Close

Additional rates information

SUPERB Home,Studio,Spa pool,lake & mountain views,OSP, and much more

MacKay Street, Wanaka
Ref #: 8970
Share
  • 5
  • 10
  • 5
  • 3
Description

ENJOY the huge sheltered and private DECK with SPA POOL, and barbeque, with views of the lake and the mountains. TWO minute walk to the lake and the attractive walking track around the lake. Approx 10-15 minute walk into town and Eely Point & Bremner Bay are only minutes away. Lovely secluded small bay at the bottom of MacKay Street. FREE WIFI.

WANTING TO GET AWAY? A SUMMER HOLIDAY? A WINTER ...

Read more...

ENJOY the huge sheltered and private DECK with SPA POOL, and barbeque, with views of the lake and the mountains. TWO minute walk to the lake and the attractive walking track around the lake. Approx 10-15 minute walk into town and Eely Point & Bremner Bay are only minutes away. Lovely secluded small bay at the bottom of MacKay Street. FREE WIFI.

WANTING TO GET AWAY? A SUMMER HOLIDAY? A WINTER SKI BREAK? FAMILY HOLIDAY? A WANAKA WEDDING? This is a superb holiday home for total relaxation and enjoyment. Perfect for a couple of families.

The house and studio unit are very spacious, relaxing and comfortable. Views of the lake from nearly every room, plenty of sun, 3 different living areas, den/sunroom can be open plan or shut off for peace and quiet. 3 TV's, (Sky on 2 of them, (sport & movies) free to view in the studio unit), DVD, Video, 2 CD stereos, WiFi broadband internet facility, plenty of books, games, and puzzles, as well as the POOL TABLE in the basement. Good cell phone coverage. Free WiFi in house.
The main house is heated by an open fire, heat pump, and underfloor heating in the kitchen and main bathroom, and the studio unit by a heat pump. All beds have electric blankets, feather duvets, and extra blankets. The kitchen is fully equipped with dishwasher, electric oven, fridge freezer, microwave, whizz, etc etc and a full range of crockery and cutlery. The studio has a fridge, microwave, jug, toaster, table & chairs, crockery and cutlery. The laundry has a washing machine, dryer, and tub in it, clothes line at back door.
Downstairs in the basement is the pool table, cycles, kayaks, book shelves and the firewood supply.8 bikes of varying sizes (with helmets) and 2 kayaks with life jackets.

The option of a cleaner is available if you do not wish to finish off the clean of the house, ready for the next guests at the end of your stay. It still needs to be left tidy, dishes done, rubbish and recycling removed, barbeque cleaned and gas bottles refilled, ready for the cleaners to finish off.
An option to have linen supplied with the beds made up ready for your arrival is available also.

You will go home feeling refreshed and recharged!!

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All year round

Rates
All year
$460.00/Night for 10 guests
$60.00 per extra guest
3 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Cleaner available at end of stay for [currently] $200.00.
Linen may be hired for [currently] $24.00 / person [Standard] or $30.00 / person [Premium]

Reviews (11 Reviews)
Tania Lear
Stayed August 2018
Thank you for a wonderful stay at your lovely house. This is our second time staying here and we look forward to staying here again. The house was clean, tidy, warm and super cosy comfortable. Loved soaking in the spa after our days skiing... Read more
Thank you for a wonderful stay at your lovely house. This is our second time staying here and we look forward to staying here again. The house was clean, tidy, warm and super cosy comfortable. Loved soaking in the spa after our days skiing then talking around the open fire with our friends and family.
Owner's reply
Chaily
Stayed April 2018
Lovely house! Clean and tidy and with everything you need. The large deck Is great and we loved the fire! Girls enjoyed the spa. It is a pleasant walk into town. Would recommend this house.
Lovely house! Clean and tidy and with everything you need. The large deck Is great and we loved the fire! Girls enjoyed the spa. It is a pleasant walk into town. Would recommend this house.
Owner's reply
Jan
Stayed March 2018
Second time staying here - fantastic place to base yourself in Wanaka - great place for couple of families - everything you need for a relaxing stay - especially the spa pool.
Second time staying here - fantastic place to base yourself in Wanaka - great place for couple of families - everything you need for a relaxing stay - especially the spa pool.
Owner's reply
Thanks very much. Always great to know it works well for you, family and friends.
Margaret Hopkins
Stayed February 2018
This is a brilliant house for a large family gathering. We found it extremely comfortable, clean and a great place to relax. We particularly liked the two separate living areas and large deck so that we could spread out. A great kitchen for... Read more
This is a brilliant house for a large family gathering. We found it extremely comfortable, clean and a great place to relax. We particularly liked the two separate living areas and large deck so that we could spread out. A great kitchen for cooking and entertaining and well equipped. The house is ideally situated and quiet. We walked into Wanaka township along the lake front several times. I would definitely recommend this house and would go back to stay again.
Owner's reply
Thank you for your lovely positive comments and for taking the time to post them. We're thrilled you enjoyed the place so much and that it worked so well for you and your family.
TREVOR BROWNE
Stayed November 2017
What a fantastic home. We are a Family from Australia attending our Sons Wedding. The owners of the property where extremely accommodating and helpful. Upon arrival the home was extremely well presented and perfectly clean. We loved every... Read more
What a fantastic home. We are a Family from Australia attending our Sons Wedding. The owners of the property where extremely accommodating and helpful. Upon arrival the home was extremely well presented and perfectly clean. We loved every minute of being there and was a fantastic location for all of us. The roses in the garden where stunning and made a beautiful back drop to the pre wedding photos.
Thank you again for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home and hope to return one day.
Owner's reply
Alaskan abroad
Stayed February 2016
Perfect for a large family getaway. Communal spaces for gatherings like a large deck, living room with fireplace, or long dining table. Cozy spaces like the small deck, jacuzzi, library or my favorite the sunroom. Kitchen is perfect for... Read more
Perfect for a large family getaway. Communal spaces for gatherings like a large deck, living room with fireplace, or long dining table. Cozy spaces like the small deck, jacuzzi, library or my favorite the sunroom. Kitchen is perfect for entertaining with a long stainless steel countertop and everything needed for cooking a feast. Family fun in the large basement with pool table or board games on rainy/snowy days. Bikes, kayaks, badminton on the lawn, ski trips with nicer weather. The nicest surprise was the proximity but seclusion of the cottage. Opening the triple wide windows on a summers eve letting the breeze lull us to sleep was priceless. All the rooms are private and comfortable but the cottage was second honeymoonable if you know what I mean. And the property is so perfectly situated in relation to town, the lake and parks. Superb is an appropriate adjective. Thanks for allowing us to enjoy your home Alison and John
Owner's reply
Arthur
Stayed January 2016
We rented here for a month and have a mixed review:

Upon arrival there was a lot of pet hair in the carpets. The internet listing states “no pets”, but there are pet doors at the back entrance to the house. We attempted to clean up the pet... Read more
Owner's reply
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay at our holiday home. We have been renting our house for over 7 years now, and yours is the first dissatisfied review. It is a holiday house, and not a serviced apartment. We rely on... Read more
We rented here for a month and have a mixed review:

Upon arrival there was a lot of pet hair in the carpets. The internet listing states “no pets”, but there are pet doors at the back entrance to the house. We attempted to clean up the pet hair with the house vacuum but it didn’t work at all since it was already stuffed with pet hair. When we contacted the owner about this they ordered a new vacuum for the house – apparently for us to clean up after somebody else. We instead insisted that the cleaner come by with a good vacuum cleaner - and she ended up sucking up 2 canisters of pet hair and filth.

The website also listed a phone would be available, but there was no phone. Honestly, there were other issues with general maintenance (worn-out kitchen utensils; broken kitchen floor tiles; old tired kitchen chair table cushions; etc.) and a lack of attention to detail (no light blocking blinds in the master bathroom; broken bathroom heater; non working front door key; no bike pump for bikes with flat tires; etc.). The mini-pool table is located in an unheated cold/dark basement garage – not the best place to spend time – unless is it the middle of summer.

On the positive side the house does have a nice layout & views, the deck and yard are large and sunny, nice location (note: there are lots of neighboring houses nearby in all directions) and gardening, and a great hot-tub.
Owner's reply
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed during your stay at our holiday home. We have been renting our house for over 7 years now, and yours is the first dissatisfied review. It is a holiday house, and not a serviced apartment. We rely on guests to tell us if items are broken, missing, or unsatisfactory. [When you mentioned the heater and the front door key you said it wouldn't be necessary for repair men to attend to them while you were there.] We have / will attend to anything that needs repairing / replacing as soon as we are able, but always have to work around our bookings, and sometimes there isn't enough time to get larger tasks completed, such as replacing flooring between bookings.
Regarding the pet hair in the carpet; we also were disappointed to hear about it. We don't have renters bringing dogs. We apologised profusely at the time, and asked the cleaner to come. We also immediately organised for a new vacuum cleaner to be delivered to the house for you, and noted that you didn't take the new vacuum cleaner out of the box during the entire month you were there.
Thank you for the positive comments you did make.
aj.koutsoukis
Stayed August 2013
Magnificent place with even better owners. Had a fantastic time here, the well-equipped kitchen, spacious rooms and open fire really made us feel at home after long days on the slopes.
Magnificent place with even better owners. Had a fantastic time here, the well-equipped kitchen, spacious rooms and open fire really made us feel at home after long days on the slopes.
Owner's reply
cnoah8
Stayed July 2012
Sincere appreciation to the owners for making their beautiful holiday home available during July for myself and my friends visiting from Western Australia. The home was exactly what we were after centrally located, fantastic views, heated... Read more
Sincere appreciation to the owners for making their beautiful holiday home available during July for myself and my friends visiting from Western Australia. The home was exactly what we were after centrally located, fantastic views, heated tile floors, cosy fire and essential electric blankets. Tucked away on a quiet street with all the mod cons needed. The weather was absolutely sensational even for skiing and the spa was exactly what we needed after a day on the slopes. We would highly recommended the property to others.
Owner's reply
philtaylor7
Stayed September 2010
A beautiful house and a wonderful place to stay in a nice quiet location. There were 7 of us staying together and we all had plenty of space. So easy to walk to the lake and even into the main street for a coffee. The spa was wonderful and... Read more
A beautiful house and a wonderful place to stay in a nice quiet location. There were 7 of us staying together and we all had plenty of space. So easy to walk to the lake and even into the main street for a coffee. The spa was wonderful and warm on those cold days!
Owner's reply
SthnPride
Stayed December 2009
Without a doubt, the best place we have ever booked via Holiday Houses. Alison was a dream to deal with and the house surpassed our expectations. It was roomy, efficient and versatile - the Deck and Spa were the icing on the cake and the... Read more
Without a doubt, the best place we have ever booked via Holiday Houses. Alison was a dream to deal with and the house surpassed our expectations. It was roomy, efficient and versatile - the Deck and Spa were the icing on the cake and the whole experience in this house was only surpassed by the amazing views of the surrounding scenery.

WE WILL BE BACK!!!!
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 460NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All year round