Kauri Studio Cottage. Close to the water AND great views...

85 Scott Road, Tamaterau, Whangarei Heads, Whangarei
4
Max Guests
1
Bedroom
1
Bathroom

About this Holiday House

Swim at the beach and launch your boat from the boat ramp during the day, then tie up at the mooring. Spectacular sunsets from the front deck, which looks west across the harbour. It is the perfect spot to enjoy a coffee at sunrise or wine and a BBQ in the evening. It is also a great spot to sit back and listen to the native birds' song and watch the fish jump. We regularly see pods of dolphins and even orca swim past! Please note 3rd and 4th person would sleep on a sofa bed. Suitable for a couple, couple of friends, or couple and child, it has a queen bed and sofa bed in a living/dining and kitchen area, and a bathroom with toilet, basin and shower. There is plenty of parking available for cars and boats, and thirty seconds' walk to either of two boat ramps . Moorings also available, as well as a range of holiday houses, cabins and campsites nearby for family and friends. Tamaterau is a tranquil seaside community on the shores of the Whangarei Harbour, about 2 hours drive from Auckland. The area is known for great fishing, safe swimming, kayaking, waterskiing, windsurfing, kite surfing, and almost every other water sport you can think of. 18 hole golf course is only 1.5 km away. Great surfing is only fifteen minutes away. Set inside Blue Heron Holiday Park, this spectacular waterfront location with all the boating and fishing you can handle, is close to golf, tennis, horseback riding, and attractions of Whangarei and Whangarei Heads. Handy to Parua Bay and Parua Bay Tavern for dinner, socialising or one of their many weddings, and Mt Tiger for archery and bowhunting events.

Details and amenities

Child friendly
Pet outside only
Linen provided
No smoking
No disabled access
Heating & cooling
Electric blankets
Kitchen
Microwave
Oven
Bathroom
Shower
Laundry
Extra Bedding
Iron
Portacot
Parking
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Basics
Tea, coffee, sugar etc
TV
Other
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning supplies
DVD
Electric heat
Ensuite Bathroom
Fridge/Freezer
Outdoor furniture
Toaster

Bed layout

1 Queen(s), 1 Sofa bed(s)

Reviews

Average Rating: 1
1 total review

Bruce Holding
The male manager is rude. I didn't feel welcome at all. You talk about being dog friendly. How about being human friendly. There's mold in the showers. The doors jamb. There were ants on the kitchen bench. There's also no smoke alarms in the units & I saw no Fire Safety notice in the unit either. When I emailed Blue Heron to raise my concerns about the way I was spoken to I received a non-constructive and similar sort of response. I note similar reviews on Google Maps reviews about the poor way others have been treated by the male in question. I stay at a holiday home or camp site units about once every 2 - 3 months. This was the first time I was talked at disrespectfully over many years. I'm not happy at all.
Response from Owner
It is a shame that you go around this country giving bad reviews to hospitality outlets using these forums to lie because you did not get what you wanted, You expect us to change the rules to suit your selfish lifestyle. Well, I have found that your name has arisen in other places where you are now not welcome. All of our units have working smoke alarms, well it did until you left. We have put a new one back in place. Yes we have ants, so, we can't lay baits because we are pet friendly. All of this because you did not want to put your dog on a lead. You didn't even bring a lead with as you stated, so you had no intention to abide by our policies anyway. I will be passing your registration and name onto other outlets. You will be the first that we have ever done this too.

Availability

Rates

Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
17 Jan - 23 Jan $189 / Night for 2 guests$251 Night
24 Jan - 26 Jan $149 / Night for 2 guests$251 Night
27 Jan - 31 Jan $179 / Night for 2 guests$251 Night
1 Feb - 2 Feb $179 / Night for 2 guests$251 Night
3 Feb - 5 Feb $189 / Night for 2 guests$253 Nights
13 Apr - 16 Apr $189 / Night for 2 guests$254 Nights
21 Apr - 24 Apr $189 / Night for 2 guests$253 Nights
2 Jun - 4 Jun $189 / Night for 2 guests$251 Night
20 Oct - 22 Oct $189 / Night for 2 guests$253 Nights
22 Dec - 16 Jan $189 / Night for 2 guests$255 Nights
Rest of year$129 / Night for 2 guests$251 Night
17 Jan - 23 Jan
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 1 Night
24 Jan - 26 Jan
$149 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 1 Night
27 Jan - 31 Jan
$179 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 1 Night
1 Feb - 2 Feb
$179 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 1 Night
3 Feb - 5 Feb
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
13 Apr - 16 Apr
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 4 Nights
21 Apr - 24 Apr
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
2 Jun - 4 Jun
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 1 Night
20 Oct - 22 Oct
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 3 Nights
22 Dec - 16 Jan
$189 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 5 Nights
Rest of year
$129 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $25Min. stay: 1 Night
Christmas holidays, Queen's Birthday, Labour Day, Waitangi Day and Easter long weekend minimum number of nights may apply. Multiple weeks or monthly rates negotiable for longer term rentals of several weeks. Pet-friendly and welcome (charges apply).

Cancellations

Loading...

Location

More Holiday Houses near Whangarei Heads