Close

Additional rates information

Barrier Bach...Stunning sea views!

15 B Garden Road (Accessed off Shoal Bay Road), Tryphena , Great Barrier Island
Ref #: 23247
Share
  • 5
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
Description

100m from the beach....over looks the harbour ....relax and admire the view, as wood pigeons and kaka play in the pohutakawa trees.

A modern architecturally designed kiwi bach, with great views over Tryphena harbour.

Relax on the massive covered deck that leads off every room of the house. Three bedrooms, two main bedrooms with a queen size bed in each looking over the harbour, and a

Read more...


100m from the beach....over looks the harbour ....relax and admire the view, as wood pigeons and kaka play in the pohutakawa trees.

A modern architecturally designed kiwi bach, with great views over Tryphena harbour.

Relax on the massive covered deck that leads off every room of the house. Three bedrooms, two main bedrooms with a queen size bed in each looking over the harbour, and a bunk room that sleeps four.

We have a caretaker that sets the house up for you, puts out the outdoor furniture and BBQ, makes the beds with clean linen, and makes sure the house is just as you would want it!!!!

Stroll down the drive way to the beach on your door step, or wander over to the Irish pub for a meal and a drink. Your options are endless on the Barrier.

We would recommend you stay at least a few nights, so you can relax and take in what the barrier has to offer.

Please get in touch if you have any questions about your Barrier stay.

*******************************************

*Feedback

"we just loved the house, a lovely place to stay, we will be back" Mike and Wendy

"we enjoyed our brief stay & will try to come back when we get time. The house was great - just as we expected"
John and Tush

" all good, we had a great time" Dave

"just awesome, we could have stayed three weeks, the view was stunning, the beach on your doorstep was just awesome" Steve and Kate

"We have stayed three times at the bach and loved each time, what an escape, we plan to come back again" Julian and Katherine

" we loved the house so much , we will be back !" Dave and Sue

".....what an amazing stay, ....." Scott and Sally

" We just loved the beach at the end of the driveway"...Scott and Sarah.

"Its our fourth time staying at Barrier Bach!...." Bob and Christine

********************************************************************************************

The fine print! :-)..................................................

You're about to visit a remote island, there is no mains power! This is what makes the Barrier so special.

We have a small solar system that runs the fridge/freezer and the lights. You will have to charge stuff at the shop or cafe, cooking is by gas, as is hot water. So this means no hair dryers can be used!!!.

*=all bookings minimum of two nights.
Check in time 2pm, check out time 10am or by arrangement for late/early check in/out.

The bach is very simple, we love it!, but its not a granite bench topped flash bach!.

Call us now, (09)6221044 or 022 6220781
Or email trhug@xtra.co.nz

*************************************************
If you "book now" please ensure you make contact with us about keys etc for the house, barrier@xnet.co.nz before you go!
*************************************************

still need convincing.....

Much of Great Barrier Island's coast is worthy of a cinematographer's attention.
Origin of name: Maori called it Aotea, after one of the early migration waka. In 1769, Captain Cook sailed by and renamed it on account of the barrier it forms between Hauraki Gulf and the open sea.

Population: 852 (2006 census).

Where is it: 90km north-east of central Auckland, 19km north of Coromandel Peninsula, in the outer Hauraki Gulf. It's the fourth largest of New Zealand's islands with a land mass of 285sq km.

Getting there: Take the Sealink ferry, with or without the car. Or you can fly, or sail your own boat there.

The island's slogan: It's not that sort of island. Although it could be "Next Stop Chile".

Fancy this: The Pigeongram Service started on the Barrier after the Wairarapa was wrecked off the coast in 1894. With no way to send word until the next boat arrived, the isolation was keenly felt and, 18 months later, the Pigeon Post, a world first, was in operation, Each pigeon carried up to five lightweight letters per trip, and the service flew until 1908 when a telephone line was connected from Coromandel.

Most famous local: One of Al Capone's old cars worked out its last years on the island, operating as a taxi.

Best local website: thebarrier.co.nz, greatbarrierisland.co.nz and also islandaccommodation.co.nz

Early industry: Gold, silver and copper mining, whaling and kauri felling all made their marks on the heritage of Barrier. The island was also the home of the country's first commercial bee-keeping operation.

Biggest industries: Farming, fishing and tourism.

Source of pride: The community, everyone is on board and everyone is on a board. If you live here you get involved.

Town competitions: Barrier Blokes' Day is said to be a hoot. There are also fishing competitions, a golf tournament and the Wharf-to-Wharf Marathon in October is well run.

Best reason to stop: Because you've probably never been there before.

Best place for kids: Mermaid Pools at Sugarloaf. These natural pools fill at high tide, warming up in the daytime sun so, by low tide, they're perfect for a dip, or for hunting for crabs and little fish.

Best place for a drink: Currach, the Irish Bar, at Tryphena. Claris Golf Club and the Claris Sports Club are also beaut for a bevy.

Best food: Claris Sports Club, open Thursday to Sunday. Ang Sana Thai (bookings essential) is yum and in summer there's The Burger Shack on Sanderson Rd. Some of the posher lodges and B&Bs do fine dining. Great Barrier Lodge does delicious food and stunning views.

Best flat white: Claris Texas Cafe or the Wild Rose Cafe on Mulberry Grove in Tryphena.

Best museum: Medlands Museum. The Milk, Honey and Grain Museum in Claris, Gray's Museum in Awana and Young's Museum in Okupu, Barrier Museum on Kaitoke Rd. Make a day of it and see them all.

Best Art Gallery: Aotea Community Arts Centre, near Claris airport, has something by every artist on the island - there are many artists on the island and lots of lovely galleries.

Best walk: The walking is so excellent there's a festival each year - greatbarrierwalkfest.org. The best hike is up Mt Hobson, a four-hour round trip, and it's 621m high, so you need reasonable fitness. For a more sedate walk, Windy Canyon at the base of Mt Hobson is nice, although prepare for lots of stairs. The Kaitoke Hot Springs walk is gentle through beautiful bush, and you can wallow in warm water once you're there.

Best view: From the top of Mt Hobson, also known as Hirakimata, which translates as "the mountain that is visible to the eye from a wide area".

Best place to pull over: Sugarloaf, the ridge between Kaitoke and Medlands. There's a long stretch of white sandy beach there that you could easily mistake for paradise.

Best facilities: The island is blessed with loads of long drops with views. One local gentleman boasts that, when horse treks pass his ablutions block, it adds another dimension to their tours.

Best playground: The island's wonderful beaches. All you will need is your imagination.

Best shop: The Island Emporium is the island's first, newest, and only department store. Quirky and super well stocked.

Best swim: Okupu or Lion Bay. If you're lucky you'll see dolphins. Or Harataonga, where Survivor was shot. It's like a picture postcard. Kaitoke Hot Springs.

Wildlife: Crayfish, kiwi, kereru and kaka are everywhere. Kaitoke bird sanctuary is bursting with life.

Also excellent: Surfing, horse trekking and fishing are all good value.

You should know: The island has no reticulated electricity. Locals use mainly solar and wind, so bring a torch. Leave unnecessary electrical devices at home.

Fancy this: There are no ATMs, and although most outlets have eftpos, do bring cash.

Practical advice: If you bring your car, give it a good wash when you get home, because the salt spray from the ferry will demolish it.

Locals say: What took you so long?

Visitors say: What took us so long?

Hide...
Key Features & Amenities
  • Linen provided
  • Disabled access provided
  • Children welcome
  • No smoking
  • Pets allowed
  • BBQ
  • Boat parking
  • Cellphone coverage
  • Cleaning equipment
  • Cleaning supplies
  • Clothes line
  • Freezer
  • Fridge
  • Fridge/Freezer
  • Gas heating
  • High Chair
  • Outdoor furniture
  • Oven
  • Portacot
  • Shower
  • Tea, coffee, sugar etc
  • Bach
  • Kitchen
Bed layout: 1 Queen(s), 1 Queen(s), 2 Bunk(s)
Special amenities:

Everything is on your doorstep. Come and explore or just relax

Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year

Rates & Specials
10 Dec-15 Jan
$250.00/Night for 1 guests
 
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$159.00/Night for 2 guests
$25.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:


* All rates plus a one off $90 cleaning/setup fee/clean linen fee.
* if you "book now" please ensure you make contact with us about keys etc for the house, barrier@xnet.co.nz
* extra guest rate is only for over the age of 18

Please email to enquire :-)

Reviews (5 Comments)
GranNo1
Stayed March 2016
Bach is well located and comfortable. However, WARNING: Linen included means bed linen ONLY which we were only told about a week from our stay. We also had to agree to a list of terms and conditions - also only told about a few days before... Read more
Owner's reply
Hi GranNo1,
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. I'll reply to each one of your points.

1. No towels provided?.
We simply can't supply towels for guests, sometimes we... Read more
Bach is well located and comfortable. However, WARNING: Linen included means bed linen ONLY which we were only told about a week from our stay. We also had to agree to a list of terms and conditions - also only told about a few days before our stay and well after we had transferred all the money. Both these things should be made clear before ANY money has changed hands. Ensure that you have clear directions to the bach as it is not in Garden Rd and there is nothing on Shoal Bay Rd to indicate where it is. Despite these we enjoyed our week on the Barrier although the solar system is not adequate for the size of the bach..
Owner's reply
Hi GranNo1,
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. I'll reply to each one of your points.

1. No towels provided?.
We simply can't supply towels for guests, sometimes we have up to 8 people staying at the Bach. Because you booked so far in advance l didn't send you the standard booking sheet that states bed linen only provided. So , sorry about that. To be fair we did have a conversation a week before you left for the barrier to say we didn't provide towels.

2. Terms and conditions?.
Yes we ask all guests to agrree, that they will look after the house. I don't think this is unreasonable and we have never had any other guest complain .

3.Directions?.
Holiday houses.co.nz insist we have the actual legal address. The house has access off Shoal Bay road. The directions clearly
say that house is accessed via Shoal Bay road. I give all guests detailed maps of how to find the house from the airport and from the wharf. I'm sorry you had difficulty finding the house.

4. Solar system?
As the holiday homes.co.nz website clearly says this is not a flash Bach, it says clearly the house has a small power system. The system is more than capable of running the house lights and the house fridge. The oven and hot water are gas powered.

I'm glad you had a nice stay and thanks again for posting feedback.
ATT
Stayed December 2015
Great place to stay to explore the barrier. The is nice and comfortable with stunning views
Owner's reply
Thanks Andrew, we are glade you had such a nice stay
Great place to stay to explore the barrier. The is nice and comfortable with stunning views
Owner's reply
Thanks Andrew, we are glade you had such a nice stay
CSS
Stayed March 2015
such a cool house the guest book says it all, so relaxing and peacful watching the birds and looking over the harbour. We will be back
Owner's reply
Hi Christine, Thanks for the feedback. The visitors book is full of great stories isn't it. Glade you had a great stay
such a cool house the guest book says it all, so relaxing and peacful watching the birds and looking over the harbour. We will be back
Owner's reply
Hi Christine, Thanks for the feedback. The visitors book is full of great stories isn't it. Glade you had a great stay
J.A
Stayed March 2013
Wow, what a great Bach, we stayed in March, chilled on the deck, lovely walks , we will be back!
Owner's reply
Hi Julian
Glade you enjoyed the deck and the views.
Wow, what a great Bach, we stayed in March, chilled on the deck, lovely walks , we will be back!
Owner's reply
Hi Julian
Glade you enjoyed the deck and the views.
RTH
Stayed December 2011
Great to see your place listed! We had a great stay here. The dolphins in the bay were a special highlight. Your Bach is a true NZ holiday experience.
Owner's reply
Hi Rebecca
The dolphins if your lucky enough to see them are super special!
thanks for taking time to place feedback
Great to see your place listed! We had a great stay here. The dolphins in the bay were a special highlight. Your Bach is a true NZ holiday experience.
Owner's reply
Hi Rebecca
The dolphins if your lucky enough to see them are super special!
thanks for taking time to place feedback
Show More... Show More... Add a comment
Nearby attractions & activities

Tryphena, fishing, walking, cafe, irish pub........medlands......kauri dams.......

Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • Please confirm you are a human

Contact details

View contact details

Contact details

Ask for Trev or Rachael 09 6221044,0226220781

Please mention HolidayHouses.co.nz

Mobile phone: 0226220781

Best contact time: Anytime

View contact details

Contact details

Ask for Trev or Rachael 09 6221044,0226220781

Please mention HolidayHouses.co.nz

Mobile phone
0226220781

Best contact time
Anytime

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year