Close

Additional rates information

The Fern and Fossil

240 Soundy Road, Kiritihere, RD TE KUITI
Ref #: 2350
Share
  • 5
  • 8
  • 3
  • 3
Description

Enjoy the ferns and the native bush, and check out the beach fossils. Character farmhouse set on a 2000 acre farm 2 mins from Kiritehere beach on the west coast of the north island. 50 mins from Waitomo. Wooden floors, sleeps eight with fully self contained kitchen. Lots of native bush and beach walks close by. Great fishing, surfing,whitebaiting, fossil collecting and rockpools to ...

Read more...


Enjoy the ferns and the native bush, and check out the beach fossils. Character farmhouse set on a 2000 acre farm 2 mins from Kiritehere beach on the west coast of the north island. 50 mins from Waitomo. Wooden floors, sleeps eight with fully self contained kitchen. Lots of native bush and beach walks close by. Great fishing, surfing,whitebaiting, fossil collecting and rockpools to explore.

Due to lambing access to the farm is restricted in the months of August and Spetember.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All Year. A deposit of 50% is required for any bookings made for the month of January or February.
Two week cancellation notification required for full refund.

Rates
1 Mar-30 Nov
$75.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
1 Mar-30 Nov
$500.00/Week for 8 guests
 
1 Week minimum
more
close
1 Dec-28 Feb
$75.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
1 Dec-28 Feb
$650.00/Week for 8 guests
 
1 Week minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$75.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

We have increased the nightly rate for two people by $10 from the 1st July 2016. Additional people are still at $15 each and the weekly rate is the same, $650 for 8 people, from 1st Dec until 28th Feb and $500 per week other times.

Pets please enquire.
Linen can be hired at extra charge, enquire.

Reviews (13 Reviews)
Vibrantanne22
Stayed September 2018
What a fantastic holiday home. Loved the flock of Tui, darting and squabbling in the Banksia trees.
We had a wonderfully peaceful week, even though the weather was not the greatest.
Wonderful hosts.
What a fantastic holiday home. Loved the flock of Tui, darting and squabbling in the Banksia trees.
We had a wonderfully peaceful week, even though the weather was not the greatest.
Wonderful hosts.
Owner's reply
Steffani
Stayed March 2016
We had great time and enjoy the beautiful nature and the peaceful environment.
Thanks for letting us enjoy this beautiful place.
We had great time and enjoy the beautiful nature and the peaceful environment.
Thanks for letting us enjoy this beautiful place.
Owner's reply
SMD
Stayed July 2015
A lovely two days in very peaceful surroundings.
Owner's reply
Thanks for that comment glad you enjoyed the peace and quite. Hope the weather was fine for you.

Maureen.
A lovely two days in very peaceful surroundings.
Owner's reply
Thanks for that comment glad you enjoyed the peace and quite. Hope the weather was fine for you.

Maureen.
remidalv2014
Stayed February 2014
Peaceful place to stay, lovely locals. Kids Love fossil hunting, catch lots of fish. Love to comeback again....
Peaceful place to stay, lovely locals. Kids Love fossil hunting, catch lots of fish. Love to comeback again....
Owner's reply
Scho
Stayed January 2014
Loved staying here, great atmosphere in the house and had all we needed for a good few days. Bed was excellent and needed after walking the hills. Still things to do, so next time will bring the rods instead of the tramping boots. Thanks guys... Read more
Owner's reply
Hi
Thanks for those nice comments, its good to be able to share our part of the country with other people. Sorry about the TV, didn't know it was not working, will ask Karen to have a look at it and see if she can figure... Read more
Loved staying here, great atmosphere in the house and had all we needed for a good few days. Bed was excellent and needed after walking the hills. Still things to do, so next time will bring the rods instead of the tramping boots. Thanks guys for letting us into your farm and allowing your guests the chance to enjoy this beautiful spot. Only problem was not being able to work the TV, but that allowed time to read a book or two.
Cheers Derek and Christine
Owner's reply
Hi
Thanks for those nice comments, its good to be able to share our part of the country with other people. Sorry about the TV, didn't know it was not working, will ask Karen to have a look at it and see if she can figure how to fix. Sometimes the problem is that games/videos are attached to it and takes a bit of working out how to restore the TV, especially when there is no TV repairman just around the corner!
Maureen.
jent
Stayed September 2013
Perfect tranquillity. Amazing birdlife, beautiful stars at night. Thankyou Maureen and Russell for your friendly help. A great spot to appreciate how lucky we NZers are and just unwind.
Owner's reply
Thanks for those comments. Yes the birdlife is great and stars look so much brighter without street lights.
We enjoy sharing the place with other people who enjoy getting away from the city.
Maureen.
Perfect tranquillity. Amazing birdlife, beautiful stars at night. Thankyou Maureen and Russell for your friendly help. A great spot to appreciate how lucky we NZers are and just unwind.
Owner's reply
Thanks for those comments. Yes the birdlife is great and stars look so much brighter without street lights.
We enjoy sharing the place with other people who enjoy getting away from the city.
Maureen.
fiona.david@xtra.co.nz
Stayed April 2013
What an awesome place! Everything you could wish for in a bach - even our 2 cats chilled out. Far more spaceous than the photographs suggest - would highly recommend to anyone. The fossil hunting was brilliant too. Many thanks.
Owner's reply
Sorry never replied to this comment before, great to share the place with others who appreciate the peace and quiet.
Maureen.
What an awesome place! Everything you could wish for in a bach - even our 2 cats chilled out. Far more spaceous than the photographs suggest - would highly recommend to anyone. The fossil hunting was brilliant too. Many thanks.
Owner's reply
Sorry never replied to this comment before, great to share the place with others who appreciate the peace and quiet.
Maureen.
phred leggs
Stayed December 2012
Lovely quiet spot with more room than apparent from website. Enjoyed the local walks especially the trip down the cliff to the half tide coastal walk!
Lovely quiet spot with more room than apparent from website. Enjoyed the local walks especially the trip down the cliff to the half tide coastal walk!
Owner's reply
Bill.Matheson
Stayed November 2012
Had a great weekend here. Good spot for the whole family with plenty of room in the house and views and walks in all directions.
Had a great weekend here. Good spot for the whole family with plenty of room in the house and views and walks in all directions.
Owner's reply
ASV
Stayed September 2012
This place is so peaceful!!! We had a lovely stay here enjoying the great views and listening to the tuis enjoying the blossoming cherry trees. Good BBQ and a lot bigger than the pics make it out to be. There are so many activities to do that... Read more
This place is so peaceful!!! We had a lovely stay here enjoying the great views and listening to the tuis enjoying the blossoming cherry trees. Good BBQ and a lot bigger than the pics make it out to be. There are so many activities to do that we will have to go back again. Fossil hunting on the nearby beach is pretty awesome, not to mention its a great beach too.
Owner's reply
cpl
Stayed April 2011
This is a great place to stay. We found some good quality fossils at Kiritehere beach and caught some fish at river mouth. There were nine of us and we enjoyed this peaceful and quiet place. The bach is tidy and neat with beauitiful scenery... Read more
This is a great place to stay. We found some good quality fossils at Kiritehere beach and caught some fish at river mouth. There were nine of us and we enjoyed this peaceful and quiet place. The bach is tidy and neat with beauitiful scenery and the owners are very nice and friendly. Definitely,we will be back in the future.
Owner's reply
LynB31
Stayed March 2010
An awesome place to have a holiday away from the busy city life. A lovely scenic drive with beautiful views of Marokopa beach and village. Nice relaxing stay. Wake up to the sounds of nature. Great for fishing at Kiritehere beach. A must see... Read more
An awesome place to have a holiday away from the busy city life. A lovely scenic drive with beautiful views of Marokopa beach and village. Nice relaxing stay. Wake up to the sounds of nature. Great for fishing at Kiritehere beach. A must see for holiday makers. Would love to have another holiday in the future.

Thanks for an awesome holiday.
Owner's reply
Rosemary
Stayed January 2008
So peaceful and quiet. A real getaway holiday, We stayed 2 years ago and would love to go back some time. I loved the sunsets from up the hill at the back of the farm.
Owner's reply
Thanks for your nice comments. We are back on the website (under a new name) after having our sharefarmers live in the house while we had a new Lockwood house built for them
Cheers maureen.
So peaceful and quiet. A real getaway holiday, We stayed 2 years ago and would love to go back some time. I loved the sunsets from up the hill at the back of the farm.
Owner's reply
Thanks for your nice comments. We are back on the website (under a new name) after having our sharefarmers live in the house while we had a new Lockwood house built for them
Cheers maureen.
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 71NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All Year. A deposit of 50% is required for any bookings made for the month of January or February.
Two week cancellation notification required for full refund.