BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 180NZD

This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

BEACHFRONT STUNNING HOLIDAY HOME Ohawini Bay /Oakura Bay /Whangaruru

Ohawini Bay Road, Ohawini Bay, Whangaruru
Ref #: 5982
Share
  • 5
  • 10
  • 3
  • 2
Description

Absolute beach front. That means step out the front door onto the golden sand (no Road to cross).

Ohawini Bay this undiscovered jewel of the east coast is located at the entrance to the Whangaruru Harbour that forms the start of Cape Brett Peninsular. Our closest neighbour Oakura and it ocean Beach is just 1 Km away. On the northern side of the peninsular just 45 minutes drive is Russell and ...

Read more...

Absolute beach front. That means step out the front door onto the golden sand (no Road to cross).

Ohawini Bay this undiscovered jewel of the east coast is located at the entrance to the Whangaruru Harbour that forms the start of Cape Brett Peninsular. Our closest neighbour Oakura and it ocean Beach is just 1 Km away. On the northern side of the peninsular just 45 minutes drive is Russell and the Bay of Islands. We are just a comfortable 2 3/4 hour drive from Auckland and only 35 minutes from Whangarei.

Our luxury beachfront home, sitting right on the waters edge is located on a quiet, gently sloping safe swimming beach. The perfect place for the whole family and all water activities. And when the sun goes down drift off into dreamland with the sound of the sea singing its gentle lullaby.

The house is designed for maximum indoor outdoor interaction. The huge lounge has 3 double sliding ranch doors which open the house up to the vast decks. The floor to ceiling glass ensures that the 300 degree panoramic views up the harbour, out to the Poor Knights Islands, the Rimarikis and Mimiwhangata and across to Bland Bay can be enjoyed to the maximum. Not forgetting the frolicking Dolphins and Whales which you can view without even leaving the comfort of the plush leather lounge suite.

Alfresco dining on the decks is enhanced by the full sliding windows from the kitchen which make serving a breeze.

The large master bed room has window on 3 sides lowered so that you can still enjoy the view even from lying in bed. A double ranch slider leads out to the deck, television connection, ceiling fan and bed side lamps complete the ambiance. The spacious en suite provides that extra degree of privacy and convenience. The walk in wardrobe doubles as a dressing room if required.

If the beach and the sea is not enough our spa pool on the deck will accommodate 6 to 8 adults.

The half an acre of lawns ensure plenty of space for parking of cars and boats even landing a helicopter if that is your style. Launch your boat from the beach in front of the house. The fishing is awesome including game fish. Tuatuas, mussels, scallops, oysters and crayfish will tempt your pallet.

All linen and towels are supplied as is a fully stocked pantry.

Freeview television is installed as is a sky satellite dish (need your own decoder for sky). There is also a kayak and life jackets for your enjoyment. House layout is master bedroom Queen size bed, the other two bedrooms each have 1 single bed plus 1 double bunk bed with a single above. There is an alcove adjacent to the lounge which has a hospital style draw around screen within which is a double divan bed.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All Year

Rates
21 Jan-31 Mar
$250.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
1 Nov-22 Dec
$200.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
23 Dec-20 Jan
$600.00/Night for 4 guests
$30.00 per extra guest
7 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$180.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Long weekends 3 nights minimum $250 per night for 2 guests extra person $25 per night.

School holidays 4 night minimum $200 per night for 4 guests extra person $20 per night.

All linen, bedding and towels is supplied for which a small cost for hire and laundering of $10 per person. An additional one off $100 fee to cover septic cleaning/ security check per stay . 25% or $1000 deposit/Bond required to confirm bookings. Full rental must be paid 30 days before start date. Non refundable if for cancellation where the house can not be re-let.

Reviews (17 Reviews)
Shari & Richard
Stayed April 2018
Perfect location for a relaxing holiday with plenty of room for the whole family. Great for kayaking, swimming, and fishing. Would definitely stay there again.
Perfect location for a relaxing holiday with plenty of room for the whole family. Great for kayaking, swimming, and fishing. Would definitely stay there again.
Owner's reply
Shari & Richard
Stayed April 2018
Perfect location for a relaxing holiday with the water right on your doorstep. Would definitely visit again.
Perfect location for a relaxing holiday with the water right on your doorstep. Would definitely visit again.
Owner's reply
Engelbrecht
Stayed November 2017
What a lovely place truly loved it, felt like a little heaven on earth. We loved the house, size the really bach feeling so close to the beach. The people are so friendly was very busy but each and every one will pass and say hi... The only... Read more
What a lovely place truly loved it, felt like a little heaven on earth. We loved the house, size the really bach feeling so close to the beach. The people are so friendly was very busy but each and every one will pass and say hi... The only thing that I can say it does not have any network cover for emergencies, but saying that is the only downside but was good no phones ringing just us and the beautiful beach...And that view from the bedroom each morning, BEAUTIFUL!! Thank you will come definitely again....
Owner's reply
Pluto
Stayed December 2015
Christmas Disappointment after 8 months of Anticipation
Once every two years our two families join together for a Christmas away from Auckland and always hire a holiday home near the beach. In early 2015 we confirmed a lovely looking beach... Read more
Christmas Disappointment after 8 months of Anticipation
Once every two years our two families join together for a Christmas away from Auckland and always hire a holiday home near the beach. In early 2015 we confirmed a lovely looking beach house in Oakura Bay. After a few emails with the owner we had booked in 8 months prior to Christmas day. Our stay was from the 24th – 28th December.

The location was lovely the weather magic but the house a disappointment. We booked in April and not until a work colleague visited the bay later in year did we find out that access was via low tide over two beaches around a causeway. I phoned owner to check if correct as this information was not on his website, nor that he had two bee hives on property. We did not receive the full instructions to access and house until after the balance was paid in late November. Just too bad if there were any medical emergencies and one member of family had a brand new car, not so happy with salt water and sand access.

Of the two gas bottles provided, one was half full the appeared empty, the stove did not function correctly and on Christmas morning I made a trip at low tide, over two beaches around causeway and hill to get mobile service to call owner who said his partner had been telling him the stove was not functioning properly for some time, unfortunately for us as we were trying to cook a Christmas dinner. Was advised to turn it onto manual, however still did not heat up. Ended up cooking turkey and other dishes on BBQ which used most of gas in half full bottle.
For what we paid (apparently the most expensive in that bay) there was a large hole in the toilet door and some obviously unfinished renovations under the toilet roll holder where the holder had been moved upwards but the repairs not finished, the only broom to sweep up with was so rusted it broke on first use, stove top had dirty foil pads under elements and yet the instructions sheet said the owner kept the place ‘immaculate’ and wanted us to leave it in the same condition. We have taken photos of these areas.

Also overcharged by owner for 11 people instead of 9 and tried communicating with him once back from holiday on several occasions, however apart from receiving his initial response he has clammed up and seems to have gone to ground. Not ever was there an apology or desire to talk on the phone about the situation.

Sadly would definitely not recommend this holiday house, I am sure there are hundreds other baches available where the owners are easier to deal with.
Owner's reply
olgatoujba
Stayed December 2015
My friends and I had truly awesome time at the batch. You have a magical spot up there! we all really loved it.
The house could have been cleaner, but because we loved the location so much, it didn't really mind.
My friends and I had truly awesome time at the batch. You have a magical spot up there! we all really loved it.
The house could have been cleaner, but because we loved the location so much, it didn't really mind.
Owner's reply
ctd79
Stayed August 2015
Loved every moment!!! Getting to the bach was an adventure in itself. Woke up every morning to the sound of waves; the children loved picking the shellfish; tried my hand at fishing from the kayak; we all relaxed in the avo's in the spa... Read more
Loved every moment!!! Getting to the bach was an adventure in itself. Woke up every morning to the sound of waves; the children loved picking the shellfish; tried my hand at fishing from the kayak; we all relaxed in the avo's in the spa (myself with a glass of wine); cranked up the bbq and had dinner outside under the full moon (amazing!); last but not least we had the best, amazing, no stress, intimate wedding ceremony ever!!! Thanks Graham for being so understanding.
Owner's reply
sanz trading
Stayed May 2014
We had the most amazing long weekend and this was the perfect place. Clean property with everything you need...beachfront, spa pool, bbq, fishing, etc. We would definitely recommend to friends and look forward to our next booking!!!
We had the most amazing long weekend and this was the perfect place. Clean property with everything you need...beachfront, spa pool, bbq, fishing, etc. We would definitely recommend to friends and look forward to our next booking!!!
Owner's reply
ZimShirl
Stayed April 2014
Beautiful home stunning views, well equipped. Very accommodating landlord and we had such a fantastic time with our family getting together from all over the world for a wedding. I can highly recommend this for families or honeymooners with... Read more
Beautiful home stunning views, well equipped. Very accommodating landlord and we had such a fantastic time with our family getting together from all over the world for a wedding. I can highly recommend this for families or honeymooners with the lovely spa on the deck overlooking the ocean.
Owner's reply
matt.hod
Stayed August 2012
We had a wicked time at the batch the other weekend, you have a magical spot up there! Everyone had a great time...

Only got one decent keeper though but saw a big pod of dolphins come through so they must have chased away the... Read more
We had a wicked time at the batch the other weekend, you have a magical spot up there! Everyone had a great time...

Only got one decent keeper though but saw a big pod of dolphins come through so they must have chased away the fish.

Thanks for popping over and sorting out that spa, it was up to temp by the next night.

Will definately come back some time!
Owner's reply
Lisafrost
Stayed June 2012
We had a fabulous weeks winter break with our 3 young children. It was magical to wake up to a gorgeous sunrise each morning and go to sleep to the sound of waves. It was great to watch the kids play on the beach from the deck and the spa... Read more
We had a fabulous weeks winter break with our 3 young children. It was magical to wake up to a gorgeous sunrise each morning and go to sleep to the sound of waves. It was great to watch the kids play on the beach from the deck and the spa was a hit! We fell in love with this place and hope to visit again in the summer
Owner's reply
sam.cockle@paradise.net.nz
Stayed February 2012
We stayed here for 12 nights for our honeymoon and it was absolutely fabulous!!! House is literally on the beach, with panoramic views from the lounge, dining area, kitchen and master bedroom. House is really well equiped, and nothing like... Read more
We stayed here for 12 nights for our honeymoon and it was absolutely fabulous!!! House is literally on the beach, with panoramic views from the lounge, dining area, kitchen and master bedroom. House is really well equiped, and nothing like flopping into the spa pool after a day out fishing ! Graham was easy to deal totally recommend without hesitation to anyone looking for the perfect holiday location/ home !

from Nicky and Sam
Owner's reply
hannaha
Stayed January 2011
Fantastic Holiday House and a perfect location. ...You cant get more beach front than that! Very Friendly and trusting owner, that will make sure you have the best time away. Thanks again Graham, Loved it!
Fantastic Holiday House and a perfect location. ...You cant get more beach front than that! Very Friendly and trusting owner, that will make sure you have the best time away. Thanks again Graham, Loved it!
Owner's reply
HMC
Stayed June 2010
This place is absolute paradise!! Right on the beach! The photos do not do it justice. We had an amazing weekend away. So peaceful and private, I would give this place a 10 out of 10 I was so impressed and would definitely love to stay again... Read more
This place is absolute paradise!! Right on the beach! The photos do not do it justice. We had an amazing weekend away. So peaceful and private, I would give this place a 10 out of 10 I was so impressed and would definitely love to stay again without a doubt! You are missing out if you do not check this place out :-)
Owner's reply
Sarah Wroe
Stayed January 2010
This home certainly lives up to its decription! We had a fabulous stay. The beach was great for the kids - the house was very comfortable and well-kitted out and the host was very helpful. Loved it!
This home certainly lives up to its decription! We had a fabulous stay. The beach was great for the kids - the house was very comfortable and well-kitted out and the host was very helpful. Loved it!
Owner's reply
DarylSteph
Stayed January 2010
Wow - a wonderful gem of a holiday home. Right on the beach and laid out perfectly. Relax on the deck, the beach or in the spa! We will definately return, a piece of luxury hidden away in an unspoilt spot.
Wow - a wonderful gem of a holiday home. Right on the beach and laid out perfectly. Relax on the deck, the beach or in the spa! We will definately return, a piece of luxury hidden away in an unspoilt spot.
Owner's reply
napperaj
Stayed October 2009
A fantastically relaxing get-away - I didn't know houses came this near the beach - and if the weather isn't what you want then there is always the luxury of the spa pool to fall back on!!

Facilities and the location are perfect -... Read more
A fantastically relaxing get-away - I didn't know houses came this near the beach - and if the weather isn't what you want then there is always the luxury of the spa pool to fall back on!!

Facilities and the location are perfect - an immaculately well-looked after holiday home and the perfect setting to relax with friends and family. The kids loved it - so much space to explore in absolute safety and we could watch them while relaxing on the deck. The only downside is that we had to leave at the end of our stay!!

We will return for sure in the future - a great way to show off the very best of what NZ has to offer if you have overseas guests as we did.

Owner's reply
robbopilot
Stayed January 2009
Fantastic! Nothing like being able to relax on the deck or in the hot tub while the kids are playing on the beach in plain site. Nice spacious well equipped home. Cant wait to get back.
Fantastic! Nothing like being able to relax on the deck or in the hot tub while the kids are playing on the beach in plain site. Nice spacious well equipped home. Cant wait to get back.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 180NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All Year