BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 195NZD

This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

Westhaven Retreat's cottage

Te-Hapu rd., Collingwood
Ref #: 3109
Share
  • 4
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Description

Escape to an 1000 acre Coastal peninsula of unspoiled wilderness and stunning views. Walk along the rugged coastline to private beaches, stunning rock formations, through Nikau Palm forests and endless ocean views.

Nestles a midst this abundant natural sanctuary, is our lovely cottage, with views overlooking the entire Whanganui Inlet. This charming holiday house is perfect for just a couple ...

Read more...

Escape to an 1000 acre Coastal peninsula of unspoiled wilderness and stunning views. Walk along the rugged coastline to private beaches, stunning rock formations, through Nikau Palm forests and endless ocean views.

Nestles a midst this abundant natural sanctuary, is our lovely cottage, with views overlooking the entire Whanganui Inlet. This charming holiday house is perfect for just a couple or for the whole family. The Cottage is spacious and modern with one double bedroom and one twin bedroom. There is also a double pull out couch for the kids. Feel at home in the large comfortable lounge with the fire place to keep you cosy. The kitchen is fully equipped with oven, fridge and microwave, should you wish to cook. However we also have a reputation for delicious food and would more than happy to spoil you with a special 3 course dinner delivered to the privacy of your cottage.

You are welcome to go fishing, dive for lobster and search for paua.

Excellent Mobile reception!

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
Availability:

The Cottage is perfect for couples who wish to getaway together.

Families are also very comfortable in the Cottage, which sleeps 4 guest.

A Maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with the sofa double bed, however it does get a bit crowded...especially on a rainy day.

OPEN ALL YEAR

Rates
1 Dec-14 Apr
$215.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$195.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Stays for one night may be considered, but there will bean extra clean fee of $50

Check in: after 2pm
Check out: 10am

Reviews (10 Reviews)
mmmcgrath
Stayed February 2016
This is a very special place, and was a highlight of our recent trip. The cottage is well set-up and very comfortable, and the setting is very unique, the views unparalleled. We had access to the private 1000 acre property, with beautiful,... Read more
Owner's reply
Thanks for your comment. We really enjoyed meeting you and most of all that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This is a very special place, and was a highlight of our recent trip. The cottage is well set-up and very comfortable, and the setting is very unique, the views unparalleled. We had access to the private 1000 acre property, with beautiful, well-maintained walking trails, each one more dramatic and spectacular than the last, all ending either at the Tasman Sea or the Whanganui Inlet. Most of the time we were the only people on the trails, as while we were there, very few lodge guests seemed to use them. But even when they do, the property is so big, and so varied, that you can have total privacy. What a hard-working family! They do a beautiful job attending to the comfort and pleasure of all their guests. I were a little worried, when we booked, that we would feel like "poor relations" to the lodge guests. Not in the least. We hope to return.
Owner's reply
Thanks for your comment. We really enjoyed meeting you and most of all that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Silvie
Stayed July 2014
The place was amazing! If you are ever looking for a quiet retreat where you can spend days going for beautiful walks without even driving anywhere, this would be it. The combination of rocky outcrops, nikau palms, wild beaches, good tracks... Read more
The place was amazing! If you are ever looking for a quiet retreat where you can spend days going for beautiful walks without even driving anywhere, this would be it. The combination of rocky outcrops, nikau palms, wild beaches, good tracks and amazing views was perfect for both us and our dog. Nice warm welcome and lit fire when we arrived!
Owner's reply
chip5850
Stayed April 2012
We spent a really lovely peaceful weekend at Westhaven with plenty of walks, fishing and gazing out at the magnificent views. We were welcomed very warmly to the cottage and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for our lovely hosts. We were... Read more
Owner's reply
Thank you, it was great to meet you and your family. Hope to see you again some time.
We spent a really lovely peaceful weekend at Westhaven with plenty of walks, fishing and gazing out at the magnificent views. We were welcomed very warmly to the cottage and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for our lovely hosts. We were also grateful that we could bring our dog. Thanks again for a brilliant weekend.
Owner's reply
Thank you, it was great to meet you and your family. Hope to see you again some time.
p.e.sorensen
Stayed January 2012
To the owner and future costumers of Westhaven Retreat!

Our stay last year was one of the best we ever have experienced during our five trips to NZ - each lasting more than one month.
Everything in Westhaven received topscore! It's... Read more
To the owner and future costumers of Westhaven Retreat!

Our stay last year was one of the best we ever have experienced during our five trips to NZ - each lasting more than one month.
Everything in Westhaven received topscore! It's simply paradise with a great host, and we received more than the value for the cost in all aspects. - A stay there - and your quality of life will be enriched. It's NZ when it is best.

Sorensen, Poul E.
Owner's reply
Denise
Stayed December 2011
One of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, truely! It is quite a way to get here, but once you have arrived you will love!
One of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, truely! It is quite a way to get here, but once you have arrived you will love!
Owner's reply
Tomas
Stayed July 2011
It was just so beautiful and relaxing there. The views are amazing and the cottage is really comfortable. The hosts (family) are very friendly and lovely people. We had a delicous dinner. They thought of everything. I would certainly... Read more
It was just so beautiful and relaxing there. The views are amazing and the cottage is really comfortable. The hosts (family) are very friendly and lovely people. We had a delicous dinner. They thought of everything. I would certainly recommend everyone to come to this beautiful spot. I have never stayed anywhere this beautiful. We will come again, next time for longer.
Owner's reply
Rosieoland
Stayed April 2011
I just wanted to thank you guys! It's just so beautiful out there and we can't wait to come again next year. Thanks for pampering us, oh and Monika you meals were jsut soooo delicous!
I just wanted to thank you guys! It's just so beautiful out there and we can't wait to come again next year. Thanks for pampering us, oh and Monika you meals were jsut soooo delicous!
Owner's reply
caleb
Stayed March 2011
We were not received well - being told you spoil your son & your dog after being through a violent earthquake and being on the road for 11 days is not kind.
We have lost a lot - you will not know this as you did not enquire. We had... Read more
Owner's reply
I am stunned by these comments. It makes me very sad that one person can twist a story so much that it makes us look like bad people. You remeber that you met us at the gate of the property and we received very nicely indeed. We stood there... Read more
We were not received well - being told you spoil your son & your dog after being through a violent earthquake and being on the road for 11 days is not kind.
We have lost a lot - you will not know this as you did not enquire. We had booked 2 nights & as soon as we met you we quickly found somewhere else & told you immediately. If we could have left then we would have done but after 2hrs drive from golden bay 40mins of that on a dirt track we were tired, shaken & hungry.
We did not expect to stay anywhere for free, we are lucky that we met lots of people who insisted on this, one couple wouldn't let us pay anything & one place insisted we went halves...I am a very honest person, my point was that it was not value for money & we were not so desperate.
You did not invite me to e-mail re my dads funeral arrangements & you seem to have decided we have not suffered-I would say this is neither friendly or kind.
We stayed at Sans Soucci whilst in Golden bay & met a woman who had stayed at your retreat-she said she received a very cold reception from you you may look at this Eco lodge they were very busy, I suspect it's because they are lovely people-you could learn a lot from them.
Mrs Tracy Box
Owner's reply
I am stunned by these comments. It makes me very sad that one person can twist a story so much that it makes us look like bad people. You remeber that you met us at the gate of the property and we received very nicely indeed. We stood there for at least 30 minutes talking to you and your life in Christchurch. You emptied your heart and we felt compassion for you. You told us your house was fine, the business was fine, you had come for a break from the earthquakes, which is totally understandable.
We invited you for a lovely three course dinner and charged you only a fraction of the cottage normal rate and your dinner was free. We have a no pet rule in the house, which you were aware of and you put the dog in your bed and stayed he whole time inside the cottage!!! He had a bed in the garage, where he is allowed, or outside.
I don't understand why you would write such horrible things. Because we asked you to pay only a small part of your stay!! You booked through Book a bach and never told us you wanted to stay for free. Instead you now write a story like this to pay us back. It is very sad and unfortunatly I cannot change what you have written about us.
As a last word. We are very well know in our Community and with our guests as generous and good people. Please feel free to ask around, I am happy to give reverences of guests and frequent stayers. Honestly please don't just listen to one person that gives such an untrue feedback. Westhaven is one of the most beautiful places you will ever see. And in all honestly we will receive you well and cater for you as best we can (we have never done otherwise).
Ruhland
Stayed January 2011
It's just so beautiful here, we come every year and it is the highlight of our trip. Plus the food is so nice too. You won't be disappointed
It's just so beautiful here, we come every year and it is the highlight of our trip. Plus the food is so nice too. You won't be disappointed
Owner's reply
G.R.
Stayed August 2010
We have stayed at Westhaven for 10 years every year now. It is one of our favourite places to come to. We dine every night with the hosts, who very nice people and our friends now. I would recommend anyone to come. It is well worth the trip... Read more
We have stayed at Westhaven for 10 years every year now. It is one of our favourite places to come to. We dine every night with the hosts, who very nice people and our friends now. I would recommend anyone to come. It is well worth the trip and I promise you won't be disappointed.
(sadly, even if other people try to ruin their good reputation)
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 195NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

Availability:

The Cottage is perfect for couples who wish to getaway together.

Families are also very comfortable in the Cottage, which sleeps 4 guest.

A Maximum of 6 guests can be accommodated with the sofa double bed, however it does get a bit crowded...especially on a rainy day.

OPEN ALL YEAR