BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 140NZD

This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

Glen Tarvis Alpine Retreat

state highway 8, burkes pass
Ref #: 3499
Share
  • 4
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Description

This is our Holiday House - we're not a BnB or resort, but a solid as Kiwi Bach (but with more style than the bach I stayed in when I was a kid!!). You are dealing with the owners - we live in Christchurch, not Burkes Pass, but we have a manager who comes and checks on the property before and after your stay.

You are expected to leave it clean and tidy, remove all rubbish and the house is ...

Read more...

This is our Holiday House - we're not a BnB or resort, but a solid as Kiwi Bach (but with more style than the bach I stayed in when I was a kid!!). You are dealing with the owners - we live in Christchurch, not Burkes Pass, but we have a manager who comes and checks on the property before and after your stay.

You are expected to leave it clean and tidy, remove all rubbish and the house is smoke free. If this doesn't suit you - please don't apply to stay.

We really want to share this place with others rather than keep it to ourselves, but it is a transaction of trust - we don't have to rent it, we just want others to enjoy it as much as we do - we just ask that guests respect the property.

Linen can be provided at extra cost - let us know if you need linen provided and we'll let you know the cost.

If you think this in Tekapo - you had best check the google map again... this is in Burkes Pass - Gateway to the Mackenzie District and a super cool little village.

So come and relax in our sunny and tranquil retreat in the splendor of the high country. The interior has been recently renovated and finished in rimu and is simply stunning. It is tastefully furnished to a high standard and fully equipped with a log burner, TV, DVD, video, full kitchen and laundry facilities including a microwave.

This is an ideal four seasons retreat being ideally situated 15 minutes from Lake Tekapo and 5 minutes from Mt Dobson Ski Field road. If you're into skiing, hunting, hiking, mountain biking or simply appreciate the great New Zealand outdoors with its fresh mountain air and peace and quiet, then this is the 'getaway' for you.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All Year

Rates
1 Jun-30 Sep
$170.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
1 Jun-30 Sep
$1,050.00/Week for 4 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
1 Week minimum
more
close
1 Oct-31 May
$150.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
1 Oct-31 May
$980.00/Week for 4 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
1 Week minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$150.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

** MINIMUM STAY 2 NIGHTS **
(SUMMER** $300 for first 2 nights for 1-2 adults)
(WINTER** $340 for first 2 nights for 1-2 adults)

Additional adults $15 each per night.
Children/Youth 16 years and under $5 per night.

Reviews (24 Reviews)
nicola.morand
Stayed August 2017
This is a great little cottage. Owners were very helpful and lovely to deal with. The house was comfortable and clean with everything you need and the potbelly made it super cosy and warm. Location is pleasant, the road is quite busy if you... Read more
This is a great little cottage. Owners were very helpful and lovely to deal with. The house was comfortable and clean with everything you need and the potbelly made it super cosy and warm. Location is pleasant, the road is quite busy if you are not used to traffic, but the outlook to the stream, damn and paddocks etc made up for the traffic noise (which is probably not noticeable to most). We had a lovely time and would love to go back in Summer. The proximity to either Fairlie or Tekapo excellent!
Owner's reply
Ursi
Stayed June 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this delightful cottage. We were warm and comfortable and appreciated the tranquility. It had everything we needed for a wonderful couple of days. Thank you Warren and Maree for sharing Glen Tarvis with... Read more
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this delightful cottage. We were warm and comfortable and appreciated the tranquility. It had everything we needed for a wonderful couple of days. Thank you Warren and Maree for sharing Glen Tarvis with us. We hope to be able to return in the near future.
Owner's reply
siaf1961
Stayed June 2016
We had a fabulous time of about 3 days at Glen Tarvis Alpine Retreat. The weather was awesome and we all really love the peaceful quietness surrounding. The place was perfect for us we love it, it has everything we needed. And we love the... Read more
We had a fabulous time of about 3 days at Glen Tarvis Alpine Retreat. The weather was awesome and we all really love the peaceful quietness surrounding. The place was perfect for us we love it, it has everything we needed. And we love the fireplace tho so we had the fire going everytime, plenty of firewood, makes the place so warm. But the highlight of our wee holiday for us was catching two huge fish at Lake Ruataniwha i think it was only an half an hour drive from where we stayed. Will definitely go back to Glen Tarvis Alpine Retreat God willing.
We are from Christchurch but we hardly go to this beautiful section of New Zealand, so amazed at the beautiful scenery.
Owner's reply
dontyree
Stayed May 2016
We stayed at Glen Tarvis Alpine Retreat in February 2016 and very fortunate to return again late in April 2016. The Owners are generous & kind people who accommodated our sudden change of nights at short notice - thank you! What a... Read more
We stayed at Glen Tarvis Alpine Retreat in February 2016 and very fortunate to return again late in April 2016. The Owners are generous & kind people who accommodated our sudden change of nights at short notice - thank you! What a beautiful piece of paradise in a unique rural location. Mt John Observatory (absolutely amazing!) & beautiful Lake Tekapo only a short drive away. In autumn / winter the log fire quickly warms the whole house and the fresh new bedding very snuggly at night. Sitting on the balcony listening to the nearby stream, amongst the rural bird life was a real treat - while watching the occasional bunny playing in the sheep paddocks nearby. You can also enjoy the mature trees and new plantings around the small private lake. A stroll to the local Burkes Pass village for a coffee and browse in the famous shop sees time stand still. If you want a taste of rural NZ and a chance to escape the corporate concrete jungle then 'lock it in Eddie' this is your place to stay! It was a real privilege to enjoy this gem we have discovered in the McKenzie basin. Guests are asked to tidy up after themselves and refresh the wood supply for those following - a small investment in time and effort. It has a good kitchen and comfortable living area / bedrooms to enjoy your stay. A big "thank you" to Warren & Maree for allowing others to enjoy your special piece of rural NZ.
Owner's reply
Adlee
Stayed March 2016
Don't bother. The place smells of mildew, the drinking water filter is filthy, the dirty laundry trough is your bathroom sink, the sheets are stained, (I only know this because I had to make the bed when we got there), the stove was dirty... Read more
Owner's reply
This is our holiday house, guests are welcome to stay, because we choose to share it with others rather than retain it to ourselves. We have many many people and families who return year after year - this is the first time we have had guests... Read more
Don't bother. The place smells of mildew, the drinking water filter is filthy, the dirty laundry trough is your bathroom sink, the sheets are stained, (I only know this because I had to make the bed when we got there), the stove was dirty from previous occupants, the towels look like they are on their 3rd or 4th reincarnation, and if you like the gang house look, well there is a dirty, ripped old sofa on the veranda for you to ponder whether you'll get bitten by something living in it if you actually were game enough to sit on it. Very bad choice to stay here on this occasion!
Owner's reply
This is our holiday house, guests are welcome to stay, because we choose to share it with others rather than retain it to ourselves. We have many many people and families who return year after year - this is the first time we have had guests leave in 10+ years of sharing our holiday house. All guests make their own beds, and all guests are asked to leave the house clean and tidy. The guests who stayed prior to and after these ones advised us that they were very comfortable and enjoyed their stay - the guests prior were from NZ, the ones after were from Australia as these guests were. We leave it to you to determine where the truth lies, and I have sat on that 'gang' sofa for the last 10+ years and never been bitten neither have I felt compelled to join any gang!
TorBat
Stayed April 2014
Beautiful cottage, we had a lovely stay here.
Beautiful cottage, we had a lovely stay here.
Owner's reply
Jono1975
Stayed May 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at Glen Tarvis.
We really enjoyed our stay at Glen Tarvis.
Owner's reply
Cwilson
Stayed February 2011
What a lovely place to unwind for a few days! We loved the toybox and large range of games and books for the kids. Unfortunately while we were there we had a few problems with the pump which was quickly fixed, and the washing machine which... Read more
Owner's reply
The washing machine did have a mind of its own and was irregular - we have replaced it with another one since this comment and our own experiences with it. Thanks for the feedback.
What a lovely place to unwind for a few days! We loved the toybox and large range of games and books for the kids. Unfortunately while we were there we had a few problems with the pump which was quickly fixed, and the washing machine which we worked around! So nice to stay somewhere that is clearly loved and lived in. Thanks
Owner's reply
The washing machine did have a mind of its own and was irregular - we have replaced it with another one since this comment and our own experiences with it. Thanks for the feedback.
mimzi
Stayed September 2010
I'm from Australia, and my first overseas trip was New Zealand.
The second place we stayed at was Glen Tarvis, and it was my FAVOURITE place. The view of the mountain and the little dam from the verandah in spring was so delightful... Read more
I'm from Australia, and my first overseas trip was New Zealand.
The second place we stayed at was Glen Tarvis, and it was my FAVOURITE place. The view of the mountain and the little dam from the verandah in spring was so delightful (especially at sunset), and inside it was so cosy with the fire place and how the living room was set up. My favourite place in my whole life. I hope I can go back there as soon as possible.
Owner's reply
Eric
Stayed December 2008
Tidy, cosy and comfortable. A+, would stay again.
Tidy, cosy and comfortable. A+, would stay again.
Owner's reply
Fowler Family
Stayed August 2008
We love Burkes Pass! Had a great 3 days skiing and good family times at your cosy home. A bonus to catch up with your property mangers too - ex Diamond Harbour folk!
We love Burkes Pass! Had a great 3 days skiing and good family times at your cosy home. A bonus to catch up with your property mangers too - ex Diamond Harbour folk!
Owner's reply
Deavoll Family
Stayed July 2008
A great time was had by all, Fraser learned to ski at Roundhill, Julia can turn beautifully and Sam was all over the mountain. Thanks we'll be back.
A great time was had by all, Fraser learned to ski at Roundhill, Julia can turn beautifully and Sam was all over the mountain. Thanks we'll be back.
Owner's reply
John Ferguson & Alan Gribbin
Stayed March 2008
Thank you! Very comfortable and a very enjoyable 6 days. Glen Tarvis is well situated and perfect as a base for fishermen - Tekapo, Mary Burn, Grays. Lake Benmore, Tasman River, Opihi.
Thank you! Very comfortable and a very enjoyable 6 days. Glen Tarvis is well situated and perfect as a base for fishermen - Tekapo, Mary Burn, Grays. Lake Benmore, Tasman River, Opihi.
Owner's reply
Crew-Gee Family
Stayed December 2007
Burkes Pass would have passed us by had it not been for this cottage - a lovely relaxed house - great books & toys - the church and lupin lady grave a bit further on are worth a visit - thank you.
Burkes Pass would have passed us by had it not been for this cottage - a lovely relaxed house - great books & toys - the church and lupin lady grave a bit further on are worth a visit - thank you.
Owner's reply
Deavoll Family
Stayed September 2007
Another lovely holiday at Glen Tarvis. Sunny weather, cosy house and great company. Fraser celebrated his 8th birthday in style.
Another lovely holiday at Glen Tarvis. Sunny weather, cosy house and great company. Fraser celebrated his 8th birthday in style.
Owner's reply
Suzanna Family - CHCH
Stayed September 2007
Thanks for an awesome weekend. Lots of relaxing, cricket playing, sledding in the snow, ice skating and games by the mile :)
Thanks for an awesome weekend. Lots of relaxing, cricket playing, sledding in the snow, ice skating and games by the mile :)
Owner's reply
Mark, Myschel & Chamonix Albrecht
Stayed August 2007
Great house, sunny spot, very well equipped, thank-you. You have thought of all "aspects" - toys, dvd's, books etc makes a nice touch - well done!
Great house, sunny spot, very well equipped, thank-you. You have thought of all "aspects" - toys, dvd's, books etc makes a nice touch - well done!
Owner's reply
Cox family
Stayed April 2007
All had a good time kids enjoyed tree house, want to come back and look for frogs! Lovely warm clean cottage. Thanks.
All had a good time kids enjoyed tree house, want to come back and look for frogs! Lovely warm clean cottage. Thanks.
Owner's reply
Deavoll Family
Stayed April 2007
A wonderful easter, a beautiful spot especially in Autumn, loved the house, cosy with nice touches like games for the children, would love to come back.
A wonderful easter, a beautiful spot especially in Autumn, loved the house, cosy with nice touches like games for the children, would love to come back.
Owner's reply
Eric & Sheila Urquhart
Stayed January 2007
Immaculate cottage in lovely location. Enjoyed our stay.
Immaculate cottage in lovely location. Enjoyed our stay.
Owner's reply
Jamie, Marian & Sam
Stayed December 2006
Fantastic spot - peaceful and calm and the perfect respite before going back to work!!
Fantastic spot - peaceful and calm and the perfect respite before going back to work!!
Owner's reply
Iamev & Binev Families
Stayed April 2006
We had a really good time, good fishing and lovely weather! Thanks.
We had a really good time, good fishing and lovely weather! Thanks.
Owner's reply
David & Pippa Werry
Stayed January 2006
Lovely weather, amazing views of Mt Cook & enjoyed the Hooker Valley walk - the girls liked the salmon farm & feeding the fish. Thank you!
Lovely weather, amazing views of Mt Cook & enjoyed the Hooker Valley walk - the girls liked the salmon farm & feeding the fish. Thank you!
Owner's reply
Trevor & Trudie Jacques
Stayed November 2005
A charming, quaint cottage - ideal base to discover the marvelous sites in and around Mt Cook, Lake Tekapo etc.
A charming, quaint cottage - ideal base to discover the marvelous sites in and around Mt Cook, Lake Tekapo etc.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 140NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All Year