Close

Additional rates information

Ngunguru WATERS EDGE Apartment

11 Ewen St, Ngunguru, Whangarei
Ref #: 2822
Share
  • 5
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Description

Magical position. SWIM, KAYAK, FISH off front lawn. ONLY property in Ngunguru where you can dive off front wall (at high tide). Relax at the waters edge chairs and loungers
Floor to ceiling glass across lounge, dining area gives amazing, extensive water views. Quality furnishings including a unique coffee table made from 30,000 year old swamp kauri. 50 inch plasma TV and Blu-Ray player with a ...

Read more...

Magical position. SWIM, KAYAK, FISH off front lawn. ONLY property in Ngunguru where you can dive off front wall (at high tide). Relax at the waters edge chairs and loungers
Floor to ceiling glass across lounge, dining area gives amazing, extensive water views. Quality furnishings including a unique coffee table made from 30,000 year old swamp kauri. 50 inch plasma TV and Blu-Ray player with a selection of DVD's provided. This very spacious 2 bedroom apartment is over 80sq metres! (larger than many 3brm baches). Large open plan living, dining room and semi kitchen with large benchtop oven (can do roast, veges for 4), large electric frypan, microwave and 2 induction hotplates. 2 bedrooms - 1 with a double bed and master has queensize bed and pullout double sofa. Ranchslider in master bedroom leads to huge private deck with large table and 6 chairs and BBQ. Bathroom has shower over bath. Sauna, massage chair, exercycle and rowing machine in lounge! All linen and towels supplied. AirCon/Heat Pump to ensure comfortable temperature
2 double, 2 single Kayaks, dingy and use of fishing gear included. RELAX in the spa with a cool drink and enjoy the water view! or check out the 2 hanging basket chairs adjacent. This is the upstairs unit of a 2 storied home with own entry. During your stay we wish you to enjoy the waterfront - your hosts, John and Helen, are unobtrusive and there to be of assistance if you require. We will endeavour to make your stay private, memorable, comfortable and relaxing. When absent, our wonderful neighbour Emma will look after you.
Free unlimited wireless broadband.
If you have not received a reply within 24 hours please check your junk mail.
Facilties are only for guests staying. Visitors by prior consent.
1 night weekend bookings are only accepted at the last minute or to fill a gap

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year

Rates
15 Jan-28 Feb
$210.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
1 Mar-30 Apr
$170.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
1 May-14 Oct
$145.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
15 Oct-15 Dec
$170.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
16 Dec-14 Jan
$270.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$150.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Stat holiday weekends charged at PEAK RATE of $190 for 2.

Owners Away Special Nov. 1 - Nov. 17. Stay 2 nights 20% discount. Stay 3 nights 30% discount.

Divers Special

Divers or Snorkellers booked on Poor Knights Charters receive 10% discount

Available all year

Reviews (13 Reviews)
TracieMoana
Stayed April 2018
My 9 year old son and I LOVED our stay! A beautiful, comfortable and warm home with picturesque views. We swam every day, went for walks, kayaked across to the island and walked the dunes and enjoyed a coffee at the local cafe. Helen and... Read more
My 9 year old son and I LOVED our stay! A beautiful, comfortable and warm home with picturesque views. We swam every day, went for walks, kayaked across to the island and walked the dunes and enjoyed a coffee at the local cafe. Helen and John, the owners were lovely and unobtrusive. We will definitely be back. A+ recommendation.
Owner's reply
mkakids
Stayed April 2017
This place is sooo relaxing. Went there for a 16 year old birthday - 2 adults and 5 girls - not the best weather unfortunately but we still had fun. Everyone had a great time - kayaking, spa pool, massage chairs, even the sauna was used... Read more
This place is sooo relaxing. Went there for a 16 year old birthday - 2 adults and 5 girls - not the best weather unfortunately but we still had fun. Everyone had a great time - kayaking, spa pool, massage chairs, even the sauna was used. We would love to come back again. Thanks so much for sharing your apartment with us.
Owner's reply
dad's place
Stayed August 2016
John and Helen were fabulous hosts. We received a warm welcome even though it was late in the evening, 10:30pm. It was a chilly night, but thanks to John & Helen they had our beds warmed with the electric blankets [much needed].
-
-... Read more
John and Helen were fabulous hosts. We received a warm welcome even though it was late in the evening, 10:30pm. It was a chilly night, but thanks to John & Helen they had our beds warmed with the electric blankets [much needed].
-
- The apartment was everything I expected and more.
- The view was AMAZING!, waking up to that every morning sets you up for a blissful day.
- The spa was glorious at night under the starts.
- Their family invited us to a fishing competition at Tutukaka, this was a first time experience for my 6 year old as well seeing dolphins! She won her very own fishing rod; such an amazing experience.
- The location was perfect for us, central to everything.
- We ate our most of the time, so the cooking facilities worked well for what we needed.
- Showers were nice and hot.
- TV - free to air & DVD's avaialble for the kids.
- WIFI avaialble for the bigger kids.

Even when it rained [1 day] it was still beautiful. Thank you John & Helen for an awesome experience I know my kids will always remember. You have one of the best spots in Ngunguru!

Owner's reply
Chonie
Stayed March 2016
This place is amazing the view left us speechless and we loved every minute, felt like we had the whole place to ourselves yet we had fantastic hosts. Beautiful place kids absolutely loved it and we can't wait to go back! We have been... Read more
Owner's reply
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and loved/utilised all the facilities and wish to return
This place is amazing the view left us speechless and we loved every minute, felt like we had the whole place to ourselves yet we had fantastic hosts. Beautiful place kids absolutely loved it and we can't wait to go back! We have been telling all our friends about this house. Thanks so much!
Owner's reply
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and loved/utilised all the facilities and wish to return
jose trindade
Stayed March 2016
Amazing views,great location. Loved the spa, located right at the edge of the water. Great spot for fishing and boating, allowing you to anchor your boad infront of the house. Hosts John and Helen were very kind and helpful all the time. Nice... Read more
Owner's reply
Thank you Luis and Josie for your positive comment and leaving the apartment immaculate. Looking forward to your return visit.
Amazing views,great location. Loved the spa, located right at the edge of the water. Great spot for fishing and boating, allowing you to anchor your boad infront of the house. Hosts John and Helen were very kind and helpful all the time. Nice and quite place.

Owner's reply
Thank you Luis and Josie for your positive comment and leaving the apartment immaculate. Looking forward to your return visit.
sanjitdutta
Stayed February 2016
Pretty good with all the outdoor facilities. Good and open water view across the glass window all round. Cordial and warm welcome from hosts John and Helen.
Item we did not like - extremely dirty white floor carpets. Needs a complete clean... Read more
Owner's reply
We acknowledge the comment about the "white" carpet, however it is NOT dirty - just badly discoloured! Had it cleaned before xmas but didn't come up as hoped - have the replacement carpet but ran out of time and could not get... Read more
Pretty good with all the outdoor facilities. Good and open water view across the glass window all round. Cordial and warm welcome from hosts John and Helen.
Item we did not like - extremely dirty white floor carpets. Needs a complete clean up or even change to a colour meant to withstand high foot traffic. Creates an extremely bad impression.
A full oven would be preferred but that depends on individual preference.
Owner's reply
We acknowledge the comment about the "white" carpet, however it is NOT dirty - just badly discoloured! Had it cleaned before xmas but didn't come up as hoped - have the replacement carpet but ran out of time and could not get carpet layer on days the apartment was vacant Re oven It does state on the website that it has a mini oven, sorry for your disappointment
dougalsarah
Stayed September 2015
Location is stunning, loved the water views and the sea side being on the doorstep. Bedding was fantastic and comfortable, nice roomy apartment. Down-side from our experience is that we weren't aware from the info provided on the page... Read more
Owner's reply
Very disappointed to receive our first ever negative feedback. The HH site does specify it is the upstairs unit of a 2 storied house. I thought it obvious it is likely there would be someone in the downstairs floor. Can't help but wonder... Read more
Location is stunning, loved the water views and the sea side being on the doorstep. Bedding was fantastic and comfortable, nice roomy apartment. Down-side from our experience is that we weren't aware from the info provided on the page that we would be sharing the house with the owners. It wasnt made clear that they were on the bottom floor. We had kids with us on holiday and had looked forward to lounging around on the lawn without feeling like were intruding and trying to keep the kids quiet upstairs - this wasnt what we had planned unfortunately. Also we noticed there was a internal door that we weren't able to secure from our side, which didnt sit right with us?
Owner's reply
Very disappointed to receive our first ever negative feedback. The HH site does specify it is the upstairs unit of a 2 storied house. I thought it obvious it is likely there would be someone in the downstairs floor. Can't help but wonder whether the "down side" of having the owners on site was due to the fact they had booked for 2 adults, 2 children but there were 4, plus another adult on the 2nd night! There was never any indication during the initial inquiry or booking confirmation that there was a possibility of extra guests. We would not have taken a booking for 7!
The interior door in the downstairs entry is secured from the inside - not sure what was being implied.
Hopefully our previous 5* comments speak on our behalf. All have enjoyed a drink at the front wall!
Sincerely
John and Helen
cristobel
Stayed September 2015
What a great place to just feel like everything is at your fingertips. Comfortable, so many extra's...Spa, pool, indoor sauna, kayaks, fishing rods...all at your disposal...fishing right out front, other gorgeous beaches within a few... Read more
Owner's reply
Thank-you Kim. It was lovely to have you stay again and look forward to your return.
What a great place to just feel like everything is at your fingertips. Comfortable, so many extra's...Spa, pool, indoor sauna, kayaks, fishing rods...all at your disposal...fishing right out front, other gorgeous beaches within a few K's. I went to Church bay and got a few dozen oysters for tea...These people really think of everything and are so considerate. Loved my second stay and recommend to all....wonderful thanks John and Helen ...Kim Forrest
Owner's reply
Thank-you Kim. It was lovely to have you stay again and look forward to your return.
Maryannespiritu30
Stayed April 2015
Such a lovely, cozy and fantastic place to stay! Everything you need all in one place. Near white sand beaches and a store if you run out of anything. Nice spot to kayak and do fishing at the same time just infront of the property. The Spa... Read more
Owner's reply
Thank you Mary Ann for your wonderful comment. John and Helen
Such a lovely, cozy and fantastic place to stay! Everything you need all in one place. Near white sand beaches and a store if you run out of anything. Nice spot to kayak and do fishing at the same time just infront of the property. The Spa was superb and to die for after a long and tiring day! 😀
We had such a beautiful and memorable holiday.
Thank you John and Helen.
Owner's reply
Thank you Mary Ann for your wonderful comment. John and Helen
Margyd65
Stayed January 2015
Wow what a beautiful place to stay .Apartment very spacious ,quiet and comfortable with wonderful views .My family & I thought it one of the lovliest places we have ever stayed at . The hosts very kind and genuine people. Children had so... Read more
Wow what a beautiful place to stay .Apartment very spacious ,quiet and comfortable with wonderful views .My family & I thought it one of the lovliest places we have ever stayed at . The hosts very kind and genuine people. Children had so much fun in the spa/swimming pool .Thank you John & Helen
Owner's reply
martins65
Stayed January 2015
What a wonderful place to stay had everything we needed nice couple very friendly I hope to be staying again thank you very much
Tracey & Philip
What a wonderful place to stay had everything we needed nice couple very friendly I hope to be staying again thank you very much
Tracey & Philip
Owner's reply
manoport
Stayed April 2014
Really nice stay with great hosts, a lovely view from a clean appartment, two decks assure sunshine the whole day. Swimming and fishing from the property and afterwards a nice hot spa bath, simply great...
Owner's reply
Thanks Peter for posting such a great comment. The spa pool is always appreciated after a cool dip in the estuary!
Hope your trip to the Poor Nights was great and baby Adam coped well. Appreciate you leaving everything... Read more
Really nice stay with great hosts, a lovely view from a clean appartment, two decks assure sunshine the whole day. Swimming and fishing from the property and afterwards a nice hot spa bath, simply great...
Owner's reply
Thanks Peter for posting such a great comment. The spa pool is always appreciated after a cool dip in the estuary!
Hope your trip to the Poor Nights was great and baby Adam coped well. Appreciate you leaving everything so tidy
Helen and John
a_j_wood@yahoo.com
Stayed February 2014
Had a wonderful time at the Waters Edge in Ngunguru. Very welcoming and helpful hosts and a lovely apartment to stay in upstairs. Really appreciated the use of the kayaks and the spa pool! A perfect spot to explore the Tutukaka Coast from... Read more
Owner's reply
thanks Anna for your positive comments and glad you and your mum had an enjoyable, relaxing time.
John and Helen
Had a wonderful time at the Waters Edge in Ngunguru. Very welcoming and helpful hosts and a lovely apartment to stay in upstairs. Really appreciated the use of the kayaks and the spa pool! A perfect spot to explore the Tutukaka Coast from. Will definitely recommend to others.
Owner's reply
thanks Anna for your positive comments and glad you and your mum had an enjoyable, relaxing time.
John and Helen
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 145NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year