Close

Additional rates information

Tahuna House

225 Frankton Road, Queenstown
Ref #: 16696
Share
  • 5
  • 8
  • 4
  • 3.5
Description

Tahuna House offers serviced luxury Queenstown accommodation just 3 minutes drive from the centre of Queenstown. This luxury Queenstown lakeside accommodation really is ‘lakeside’ with steps down to Lake Wakatipu and a private jetty. The jetty is nestled among mature willows and provides an idyllic setting to picnic, fish or swim on a secluded beach. From the lake, it’s an easy 15 minute walk ...

Read more...

Tahuna House offers serviced luxury Queenstown accommodation just 3 minutes drive from the centre of Queenstown. This luxury Queenstown lakeside accommodation really is ‘lakeside’ with steps down to Lake Wakatipu and a private jetty. The jetty is nestled among mature willows and provides an idyllic setting to picnic, fish or swim on a secluded beach. From the lake, it’s an easy 15 minute walk along the lakefront track, through the botanical gardens into the centre of Queenstown. The steps have lights allowing you to walk into town at night.

Perfect for luxury skiing accommodation in the winter or as a superb holiday base for exploring Central Otago and Fjordland in the summer, this new lakeside luxury holiday house has short stay accommodation options to cater from 1 to 8 people in comfort, with stunning views of the surrounding mountains and Lake Wakatipu.

Tahuna House has been architecturally designed with floor to ceiling windows to maximize the world famous Queenstown scenery. All bedrooms have unobstructed mountain views of the Remarkables Mountain Range as well as Cecil Peak and Walter Peak to the west. All living areas overlook a plantsman’s garden and resident native New Zealand birds thrive in the surrounding trees.

The luxury upper level of this Queenstown holiday home has a spacious living / dining area, (with a Grandview log burner) and high quality well appointed kitchen. The room opens up to a balcony allowing indoor-outdoor living and offering spectacular lake views. There is one King size bedroom, with ensuite (with double bath and separate shower) and a walk-in dressing room. This floor also has a double garage, laundry and separate guest toilet.

The lower level of our Queenstown luxury accommodation has three double bedrooms, (one with an ensuite), a separate bathroom, a laundry, a well appointed kitchen, large living/dining area and a patio, also with breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu the Remarkables Range and the mountains surrounding Queenstown.

The large windows are all double-glazed; the external walls are insulated reinforced concrete (tilt slab), gas heaters (reticulated) on both floors and zoned underfloor heating throughout, ensures your stay will be warm and comfortable. All bedrooms have radiant wall heaters, built in wardrobes, fabulous views and very comfortable beds. Both floors have high quality fittings and furnishings, including large flat screen (Sky) TV’s, broadband and built-in stereo systems.

Tahuna House, our luxury Queenstown lakeside accommodation allows you to relax in stylish comfort and enjoy the views of the Wakatipu basin from Sunrise to Sunset. Please check the accommodation options and ask if you need more information.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year.

Rates
4 Jan-31 Mar
$680.00/Night for 3 guests
 
1 Night minimum
more
close
1 Apr-31 May
$520.00/Night for 8 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Apr-31 May
$420.00/Night for 6 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Apr-31 May
$280.00/Night for 2 guests
 
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Jun-30 Jun
$680.00/Night for 8 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Jun-30 Jun
$500.00/Night for 6 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Jun-30 Jun
$310.00/Night for 2 guests
 
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Jul-31 Aug
$780.00/Night for 8 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
5 Night minimum
more
close
1 Sep-30 Sep
$680.00/Night for 8 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Sep-30 Sep
$500.00/Night for 6 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Sep-30 Sep
$310.00/Night for 2 guests
 
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Oct-30 Nov
$580.00/Night for 8 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Oct-30 Nov
$480.00/Night for 6 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Oct-30 Nov
$300.00/Night for 2 guests
 
3 Night minimum
more
close
1 Dec-23 Dec
$680.00/Night for 3 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
24 Dec-3 Jan
$680.00/Night for 5 guests
 
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$680.00/Night for 8 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$500.00/Night for 6 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$310.00/Night for 2 guests
 
3 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

The upstairs and downstairs may be occupied independently. Downstairs accommodates 6 guests upstairs accommodates 2 guests. Both are self contained and a lockable door at the base of the stairs makes for privacy. During July and Aug and during Xmas and New Year we rent only the whole house for a min of 5 nights.

Reviews (21 Reviews)
Adventurebound
Stayed March 2017
Fantastic views, great space, nice touches. Having perused a few hotels in the area I found myself asking why would you when you can have a better view and four times the space along with excellent cooking and laundry facilities for a similar... Read more
Fantastic views, great space, nice touches. Having perused a few hotels in the area I found myself asking why would you when you can have a better view and four times the space along with excellent cooking and laundry facilities for a similar price. Check in was easy and the perfect spot to wind down at the end of our NZ honeymoon. We really didn't want to leave and hoping to one day stay again.
Owner's reply
Oldpavior
Stayed March 2017
Absolutely fabulous accommodation, the photographs of the house and views are representative of what to expect, in fact do not do it justice.
We were a party of six on a 3 night stay and found the facilities excellent. The location was... Read more
Absolutely fabulous accommodation, the photographs of the house and views are representative of what to expect, in fact do not do it justice.
We were a party of six on a 3 night stay and found the facilities excellent. The location was ideal. We walked along the lakeside to Queenstown and also used the regular bus service which is only 3min from the house. Arrival instructions excellent and Penny checked with us that everything was OK.
We would recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to visit the Queenstown area.
Owner's reply
anmomia
Stayed February 2017
I stayed with my wife for 3 nights. We absolutely loved waking up to breathtaking views each morning from the master bedroom. Being so close to all the amenities and the beautiful lake made our visit even more special. Will definitely be back... Read more
I stayed with my wife for 3 nights. We absolutely loved waking up to breathtaking views each morning from the master bedroom. Being so close to all the amenities and the beautiful lake made our visit even more special. Will definitely be back on our next visit :)
Owner's reply
JC1442
Stayed October 2016
We stayed for 4 nights in the top level of the house as it can be split into to separate, private accommodation areas. The house was very beautiful and comfortable making it hard to leave each morning to go out for the day. The floor to... Read more
We stayed for 4 nights in the top level of the house as it can be split into to separate, private accommodation areas. The house was very beautiful and comfortable making it hard to leave each morning to go out for the day. The floor to ceiling windows overlook the lake and the The Remarkable so you always have something beautiful to look at. The lounge dining area is large with a fireplace plus there is a huge gas heater that works fast to heat up the place. The kitchen is fully equipped and includes a BBQ on the balcony and a well stocked pantry. There is a washing machine and dryer in the large laundry which make a good drying room. I loved soaking in the giant deep bath tub in the ensuite. It is only a couple of kilometres from the centre of Queenstown and has a great lakeside path to follow or it's a cheap taxi ride for under $10. There are a couple of bus stops close by to get you around and a supermarket only a few minutes drive away. We really loved staying at Tahuna House and would definitely stay there again. The owner Penny was very professional to deal with and communicated well with us via email when we made the booking from Australia plus she gave us a call on arrival to check everything was OK. Our stay at Tahuna House was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. I can't wait to come back.
Owner's reply
LX
Stayed April 2016
We are group of 6 girls and really enjoyed our stay. Penny is a lovely to deal with. We have both Upper & Lover levels which is a great choice. I have stayed 3 holidays house in the same street before and this one is the best.
The house... Read more
We are group of 6 girls and really enjoyed our stay. Penny is a lovely to deal with. We have both Upper & Lover levels which is a great choice. I have stayed 3 holidays house in the same street before and this one is the best.
The house has everything at high standard. And the secenery make you don't want to leave the house.
I will definitely recommand Tahuna House to my friends.
Owner's reply
GrantRM
Stayed March 2016
This place really is as good as the photos! The bedrooms have lovely furnishings and the plush towels on the heated rails were a real treat. I would definitely recommend getting enough people/cash together for the whole house as the upstairs... Read more
This place really is as good as the photos! The bedrooms have lovely furnishings and the plush towels on the heated rails were a real treat. I would definitely recommend getting enough people/cash together for the whole house as the upstairs living area is a fantastic space to enjoy the views. It was so great to be able to walk to the gardens and into town along the lake (down the steps from the house to a good wide walking/cycle track) and avoid the traffic.
Owner's reply
Philippa Y
Stayed February 2016
Tahuna offered us the perfect location and absolute comfort for a family of 6 . Magnificent views, plenty of space & everything we needed. The best accommodation decision ever that made our stay in Queenstown so memorable for our family.
Tahuna offered us the perfect location and absolute comfort for a family of 6 . Magnificent views, plenty of space & everything we needed. The best accommodation decision ever that made our stay in Queenstown so memorable for our family.
Owner's reply
Diana R
Stayed January 2016
A beautiful house, well positioned just out of Queenstown (on the airport side). We holidayed there as a family of six adults and two small children and loved our stay. The house had everything we needed. The house was immaculate, the beds... Read more
A beautiful house, well positioned just out of Queenstown (on the airport side). We holidayed there as a family of six adults and two small children and loved our stay. The house had everything we needed. The house was immaculate, the beds were very comfortable and the view sublime.
Owner's reply
Scrabble
Stayed March 2015
Didn't want to leave!! What a fabulous house, found it difficult to drag ourselves away from the view. Very comfortable property with everything we could want, will definitely be going back. Thank you 😃
Didn't want to leave!! What a fabulous house, found it difficult to drag ourselves away from the view. Very comfortable property with everything we could want, will definitely be going back. Thank you 😃
Owner's reply

Stayed February 2015
Tahuna House can boast exquisite scenery from every window.Ambience like you would find at a 5 star hotel but with complete privacy like your own home.We had a special anniversary while there and everything was up to expectations and... Read more
Tahuna House can boast exquisite scenery from every window.Ambience like you would find at a 5 star hotel but with complete privacy like your own home.We had a special anniversary while there and everything was up to expectations and more.We can recommend getting a week pass with the local bus company( the Connectabus) which is fantastic if you happen to have poor weather, the bus stop is a few mins walk up the rd.The walk around the lake from the house is an easy one otherwise.The open fire was a treat and the sound system a dream.
Can't wait another 30 years ...we will be back soon hopefully!
Many Thanks Penny&Bill
Owner's reply
blaxellv
Stayed November 2014
You know you've had a great holiday when you don't want to leave and that's how we felt about Tahuna House. From the moment we walked in and saw the breathtaking ceiling to floor views we loved it! We rented the top floor which... Read more
You know you've had a great holiday when you don't want to leave and that's how we felt about Tahuna House. From the moment we walked in and saw the breathtaking ceiling to floor views we loved it! We rented the top floor which was perfect for a couple and it is like a home away from home. The home is extremely well appointed and very comfortable. The fire was a lovely addition for those who come from a warmer climate and not used to the colder weather. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone who wants to enjoy the beautiful Queenstown backdrop while living in style. Thank you to the owners for sharing their piece of paradise!
Owner's reply
Kim F
Stayed September 2014
Our extended 3 generation family stayed at Tahuna House in September 2014. We loved everything about the house from the open fire, location and wonderful facilities. The most outstanding feature of all was the amazing views from almost every... Read more
Our extended 3 generation family stayed at Tahuna House in September 2014. We loved everything about the house from the open fire, location and wonderful facilities. The most outstanding feature of all was the amazing views from almost every room. Breathtaking. Tahuna House was a wonderful place for our gathering and we would recommend it to other larger family groups.
Owner's reply
jmacca
Stayed April 2014
Just a super place Everything you could want or hope for, and just a brief 5 minutes to town. Tahuna House was instrumental in us ( a family of six - grandfather, mum, dad, and three Kids) having such a wonderful stay in Queenstown. Roomy... Read more
Just a super place Everything you could want or hope for, and just a brief 5 minutes to town. Tahuna House was instrumental in us ( a family of six - grandfather, mum, dad, and three Kids) having such a wonderful stay in Queenstown. Roomy and top quality. I don't want to talk it up too much more as we hope to return down the track and don't want it to be booked out!
I don't have a bad thing to say about it.
Owner's reply
debbieir
Stayed February 2014
This was a GREAT place for a working weekend with business colleagues...the house was wonderful, views awesome, and everything on hand - thank you!

Will definitely return if we get the chance
This was a GREAT place for a working weekend with business colleagues...the house was wonderful, views awesome, and everything on hand - thank you!

Will definitely return if we get the chance
Owner's reply
Squiz
Stayed December 2013
After scouring the internet looking for accommodation in Queenstown over the Christmas period for our extended family, I settled on Tahuna House. And what a great decision that turned out to be! Fabulous uninterrupted views over the lake and... Read more
After scouring the internet looking for accommodation in Queenstown over the Christmas period for our extended family, I settled on Tahuna House. And what a great decision that turned out to be! Fabulous uninterrupted views over the lake and the Remarkables from every window coupled with a house with everything one could ask for in terms of facilities guaranteed our stay was one we will long remember. Being able to have a fire on Christmas day due to the cooler weather certainly topped things off! Will definitely be back and next time will make it a longer stay. Thank you Penny.
Owner's reply
Marcelus
Stayed November 2013
Tahuna House has everything you could ask for in a holiday home. It has lovely large bedrooms and bathrooms, laundry access, and full kitchens. You are blessed with amazing views from every window in the house and the home itself has a warm... Read more
Tahuna House has everything you could ask for in a holiday home. It has lovely large bedrooms and bathrooms, laundry access, and full kitchens. You are blessed with amazing views from every window in the house and the home itself has a warm and relaxing feeling about it. Very homey and exactly what you want when on holiday. Thank you so much. We will definitely be back in the future.
Owner's reply
Creans
Stayed October 2013
Tahuna House has wonderful views over the lake and Frankton Arm, add to this the spectacular view of the Remarkables and you have a relaxing haven. The home also has a wonderful set up for larger groups with the facilities matching this... Read more
Tahuna House has wonderful views over the lake and Frankton Arm, add to this the spectacular view of the Remarkables and you have a relaxing haven. The home also has a wonderful set up for larger groups with the facilities matching this. Tahuna was clean, warm and the beds were extremely comfortable.
Owner's reply
cameron.rewa
Stayed March 2013
Tahuna house has overwhelmingly spectacular views. We found the design perfect for our group of eight. We appreciated the cleanliness of the facilities and the proximity to Queenstown was definitely an advantage.
Tahuna house has overwhelmingly spectacular views. We found the design perfect for our group of eight. We appreciated the cleanliness of the facilities and the proximity to Queenstown was definitely an advantage.
Owner's reply
husainnz
Stayed October 2012
We had such an awesome time at the Tahuna house. We arrived at night time and were instantly amazed by the house and its facilities, as well as the small touches that were added, like the fire place being fully ready to start (all we had to... Read more
We had such an awesome time at the Tahuna house. We arrived at night time and were instantly amazed by the house and its facilities, as well as the small touches that were added, like the fire place being fully ready to start (all we had to do was light the match!). When we got over our excitement for how great the house was, we went to sleep and woke up to jaw dropping views! The photos actually don't do it justice. The house is the perfect package. We enjoyed great weather during our stay, but even if the weather was bad, we wouldn't have minded staying in the house the whole time! Thank you Penny for being easy to deal with, and for providing us with such an enjoyable stay!

The Al-Badry, Al-Amleh and Farah families.
Owner's reply
Tahuna House
Stayed October 2010
Simply the best. Thank you Penny
Owner's reply
We had an awesome time staying at Tahuna House, the facilities were excellent, the views were awesome, and the fire was wonderful! Nice and close to town... just ideal for what we needed. The bedrooms were all great too... I have no... Read more
Simply the best. Thank you Penny
Owner's reply
We had an awesome time staying at Tahuna House, the facilities were excellent, the views were awesome, and the fire was wonderful! Nice and close to town... just ideal for what we needed. The bedrooms were all great too... I have no complaints! Thanks!! Tania Rowe March 2011
Tahuna House
Stayed March 2010
A great find
A great find
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make a booking Booking or Enquiry
Show the online booking process Hide the online booking process

How to book this house:

1
2
3
4

  • First name
    Surname
  • When are you going?
    This house is already booked during the dates you have entered.
  •  
     
  • How many people are going?
Close

Additional rates information

Extra Details

How to book this house:

1
2
3
4

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year.