BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 160NZD

This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

Rose Cottage

Kamahi Road, Half Moon Bay, Stewart Island
Ref #: 5541
Share
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Description

Beautiful panoramic seaviews of Halfmoon Bay and Foveaux Strait. Perfect for couples, as it is a quiet and restful location just minutes walk to the hotel, shop and wharf. Only a minutes walk to the award winning Church Hill cafe and minutes to beautiful Bathing Beach along a coastal bush track.

Beautiful panoramic seaviews of Halfmoon Bay and Foveaux Strait. Perfect for couples, as it is a quiet and restful location just minutes walk to the hotel, shop and wharf. Only a minutes walk to the award winning Church Hill cafe and minutes to beautiful Bathing Beach along a coastal bush track.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All year

Rates
All year
$160.00/Night for 2 guests
$50.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

There is a surcharge of $40.00 for one night only

Reviews (26 Reviews)
Lizzie Wigley
Stayed July 2018
Excellent view, warm cottage , close to town and walking tracks. Had everything we needed. Would stay there again
Excellent view, warm cottage , close to town and walking tracks. Had everything we needed. Would stay there again
Owner's reply
Hilary van Uden
Stayed April 2018
We loved our stay here - the cottage has fantastic views, is close to town and while it is a traditional bach, it isn't the kind of bach where old furniture, china and appliances have come to die! It was pretty cold while we were there,... Read more
We loved our stay here - the cottage has fantastic views, is close to town and while it is a traditional bach, it isn't the kind of bach where old furniture, china and appliances have come to die! It was pretty cold while we were there, but the diesel fire and fan heater, and the great bedding kept us pretty cosy. The highlight of our stay would have been the visiting kaka, which were very cool, but we had three kiwi in the front yard one night - winner!!
Owner's reply
Jonathan Sise
Stayed April 2018
In the "dress circle" of Oban with a pleasant view, and decent facilities.
In the "dress circle" of Oban with a pleasant view, and decent facilities.
Owner's reply
Christine & Roger Hill
Stayed March 2018
Comfortable, clean and tidy bach. Great view.
Comfortable, clean and tidy bach. Great view.
Owner's reply
Rachel Beanland
Stayed March 2018
This is a perfect house. Really enjoyed our stay especialy the shower and the view.
The house has a lovely feel about it and the Bed so comfortable.
Thankyou.
This is a perfect house. Really enjoyed our stay especialy the shower and the view.
The house has a lovely feel about it and the Bed so comfortable.
Thankyou.
Owner's reply
Tolly Gibbons
Stayed March 2018
Wonderful location so close to the pub/shop/Wharf. Beautiful view, spotlessly clean & nicely appointed. A welcome retreat after some Northwest hiking. Communication with the owner was excellent. Highly recommended.
Wonderful location so close to the pub/shop/Wharf. Beautiful view, spotlessly clean & nicely appointed. A welcome retreat after some Northwest hiking. Communication with the owner was excellent. Highly recommended.
Owner's reply
Jackie Duder
Stayed February 2018
Great location, wonderful views, walk to hotel/pub, shops, beach. Has everything you need and very cosy and confortable, I would definitely go back! Stewart Island is beautiful.... we even had Kaka birds on the deck !
Great location, wonderful views, walk to hotel/pub, shops, beach. Has everything you need and very cosy and confortable, I would definitely go back! Stewart Island is beautiful.... we even had Kaka birds on the deck !
Owner's reply
linzi mcnab
Stayed February 2018
Fabulous cottage in a spectacular setting.Village and beach very close by.Unbelievable views from cottage.Would recommend.
Fabulous cottage in a spectacular setting.Village and beach very close by.Unbelievable views from cottage.Would recommend.
Owner's reply
Gayle Donovan
Stayed February 2018
Nice outlook across the bay. Old cottage with uneven floors. TV not working when we were there. Clean and tidy.
Nice outlook across the bay. Old cottage with uneven floors. TV not working when we were there. Clean and tidy.
Owner's reply
Belinda Clarke
Stayed January 2018
Very cute cottage with great views. Excellent position, short walk up the hill from the ferry building and three doors up from a fabulous restaurant.
We were there when a cyclone came through and couldn't light the diesel heater so... Read more
Very cute cottage with great views. Excellent position, short walk up the hill from the ferry building and three doors up from a fabulous restaurant.
We were there when a cyclone came through and couldn't light the diesel heater so were cold as relied solely on a small fan heater which in temperatures of 6 degrees was not enough.

Owner's reply
Paul Chambers
Stayed January 2018
Quirky, old fashioned, quaint NZ cottage. Stunning views, cheeky wildlife. Loved this get -away- from- it- all place.
Quirky, old fashioned, quaint NZ cottage. Stunning views, cheeky wildlife. Loved this get -away- from- it- all place.
Owner's reply
Brandon Craine
Stayed December 2017
Great little cottage in an amazing setting. Lynne, as host, is brilliant to deal with. Great, friendly conversation.

We will be heading back as soon as we can!
Great little cottage in an amazing setting. Lynne, as host, is brilliant to deal with. Great, friendly conversation.

We will be heading back as soon as we can!
Owner's reply
Brigid
Stayed November 2017
I loved Rose Cottage. It sits overlooking the bay and the town with stunning views, whatever the weather. Everything is within walking distance including the beautiful bathing beach just below it. The cottage is well equipped and is very... Read more
I loved Rose Cottage. It sits overlooking the bay and the town with stunning views, whatever the weather. Everything is within walking distance including the beautiful bathing beach just below it. The cottage is well equipped and is very comfortable. I happily and highly recommend it.
Owner's reply
Resting Up
Stayed May 2017
Flew across from Invercargill.and ferried back 5 days later. This place has good location & views, great heating, everything you would need including washing machine plus a couple of bikes (need seat heights able to be adjusted higher... Read more
Flew across from Invercargill.and ferried back 5 days later. This place has good location & views, great heating, everything you would need including washing machine plus a couple of bikes (need seat heights able to be adjusted higher though). You should do the Kiwi spotting tour, Good walks around village. Some easy bush walks close by too. We hired a scooter for 2-3 hours to go further afield and that was fun..
Weather very settled but disappointed most of the tourist type operators basically closed.
Will have to revisit next time between October & April we were told afterwards. All the same we made the best of it and had a very enjoyable time thanks.
Owner's reply
wmfrost@xtra.co.nz
Stayed December 2015
We had a great time at Rose Cottage & Stewart Island. Thank you for sharing your property with us. A special place which bought back many memories from the formica bench to the diesel fire to the willow patterned crockery just like my... Read more
We had a great time at Rose Cottage & Stewart Island. Thank you for sharing your property with us. A special place which bought back many memories from the formica bench to the diesel fire to the willow patterned crockery just like my Nana used to have... Very comfortable and a great spot with lots of resources in the house and some cheeky Kaka. Thanks again. Warren & Maree
Owner's reply
rvcrox
Stayed October 2015
This was the second time I've stayed at Rose Cottage and just like the photo on the website, that yacht is still moored in the same place. My wife and I and a friend stayed there for 4 nights at the end of October and it's a place... Read more
This was the second time I've stayed at Rose Cottage and just like the photo on the website, that yacht is still moored in the same place. My wife and I and a friend stayed there for 4 nights at the end of October and it's a place we'll always remember. It's so close to the sea on a small hill giving you fantastic views over Halfmoon Bay. The cottage is lovely, clean and warm with a deisel fire. Native birds are abundant and the Kakas are a comical bonus! Thank you Lynn.
Owner's reply
Sheila Dainton
Stayed January 2015
This is a gem of a place. We stayed for a week in December 2014 (me from the UK my friend from Oz) and could easily have spent a lifetime there - if only I didn't live half way round the world. The cottage was spotless and comfortable and... Read more
This is a gem of a place. We stayed for a week in December 2014 (me from the UK my friend from Oz) and could easily have spent a lifetime there - if only I didn't live half way round the world. The cottage was spotless and comfortable and everything was to hand with a well stocked shop just down the round and the island's best restaurant almost next door. The view from the terrace was stunning, made all the better by those lovely long evenings, Some excellent walks straight from the cottage and, for bird lovers (and anyone come to that), Ulva island is a must. The owner was endlessly helpful with our various queries before we set off.
Owner's reply
BWalkerBain
Stayed December 2013
What a fabulous place! My husband and I loved our time here.
It's so close to everything, and the view is brilliant.
Thank you so much Lynne - we'll be back!
What a fabulous place! My husband and I loved our time here.
It's so close to everything, and the view is brilliant.
Thank you so much Lynne - we'll be back!
Owner's reply
Susie-G
Stayed February 2013
Lovely cottage, so handy to everything. My husband and I had a fantastic 5 day holiday at the cottage and found it very comfortable and clean.
Lovely cottage, so handy to everything. My husband and I had a fantastic 5 day holiday at the cottage and found it very comfortable and clean.
Owner's reply
Mick and Kay
Stayed June 2012
My wife and I spent 3 nights at a cute cottage on the headland overlooking Halfmoon Bay . Rose Cottage ticked all the boxes but it was the view from the front room that completely won us over. We would most highly recommend Rose Cottage to... Read more
My wife and I spent 3 nights at a cute cottage on the headland overlooking Halfmoon Bay . Rose Cottage ticked all the boxes but it was the view from the front room that completely won us over. We would most highly recommend Rose Cottage to anyone contemplating a holiday on Stewart Island.
Owner's reply
Don & Leanne
Stayed April 2012
Our 4 days of perfect weather on Stewart Island were severely affected by our experience of staying at Rose Cottage. We arrived to a musty smell, dirty (unwashed) bed linen in the washing machine, rugs/blankets and curtains with obvious... Read more
Owner's reply
Sure is hard to please some people! Guests immediately before and immediately after we're contacted and were amazed by the negative comments of these trying people. The cottage did not have dirty linen in the washing machine as we use... Read more
Our 4 days of perfect weather on Stewart Island were severely affected by our experience of staying at Rose Cottage. We arrived to a musty smell, dirty (unwashed) bed linen in the washing machine, rugs/blankets and curtains with obvious dirt/food marks, a blood stain on a mattress protector and the kitchen had to have a thorough clean to remove the food residue and grime before we would consider using it. The floor is very uneven and the beam between the kitchen and living area has a noticeable bend - very disconcerting. The view was unrivalled,the shower fantastic, the fire wonderful and the visits from the kaka were much enjoyed, but what was intended to be a relaxing time enjoying this piece of NZ paradise turned out to be quite different due to the state of the cottage. We used this website as the basis for choosing our accommodation so feel we need to comment on our experience so others do not have the same disappointment. It should be noted that we emailed the owner over 2 weeks ago (and prior to publicising on this site) to express the above (and more) and have not had a response.
Owner's reply
Sure is hard to please some people! Guests immediately before and immediately after we're contacted and were amazed by the negative comments of these trying people. The cottage did not have dirty linen in the washing machine as we use the Alsco linen service! Other comments proved to be totally untrue so it is a shame we had the misfortune of accommodating these people.
it should be noted no-one has complained about Rose Cottage for eight years and these guests actually arrived before the cottage was ready and prepared their lunch while our very experienced, friendly and helpful manager on the island was still trying to finish her job.
Sylvia Donaldson
Stayed October 2011
Had a great 5 days at Rose Cottage. Didnt want to leave. Fantastic wee place and people there. Crib was lovely and had everything we needed. Great veiws and wildlife. Would recommend to anyone visiting Stewart Island. Hope to get back... Read more
Had a great 5 days at Rose Cottage. Didnt want to leave. Fantastic wee place and people there. Crib was lovely and had everything we needed. Great veiws and wildlife. Would recommend to anyone visiting Stewart Island. Hope to get back someday. The Bus tour is worth it as is the Ulva Island.
Owner's reply
max
Stayed September 2011
It is so much easier to book through this website than through any i-site. The information at the i-sites are often out-dated and if an enquiry is made through Holiday houses a response is not that far away. Cheers Lynne.
It is so much easier to book through this website than through any i-site. The information at the i-sites are often out-dated and if an enquiry is made through Holiday houses a response is not that far away. Cheers Lynne.
Owner's reply
sheryl D
Stayed September 2011
It took a lot of searching to get a contact number for Rose Cottage There was no phone number on this web page and the Stewart Island information Centre gave us a number that was 6 years out of date and we are still waiting on a reply to our... Read more
It took a lot of searching to get a contact number for Rose Cottage There was no phone number on this web page and the Stewart Island information Centre gave us a number that was 6 years out of date and we are still waiting on a reply to our email but we are very happy that we persevered and were able to finally make a booking
The write up on this page does not do Rose Cottage Justice. The photos of the views are exactually as you will see at the cottage including the hand feeding of the Kaka on the Balcony
Rose Cottage is a very homely, warm, cosy restful place with everything you will need for your stay and amazing views and bird life at your door. (Where else can you watch birds feeding on the Balcony railing and see boats resting at their moorings)
The mattress seems to be a little larger than the base of the bed and you feel as though you are lying down hill. There is no toilet Roll holder in the Toilet but THE AMAZING SHOWER more than makes up for this
We would highly recommend Rose Cottage - but be aware you do not want to be carrying your bags UP THE HILL from the Wharf
Owner's reply
Becker
Stayed March 2010
We loved our stay at Rose Cottage! Amazing views, rainbows, Albatross circling in the winds in the harbour, Kaka on the verandah. It was really comfortable! We treated ourselves to Annett's 'Perfect Dinner' one evening. She... Read more
We loved our stay at Rose Cottage! Amazing views, rainbows, Albatross circling in the winds in the harbour, Kaka on the verandah. It was really comfortable! We treated ourselves to Annett's 'Perfect Dinner' one evening. She arrived with delicious food, it was laid out beautifully, stunning presentation and very generous amounts. We had a great time on the island ;-)
Tine, Maritta & Juergen
Owner's reply
June Cox
Stayed December 2009
Thank you for the privilige of staying at Rose Cottage, our stay was indeed restful and the views from Rose Cottage amazing, with easy access to wharf, beach and restaurant our stay on Stewart Island couldn't have been better.
Thank you for the privilige of staying at Rose Cottage, our stay was indeed restful and the views from Rose Cottage amazing, with easy access to wharf, beach and restaurant our stay on Stewart Island couldn't have been better.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 160NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All year