BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 135NZD

This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

Tonari

9F Paynters Ave, Fitzroy, New Plymouth
Ref #: 4453
Share
  • 4
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Description

Tonari is a self contained 2 bedroom house at 9F Paynters Ave,Fitzroy. Down a quiet right of way,Tonari is close to the Fitzroy shopping centre and within easy reach of the renowned coastal walkway. The CBD is several minutes drive away,or a 30 minute walk.The 850 sq m property is fully fenced and landscaped.
Pets are allowed subject to agreement. (It is unlikely that we will accept more than 1 ...

Read more...

Tonari is a self contained 2 bedroom house at 9F Paynters Ave,Fitzroy. Down a quiet right of way,Tonari is close to the Fitzroy shopping centre and within easy reach of the renowned coastal walkway. The CBD is several minutes drive away,or a 30 minute walk.The 850 sq m property is fully fenced and landscaped.
Pets are allowed subject to agreement. (It is unlikely that we will accept more than 1 dog at once.)
Facilities include, 1 queen sized bed bedroom, a 2 single bed bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge room. A cot is available.
All linen and towels are provided.There is a large collection of DVD movies in addition to SKY TV and a 2 shelf bookcase of books.
Christine and Ian, the owners, live next door.
The kitchen has an electric range and a microwave, with a separate dining room. The lounge room has an open fire and DVD/CD player.
Toilet and bathroom are separate. There is a laundry with washing machine and drier and a large deck area with a hot tub (additional charge $10 per night).
There is covered parking for 2 cars. Telephone landline is connected with free fibre ultrafast wireless broadband internet ( your own laptop etc required).

Standard accommodation check in time of 3pm and checkout time of 10am, may be flexible by arrangement.

Our rates are as quoted and our booking calendar is accurate. There is no cleaning fee .

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Rates
All year
$135.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Please note minimum 2 night stay.
Extra person $25 per night 14 years old or older
Extra children; $10 per night less than 14 years old.

NB as of 21/9/17 we have lowered our nightly charge, but added an optional hot tub charge of $10 per night, 36 hours notice necessary before heated fully.

7th night free

Stay a week and 7th night is free

Available all year

6th guest stays for free

No charge for 6th guest (youngest).

Available all year

Free unlimited UF broadband

Free unlimited UF broadband wifi

Available all year

Reviews (20 Reviews)
Tony Borra
Stayed November 2018
Well presented, clean and great location. Great value . Hot tub an asset.

Our second stay.
Well presented, clean and great location. Great value . Hot tub an asset.

Our second stay.
Owner's reply
Ruchele Jungwirth
Stayed October 2018
Great stay as usual. Always look forward to going back.
Great stay as usual. Always look forward to going back.
Owner's reply
Lynley Wellington
Stayed October 2018
Thanks for a lovely stay! Within easy walking distance to the skating rink, beach and local shops. Fantastic property for a small dog … our dog seemed to love it more than our own place! Sheltered, secluded, sunny … what more could you want!... Read more
Thanks for a lovely stay! Within easy walking distance to the skating rink, beach and local shops. Fantastic property for a small dog … our dog seemed to love it more than our own place! Sheltered, secluded, sunny … what more could you want! Thanks again.
Owner's reply
gahwan
Stayed September 2018
Very comfortable, homely stay set in a private, quiet garden and location. Great value. Short walk to the Coastal Walkway, Fitzroy and East End beaches. Close to all that New Plymouth has to offer - Art Gallery, Museum, parks, cafes and... Read more
Very comfortable, homely stay set in a private, quiet garden and location. Great value. Short walk to the Coastal Walkway, Fitzroy and East End beaches. Close to all that New Plymouth has to offer - Art Gallery, Museum, parks, cafes and restaurants and stunning scenery.
Owner's reply
Marbru18
Stayed July 2018
Good clean Bach.Excellent location to the coastal walkway. Very nice to have a hot tub.
Good clean Bach.Excellent location to the coastal walkway. Very nice to have a hot tub.
Owner's reply
Ruchele Jungwirth
Stayed March 2018
One of our favourite places to stay, we are regulars. Fantastic as usuall
One of our favourite places to stay, we are regulars. Fantastic as usuall
Owner's reply
Clare Revell
Stayed December 2017
Lovely place to stay with good amenities and clean.
Lovely place to stay with good amenities and clean.
Owner's reply
Profcloth
Stayed March 2017
Comfortable beds, and a lovely fenced section - very safe for our two year old to run around. Reasonably priced and the owners were helpful and responsive. We will return if we can.
Comfortable beds, and a lovely fenced section - very safe for our two year old to run around. Reasonably priced and the owners were helpful and responsive. We will return if we can.
Owner's reply
Umskee
Stayed April 2015
We stayed here for three nights. Such a homely house in a great location. We did the coastal walk to the port which was devine. Chris & Ian were just a phone call away for any queries. Would definitely recommend Tonari as a place to stay... Read more
We stayed here for three nights. Such a homely house in a great location. We did the coastal walk to the port which was devine. Chris & Ian were just a phone call away for any queries. Would definitely recommend Tonari as a place to stay. Thanks Chris & Ian.
Owner's reply
rachclem22
Stayed February 2015
We had a really nice stay at Tonari. Ian and Chris were very friendly and even lent my kids some surf boards which they had so much fun with. The spa tub was a lovely added bonus after long beach days. It was very relaxing and clean...a... Read more
We had a really nice stay at Tonari. Ian and Chris were very friendly and even lent my kids some surf boards which they had so much fun with. The spa tub was a lovely added bonus after long beach days. It was very relaxing and clean...a really nice break from our camper. Thanks!
Owner's reply
Granny JC
Stayed January 2015
We had a lovely family holiday at Tonari. The beds were comfortable and inviting with lovely fresh bedding. The children loved exploring the garden. Handy position.
We had a lovely family holiday at Tonari. The beds were comfortable and inviting with lovely fresh bedding. The children loved exploring the garden. Handy position.
Owner's reply
Christine Anderson
Stayed September 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at Tonari. The house is roomy, very clean and in peaceful surroundings. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub and open fire. Thanks Ian and Christine.

Tom and Chris
We very much enjoyed our stay at Tonari. The house is roomy, very clean and in peaceful surroundings. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub and open fire. Thanks Ian and Christine.

Tom and Chris
Owner's reply
Jungsurfers
Stayed March 2013
We had a fantastic stay at Tonari. The home was clean and beautifully presented. Was a little confused by the previous comments as this was not our experience at all. The owner allowed us to settle in then kindly asked if all was ok. We... Read more
We had a fantastic stay at Tonari. The home was clean and beautifully presented. Was a little confused by the previous comments as this was not our experience at all. The owner allowed us to settle in then kindly asked if all was ok. We often stay at holiday houses or booka batch and this is now our favourtie!! will definitely be back.
Owner's reply
Gloria
Stayed March 2013
We stayed at Tomari for 4 nights 15-18 March 2013 and found the house comfortable. It was certainly good to have a fully equipped kitchen and the place is very roomy. It was good that the house had been aired and it felt fresh.
A few... Read more
Owner's reply
Another very disappointing complaint, the more so as HolidayHouses posted it without asking for our comments, which we will now give.
We were away for 3 weeks around the time of this person's stay. But, known to her, clearly... Read more
We stayed at Tomari for 4 nights 15-18 March 2013 and found the house comfortable. It was certainly good to have a fully equipped kitchen and the place is very roomy. It was good that the house had been aired and it felt fresh.
A few things that I did want to mention though....
• There was no linen on the second single bed in the bedroom; no sheets and no pillowcase. There were 3 of us (2 adults who were not a couple and my friend's 11 year old daughter so we were somewhat mystified by this. We improvised by taking the top sheet off the double bed and using that on the single bed but this was obviously not the ideal.
• We searched high and low for dishwashing liquid and couldn't find any.
• There is a broken lock on one of the windows in the lounge and the glass in that window is cracked. We felt a bit nervous about this from a security point of view as you can't close the window properly.
• It got a bit chilly when the rain and stormy weather arrived on Sunday/Monday and electric blankets would have been useful. Although there is a fireplace we couldn't see any firewood so couldn't use it. There was one heater that we did use in the lounge area. The house may be insulated but the polished floors make it difficult to heat with just an electric heater.
• Smoke alarms - We couldn't see any
Owner's reply
Another very disappointing complaint, the more so as HolidayHouses posted it without asking for our comments, which we will now give.
We were away for 3 weeks around the time of this person's stay. But, known to her, clearly indicated by email, we had a house sitter next door, who had done the house cleaning etc. There was an unfortunate mix up with the bedding arrangements, which we have apologised about . This could have been rectified at once bedding wise by a phone call next door (number clearly displayed) or a walk through the obvious gate, as could all of this person's complaints. There are 5, yes 5!, heaters easily found on the premises, we just counted them, 3 within a sliding door wardrobe we'll admit, the other two are in plain view. The shed is full of firewood she's have found out if she'd only asked and the window complained about has been superficially cracked for many years and the latch she complains about had some loose screws (unknown to us and repaired in a minute) and actually has 2 latches on the window and is secure as any window can be.The electric blankets (in wardrobes in the house) had been removed recently because of the long hot summer and there are 4 extra winter duvets readily at hand which other folk seem able to find easily.
This person could have complained at the time to our house sitter next door (who dropped in twice to check on her to find her out), and all her minor grievances would have been addressed at once, instead she chooses to snipe away anonymously later, despite email conversation with us.
She also neglects to mention that we accepted from her a modified shorter booking at WOMAD without penalty.
Mystifying really.
We travel a deal and no longer give credence to any accommodation comments on Trip Advisor etc, and certainly would never place one.

Ian and Christine Price.
mconnolly
Stayed May 2012
Stayed here for a week. Due to unfortunate circumstances I had to change my original dates and the owners were more than helpful at this time and obliging. The weather was fantastic for this time of year and I found the house to be warm... Read more
Stayed here for a week. Due to unfortunate circumstances I had to change my original dates and the owners were more than helpful at this time and obliging. The weather was fantastic for this time of year and I found the house to be warm enough for us. The owners live next door and while this may have been a little off-putting at first enquiry, they were there only when I needed them and I never saw them any other time. The spa was lovely and warm and the house met all my families needs. The only improvement I would suggest is an additional couch in the lounge for families but I would still stay here again if the opportunity arose. It is in a great location and we walked to the beach and shops regularly. I think Taranaki is one of NZ's hidden secrets, there is plenty to see and do and you can't beat a drive up the mountain for coffee or lunch at the lodge or the view of the mountain which is awesome with the snow on it! Kids loved having snow fights up here followed by Hot Chocolate! Pukekura Park is also a must!
Owner's reply
teresaandsean
Stayed January 2012
I have never gotten around to posting feeedback on Tonari, why? fear that if others find out about "our little holiday home" then it will get busier and we wont be able to get in.
We have stayed three times so far and will be back... Read more
I have never gotten around to posting feeedback on Tonari, why? fear that if others find out about "our little holiday home" then it will get busier and we wont be able to get in.
We have stayed three times so far and will be back without a doubt. What can I say, its a lovely holiday home and we wouldnt consider anywhere else. The hot tub is lovely - even though we stay in January when you hardly need to use it, the bed is very comfortable. I love the picture in the toilet. The lounge area is great, in fact I have no complaints what so ever about it.. which is unusual for me, because I can usually find something to complain about.
Cannot speak highly enough of Tonari.
Oh and theres a lovely black cat who decided to say hello last time we were there. And some hedgehogs the kids like to try and find at night.
Don't know that we will be back next year because we thought we ought to try and head somewhere else, though secretly I think we will try for a weekend stay at least.
I love New Plymouth and I love Tonari... and no I have NOT been paid to say this... it has become known in our house as "our holiday home".
Can't wait to our next stay, however long and whenever that may be. :)
Owner's reply
G2041
Stayed July 2011
The house has no insulation. Absolutely none. We stayed during moderately bad weather.
We had the open fire going all night and heaters in all rooms. When the wind gusts came along (and it was often - remember, it's Taranaki) you felt... Read more
Owner's reply
Well, let's get some things straight.
Tonari does have insulation and has had before we bought it. So the claimant is wrong and is telling a falsehood. Furthermore,Tonari is constructed of brick veneer and has sound window... Read more
The house has no insulation. Absolutely none. We stayed during moderately bad weather.
We had the open fire going all night and heaters in all rooms. When the wind gusts came along (and it was often - remember, it's Taranaki) you felt it, literally.

The owners seem nice enough, but they will be aware of this problem, and should do something about it.

Owner's reply
Well, let's get some things straight.
Tonari does have insulation and has had before we bought it. So the claimant is wrong and is telling a falsehood. Furthermore,Tonari is constructed of brick veneer and has sound window joinery.
This person took 9 months to complain. We were 20 metres away at the time of his stay.
We can't remember what the weather was like in July 2011 and can't remember this one of our many guests.
Tonari is no more draughty than the average NZ house. We were in it during last week's destructive gale force winds and there was minimal draught.
Not one of many winter guests over 8 years has made a similar complaint.
It has made us aware of how unreliable anonymous comments on accommodation on internet sites can be.
Ian and Christine Price.
rocketbean
Stayed December 2010
Tonari offered everything we needed for a lovely time in NP, and we enjoyed walking to the beach, soaking in the hot tub, bbqing in the garden, frequenting local cafes and visiting family. It was private with a lush tropical garden and the... Read more
Tonari offered everything we needed for a lovely time in NP, and we enjoyed walking to the beach, soaking in the hot tub, bbqing in the garden, frequenting local cafes and visiting family. It was private with a lush tropical garden and the hosts left us to enjoy our holiday. We would definitely stay again. Thanks!
Owner's reply
Brighteyes
Stayed September 2009
We had a lovely relaxing stay at Tonari. Ian and Christine were lovely hosts, there if needed but let us have our privacy. Tonari is cozy and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. A great variety of book's and Dvd's were a real... Read more
We had a lovely relaxing stay at Tonari. Ian and Christine were lovely hosts, there if needed but let us have our privacy. Tonari is cozy and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. A great variety of book's and Dvd's were a real bonus and the spa pool was lovely to relax in and even the fish and chip shop around the corner was good. Thanks for an enjoyable family holiday.
Owner's reply
haburnett
Stayed May 2009
This is a really lovely house - excellent value for price and a great location close to the beach. We especially enjoyed soaking in the hot tub after surfing and sitting by the fireplace in the evening. Ian and Christine were friendly and... Read more
This is a really lovely house - excellent value for price and a great location close to the beach. We especially enjoyed soaking in the hot tub after surfing and sitting by the fireplace in the evening. Ian and Christine were friendly and flexible. We would definitely stay here again!
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 135NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.