away or to just relax and unwind. It's an easy stroll to the lake front, the Moana Hotel, the Stationhouse cafe/restaurant and nearby bush walks. The Old Trouts place is great for couples seeking a relaxing holiday retreat. This is a classic Kiwi style bach, small and quaint. Comfortably suitable for 4 people. Please note that no linen is provided. We do not charge a clean up fee but kindly ask that you be a tidy Kiwi and leave the bach how you found it on arrival. Cleaning products and vacuum supplied for your tidy departure. Enjoy!

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen not provided
Smoking outside only
No disabled access
Washing Machine
Boat parking
CD player
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning equipment
Cleaning supplies
Electric heat
Oil heaters
Outdoor furniture

Bed layout

1 Queen(s), 1 Double(s)


Average Rating: 4
2 total reviews

A great base for our relaxing break! Beautiful view over lake and hills. Fantastic big deck to have that evening gin on. New owners have refreshed this ‘old trout’. Great communication too. We enjoyed our stay.
Response from Owner
Hi Kim , thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return at some stage PS have now added a Heat Pump for winter stays Steve & karen
A very basic bach. The house is older and so a bit musty at first, but warmed up quickly. Note: “no linens” means no sheets and no towels, blankets, soaps, spices, etc. And, of course, no wi-fi. Also, there was no place to hang anything (coats, clothes, etc.)
Response from Owner
Thanks for your feedback Ann. You were aware there was no linen at the time of booking as this service was offered for an additional cost. I do not supply toiletries as it is a bach rather than a motel or B & B. This is fairly typical in NZ. Also as we do not live on the Coast we cannot top up supplies between guests. This. Blankets are provided in each room. Given the size of the bach there is no wardrobe space but coat hooks are provided on both bedroom and bathroom doors and the bathroom/laundry wall.



Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
All year$145 / Night for 2 guests$101 Night
All year
$145 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $10Min. stay: 1 Night
A minimum 30% deposit is required to secure your booking with the balance payable 30 days prior to the commencement of your stay. If paying via the online booking service, payment is required in full at the time of booking.
Special rates for long stays available on request except during peak holiday times and public holidays. PLEASE SEE NOTE ABOVE RE: MINIMUM BOOKING DURING CHRISTMAS/NEW YEAR HOLIDAY PERIOD


More Holiday Houses near Moana