35 Chalet Crescent, Hanmer Springs
Max Guests

About this Holiday House

"The Bach" is the quintessential Kiwi Bach a perfect place for you to unwind, relax and soak up the serenity! Surrounded by trees The Bach is very private and just a short walk from the heart of Hanmer Springs pools, cafés and shops. Set over 2 storeys The Bach can comfortably sleep 10 guests in 4 bedrooms, ideal for two families. Upstairs boasts open plan living, dining and kitchen along with the master queen bedroom. The 2nd upstairs bedroom has a set of single bunks and a pull out trundler bed. There is also a bathroom with shower and toilet. The Bach can be enjoyed in all seasons…..In winter you can curl up by the log burner and summer chill out on deck and enjoy the sun and mountain views. The upstairs level is surrounded by decking so there is always somewhere to sit back and relax. From the living room you walk out onto the main outdoor living area. This large deck has an outdoor table and a BBQ. The large deck leads you to the lower level via a sheltered and secure external stairway. Downstairs has a further two bedrooms, shower, toilet and laundry with heat pump. There is a larger bedroom with a queen and single bed – this room also has a TV and DVD player and is a great room for the “kids” to hang out in. The 4th bedroom has 2 single beds. Please note that the access to downstairs is external but secure. We love our “Bach” and have set it up so that you and your family & friends can come and enjoy a hassle free holiday too!

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen: please enquire
Smoking outside only
No disabled access
Heating & cooling
Fire place
Heat pump
High Chair
Extra Bedding
Washing Machine
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
CD player
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning equipment
Cleaning supplies
Clothes line
Electric heat
Fire wood supplied
Laundry Tub
Outdoor furniture

Bed layout

2 Queen(s), 3 Single(s), 1 Bunk(s), 1 Trundler bed(s), 1 Cot(s)

Special Amenities

If you are wanting sky tv you can bring your own sky card and put into the freeview box supplied, just remember to take your card home with you. No internet sorry


Average Rating: 5
22 total reviews

Bottom half of the house shouldn’t be let out as a rental as it’s damp and stinks of mould, and has an army of insects taking residency down there. If you have allergies or asthma, I would give this place a miss. The upstairs of the house was better in that it wasn’t damp or smelly. The shower in the basement has a constant drip which kept me awake until 1am the first night until I put a towel in to muffle the noise but it was so severe even a pillow and blanket on top didn’t quieten it! I think this is a contributing factor to the damp as there is no ventilation when the place is shut up but there is a constant source of open water - hence mouldy smell and insect haven. There looked to be an issue with rising damp on the outside exterior walls of the basement too. When we arrived the key box code we had been given was wrong and we had to wait a full hour before getting a response from the owner which was they had changed the code and forgotten to update their info sheet. We had driven for five hours straight with two young kids. We wanted to use the toilet, unpack and maybe make something at the end of the day but due to the stress of not knowing if we would be able to even enter the property or have somewhere to sleep, we spent that hour ringing alternative accommodation places to see if there was availability for us as it was 4.15pm and most places closed at 5pm so it was really stressful. Despite calling repeatedly, texts and emails to the owners it took forever to get a response. When we finally got inside we were so drained from the day, the 29c heat and the stress of not having a bed for the night, we lost that whole first evening when it should have been enjoyed at the hot pools. I’ve had to wash the entire contents of my suitcase when getting home and also leave the case open in the garden to air it as it had absorbed the damp smell from the basement flat and even my make up bag stank of it. Really unfair this wasn’t mentioned in the listing especially as it pitches the downstairs bedroom as a place kids can enjoy movies. My son had to sleep upstairs with the other family after one night in the basement as he woke up sneezing, with a runny nose. I thought he had a cold but as soon as he left the basement he was fine. He doesn’t even have allergies. This was meant to be a fun mini break with two mums and two kids but the accommodation was so bad that it really ruined what could have been a good stay. I gave one star because the location was good. The house needs attention or at least mentioning of the damp downstairs. And the key box code drama really killed our arrival. Beyond unprofessional.
Response from Owner
Yes totally 100% my fault regarding you not being able to get in when you arrived, but regarding all your other commitments you left anyone only needs to read all the other guests reviews on how much they enjoyed there stay and come to the conclusion that maybe you shouldn't have left booking your accommodation till the very last minute and you may not have missed out on a brand new 5 Star bach that suited your needs more
Ryan Graves
Great bach! The place is comfortable and everything works. There’s loads of games & DVDs to relax with after a day at the pools. Surrounded by trees, it’s is really tranquil place to stay.
Response from Owner
Thanks nice to receive feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay
Lois palmer
Lovely place, thankyou
Response from Owner
Glade your enjoyed hopefully it was still nice and warm when you arrived as I kept the fire going for you
View more...



Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
1 Jan - 31 Dec $200 / Night for 4 guests$202 Nights
Rest of year$180 / Night for 4 guests$202 Nights
1 Jan - 31 Dec
$200 / Night for 4 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 2 Nights
Rest of year
$180 / Night for 4 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 2 Nights
Standard rate = $180 per night for up to 4 guests - extra guests $20 pp (up to 10 guests)cleaning fee $150

Long weekends & school holidays (includes Christmas/New Years, Waitangi, Easter, Anzac, Queens Birthday, Labour & Show weekends) = $200 per night for up to 4 guests - extra guests $20 pp

Minimum stays of 2 nights
2 nights over all Public Holiday
2 nights over Easter Holiday
2 nights over all School Holidays

Ask about discounts for longer stays (+6 nights)

A cleaning and linen service can be arranged for an extra cost, Make sure you request this service when you book.


More Holiday Houses near Hanmer Springs