BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
Close

Additional rates information

Hanmer Heights

34a Alpine Ave, Hanmer Springs
Ref #: 20096
Share
  • 3
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
Description

Is located on Conical Hill with breathtaking views of the Village and the Valley. Location is a short (5 Mins) walk from the pools and centre of the Village as well as being half way up Conical Hill close to the forest track and lookout.

Our home has been tastefully upgraded.

3 bedrooms, 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs (internal access down spiral staircase)

Sky TV - movies and sports ...

Read more...

Is located on Conical Hill with breathtaking views of the Village and the Valley. Location is a short (5 Mins) walk from the pools and centre of the Village as well as being half way up Conical Hill close to the forest track and lookout.

Our home has been tastefully upgraded.

3 bedrooms, 2 upstairs and 1 downstairs (internal access down spiral staircase)

Sky TV - movies and sports channels.

A log fire that warms the house in no time and makes for cosy accomodation.

This is a great place to take a break, a roomy living area with really comfortable couches. Sit back and enjoy a movie on sky . The view from the deck makes for a great place to sit and have your morning coffee or evening wine. New beds make for a comfy nights sleep....relax and unwind here.

Tenants are required to clean this home upon deparature so that it is clean and tidy for the next tenant, however, we maybe able to arrange to have the home cleaned, the cost is $100. A $100 bond is required to be paid and will be refunded when we find you have left our home clean and tidy.

Our home is approx 30 years old and has been well loved by our regular families who choose to stay every year, it is a very popular holiday home.

We offer midweek special deals 3 nights between Sunday and Thursday pay for 2 nights get the 3rd night free , not available during school holidays or public holidays.

We have a no refund policy on confirmed bookings.

We ask for a bond of $100. We ask that you remove your rubbish to the bins that are provided outside and that you leave our home clean & tidy. i.e. make beds, do your dishes, flush the toilet (you would be surprised at what some don't do), leave bathroom clean. Do a vaccumn. We do have cleaners and they cost a lot, we are only able to keep our rate to stay at a reasonable level if our guests help.

Sorry but NO PETS, NO SMOKING

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year.

Rates
All year
$150.00/Night for 6 guests
 
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Minimum 2 nights,
minimum 3 nights on long weekends,
guests are required to leave our home clean and tidy, if found in an untidy or dirty state a surcharge will apply.

Midweek special

$90 per night not holidays

Available all year

Reviews (13 Reviews)
Sharon King
Stayed January 2019
I hoped to have some contact from the owner so I could leave a better review and pass on some things to them outside of this format but that did not occur so here goes. Good stuff: The beds were comfortable, the flooring and kitchen were nice... Read more
I hoped to have some contact from the owner so I could leave a better review and pass on some things to them outside of this format but that did not occur so here goes. Good stuff: The beds were comfortable, the flooring and kitchen were nice and modern, lounge furniture was also fairly modern and comfortable. The teenagers really enjoyed the pool table. I met the new cleaner who was hired after the previous review, she was very thorough and there for over an hour, the house had not been left in a good state by the previous renters but it would appear that was the state the people before them had left it in so they didn't feel obliged to clean beyond that point. As the listing doesn't have photos of all the rooms I was pleasantly surprised to find the top room had a single and a king single bed, the double room upstairs also had room for our large portacot, the downstairs room which is pictured in the listing is less modern and has a double and single/possibly king single bed the teenagers were happy down there but we didn't tell them about the mice droppings and cockroaches. Room for improvement: there were visible dead cockroaches in the garage and on the stair landing we also unfortunately encountered a live one upstairs in one of the bedrooms. The washing machine connections are the wrong way around on the machine so you have to select a hot wash to get a cold wash and then your clothes get rinsed with hot water. The mop is very old and the pole comes out so you cant wring out the sponge, the lack of heat pump is adding to the dust and insects as we found ourselves with all the windows open on a hot night it soon became apparent why the floor had been littered with bugs and we spent the night in the dark so they didn't come in. The gardens are very overgrown with berry canes, we were unable to use the washing line as a result and I couldn't take my toddler out on the grass due to the length, cans etc and it also appeared that some of the berry canes had been put in soft drink bottles of roundup to kill them off, it would have been nice to be informed of this when my booking including two children. Finally the only contact I had from the owner was the booking confirmation from holiday houses, after reading the previous reviews I contacted to see if the issues had been sorted and asked for how to access the property, the only contact details given were a landline which I got no answer from, I would have expected an email or text with the lock box number. Luckily the cleaner had been in contact via her boss and I showed them booking confirmation, plus my husband fixed a leak under the sink for them as he happened to come up in his plumbing work van, the owner was aware of this and made no attempt to offer recompense for this or the presence of cockroaches and most likely mice. Overall we stuck with the property as we had family staying across the road and managed to have a good holiday but did give our belongings a good shake out when packing so we didn't bring any extra guests home.
Owner's reply
Karen
Stayed January 2019
Upon arrival at the house my immediate impression was that it was dirty. Everything had had a quick ineffective wipe over with a damp cloth. The place was full of dead flies, chocolate wrappers and dust. Skirting boards were filthy and the... Read more
Upon arrival at the house my immediate impression was that it was dirty. Everything had had a quick ineffective wipe over with a damp cloth. The place was full of dead flies, chocolate wrappers and dust. Skirting boards were filthy and the toilet floor not pleasant. The sink in the bathroom has major streaks of toothpaste and dried soap. I contacted the owner who claimed it was the previous renters who had not cleaned properly and being New Year the cleaner had not checked. In my opinion the cleaner is useless as this was not recent dirt but a long accumulation. Also outside very scruffy.
If you only need two bedrooms and can cope with some uncleanliness then it’s not a bad house. BUT if you need three bedrooms then go somewhere else. The bedroom downstairs is uninhabitable. Dirty, messy, cockroaches and mice. Mouse droppings in the drawers and cockroaches clearly visible.
There was a lack of cleaning products to clean with and the vacuum was stuffed full so ineffective. Plenty of plates etc in the kitchen but more pans would be useful.
House does have a great view and beds were okay. It’s a shame as this could be a lovely house with some care and attention.
Owner's reply
Aaron May
Stayed March 2018
Tidy home in a great central location. Thanks for making our stay so easy.
Tidy home in a great central location. Thanks for making our stay so easy.
Owner's reply
Lyndal Ludlow
Stayed January 2018
A great spot with a lovely view. House had everything we needed but wasn't as well cleaned as it could have been. Good communication and understanding from owner.
A great spot with a lovely view. House had everything we needed but wasn't as well cleaned as it could have been. Good communication and understanding from owner.
Owner's reply
Leighton Thomas
Stayed December 2017
I personally would not stay in this house again. It wasn't very clean when we arrived, the downstairs garage was a mess and had cockroaches throughout it. There were a few bits and pieces to the house that needed some housekeeping done,... Read more
I personally would not stay in this house again. It wasn't very clean when we arrived, the downstairs garage was a mess and had cockroaches throughout it. There were a few bits and pieces to the house that needed some housekeeping done, just to make it all that much better. I believe the price was about right, given the house is well maintained and in working order.
Owner's reply
shonpakeha
Stayed May 2016
Was most lovley place to stay the fire was perfect it was freezing in hamner but the log burner made it nice and hott I totally love the home and enjoyed my stay there had no issues and when I did need to ask questions I managed to get ahold... Read more
Was most lovley place to stay the fire was perfect it was freezing in hamner but the log burner made it nice and hott I totally love the home and enjoyed my stay there had no issues and when I did need to ask questions I managed to get ahold of the owners very easily. I will be recmending this lovely home to friends and family and will definitely be back to stay in the future.

Thank yous.
Owner's reply
miss Brooks
Stayed June 2013
My family and I stayed here 13/14 June. Hanmer is a lovely place to visit. We had a great time. This house provided all the basic requirements we needed for accommodation. We had a really enjoyable night using tbe games area playing table... Read more
Owner's reply
It is true we did have a problem with a mouse in the downstairs bedroom, at the beginning of winter this sometimes happens they try to get in the house to keep warm. We laid traps and managed to deal to this problem once we were aware of the... Read more
My family and I stayed here 13/14 June. Hanmer is a lovely place to visit. We had a great time. This house provided all the basic requirements we needed for accommodation. We had a really enjoyable night using tbe games area playing table tennis for 3.5hrs. We do however have a few suggestions to make the place a little more comfortable. The down stairs bedroom was smelly, covered in mouse poo even through the beds, so possibly a fumigation is needed.Also the double bed down there I think every spring is brocken. Maybe a new matress is in order. The dishwasher no matter wat we did would not wash and the taps in kitchen and laundry leek really bad, but that didn't effect our stay its just a suggestion. My only other comment is that the owners where really hard to gwt a hold of.Otherwise this place suited us well. And we would still recommend it.
Owner's reply
It is true we did have a problem with a mouse in the downstairs bedroom, at the beginning of winter this sometimes happens they try to get in the house to keep warm. We laid traps and managed to deal to this problem once we were aware of the problem . The bedding has been washed. The 2nd double bed has had the mattress replaced, the exisiting was new technology and a new mattress and doesnt win any votes, but has been replaced now so happy nights sleep for everyone. The dishwasher is out of order and we do not advertise that the home has a dishwasher. There is a do not use sorry out of order sticker on it. The washer has been replaced in the kitchen tap, we had to wait for the plumber to fix (out of our control). Before the start of these school holidays we put new blankets and heatters in all the bedrooms.We have had guests steal a new heatter, new continental quilts, a box quilt and new blankets. The next quests coming in had old blankets and we want to apologise to them for this, but the person responsible for taking the heatter and blankets well it is such a mean selfish thing to do. In the middle of winter. So very disappointing when we as owners try to keep the home to a reasonable standard and cost and we are trusting people in our home. We have a rough idea who it was as only 2 families stayed from when they were last noticed in the house to the time they went missing. To have guests decide not to keep bookings without letting us know shows how inconsiderate and selfish they are. We appreciate that if we are not at the phone when you try to ph the first time it may seem we are hard to get hold of, but we have 2 cell ph numbers, 2 landlines, a call answer service, 3 email address, a fax and a website where we can be contacted, how can it be said that we are really hard to get hold of.... Miss Brooks we appreciate that you say you would still recommend staying. We would be happy for you to stay again. Please understand that some of these comments are for the general public, not aimed at yourself. There are many guests who phone and tell us what a wonderful place we have and what a wonderful time they have had. we have our regular guests who come year after year and to those we say thank you. To those who leave our home clean and tidy, to those who sort there rubbish and use the bins properly, we say thank you.
donnahen
Stayed August 2012
we stayed in this house just before the people that had the long display of complaints , the house was clean and tidy and we left it this way ! plentey of firewood and kindley left after we left as we got the kids to stock the bin up b4 we... Read more
Owner's reply
thank you, we try to be realistic in our pricing. It actually costs a lot to keep the house running. We appreciate the effort you made in leaving the home clean and tidy.
we stayed in this house just before the people that had the long display of complaints , the house was clean and tidy and we left it this way ! plentey of firewood and kindley left after we left as we got the kids to stock the bin up b4 we left and then i checked it , yes there was no sky but that was a techenical problem that was out of the owner control , we had a lovely stay warm and tidy , especially since it was middle of winter and freezing ! would stay here again it is what we expected 4 the price !!! :)
Owner's reply
thank you, we try to be realistic in our pricing. It actually costs a lot to keep the house running. We appreciate the effort you made in leaving the home clean and tidy.
lillibet1
Stayed August 2012
If I had a complaint with the property I would have emailed or phoned owners about it, to give them a chance to rectify it, not made it public in the way the previous renter did. [A few cobwebs out of reach is nothing. They come back again... Read more
Owner's reply
Thank you, this is our holiday home which we really enjoy, I frequently update the decor and make sure that there is firewood in winter and do our best to ensure that our guests will enjoy their stay.
If I had a complaint with the property I would have emailed or phoned owners about it, to give them a chance to rectify it, not made it public in the way the previous renter did. [A few cobwebs out of reach is nothing. They come back again really fast anyway.] Perhaps they would have preferred a daily serviced unit. I had no problems in communicating with the owners who were very helpful & pleasant.
The property is what it says, a holiday home & was comfortable & warm, once the fire & heating got going. It is a holiday home in a freezing climate, so of course it takes an hour or so to warm up, but when it does, we were taking off gear as it was really hot. The hot water supply was fantastic & the firewood plentiful & dry. Beds comfortable & everything worked in the kitchen, once I realised the oven had inadvertantly been left on auto.
We had a great stay, out & about all the time, leaving fire well stoked, as we also did overnight. The house did not become cold at all once we got settled. We left the doors open to allow heat to move around, & kept heater running a fair bit in the downstairs bedroom. Turnrd it off at night, bought a hottie[about $6] for the child to use, but he chucked it out during the night, so must have been warm enough.
With children it is a great place as one does not want to be constantly on alert for damage to upmarket stuff. Does not add to relaxing.
Thank you for the opportunity to use this house.
Owner's reply
Thank you, this is our holiday home which we really enjoy, I frequently update the decor and make sure that there is firewood in winter and do our best to ensure that our guests will enjoy their stay.
lillibet1
Stayed July 2012
My stay was end of July, not August as it appears on my comment
My stay was end of July, not August as it appears on my comment
Owner's reply
Fliss & Co
Stayed July 2012
We would never stay in this holiday home ever. On arrival the house was dirty and cobwebs everywhere. We were unable to get any Sky TV channels, no kindling wood, and very little firewood supplied. They don't tell you the third bedroom is... Read more
Owner's reply
We replied to this guest as follows:

1. You did not telephone us at the time of your arrival to voice your concerns and give us an opportunity to rectify the situation. You elected to leave without any word to us... Read more
We would never stay in this holiday home ever. On arrival the house was dirty and cobwebs everywhere. We were unable to get any Sky TV channels, no kindling wood, and very little firewood supplied. They don't tell you the third bedroom is downstairs next to the garage and is cold and damp. There was a hole in the door and the bathroom was very dated and downright ugly. Beware the photos are misleading. The furniture is old and faded, couch has no padding and general appearance is dated and shabby. They have a cheek to advertise this as 4 star! I would not recommend this home - there are much nicer homes in Hanmer with all working facilities and more modern and homely. Don't bother with this one!!
Owner's reply
We replied to this guest as follows:

1. You did not telephone us at the time of your arrival to voice your concerns and give us an opportunity to rectify the situation. You elected to leave without any word to us or to Pam. Advising us by email after the fact gave us no recourse. We did not receive your email until the Saturday.

2. We had two groups phone asking to rent the house for that weekend but turned them both away because of your booking. They phoned on the Friday and Saturday. This is prime time, being a weekend during school holidays.

3. Your confrontational, threatening and bullying approach is unhelpful.

4. We rent the house to hundreds of people every year, many of whom return year after year. We seldom get a complaint. This is the first time in 20 years of owning this house and renting it as a holiday home that a guest has acted in the manner you have.

5. We delivered a cord of dry firewood to the house the day before your arrival. The previous guest told us that, as she had to leave early the next morning, she would cut kindling for the next guest that night.

6. The previous guest pointed out the Sky TV problems, which we attempted to resolve immediately. We ended up phoning Sky and running through various signal and satellite tests. Eventually they booked a technician for a site visit, but were unable to tell us exactly when the technician would get there, saying that he would be in the area the following Friday.

7. Hanmer has experienced some unusually cold frosts this winter and in fact a few weeks ago the underground water pipes to some houses, ours included, froze. Although this was inconvenient for guests, we worked in with them and it was not a 'show-stopper'. It puts your complaint regarding an icy driveway into perspective, we think. Also the second entrance via the Laundry is closer to the car park area and being covered does not have an icy problem. Had you phoned to discuss we would have made you aware of this.

8. The photographs on our website were taken recently and in no way misrepresent the house, layout, facilities or decor.

9. We inspected the property the day before your arrival and it was in a neat, clean and tidy state. A spot of dirt on the floor would hardly constitute a dirty house. The cobwebs in the garage are a problem the local pest contractor has recommended waiting until spring to spray the house.

10. Our tariff of up to $130 per night for up to 6 people indicates that this is a modest home and if you wanted an executive, up market, new home you would have seen that they are available at twice the rate for only 2 people and then start charging $50 - $60 per additional person.

11. Our conditions include a No Refund policy, which is on the holiday homes website.



In conclusion, we feel shocked by your allegations of uncleanliness and misrepresentation. Your threatening approach does little to invoke empathy. We have spoken to the previous guest who assures us she left the house in a clean condition with kindling and firewood stacked on the landing at the top of the stairs. We believe her. For these reasons we do not feel that a refund of your rental is warranted and therefore decline your request to do so. We are proud of our house. It is warm, respectably furnished, clean and well serviced. It is a holiday home, not a five-star motel. It is not the best house in the street, nor is it the worst. It is a comfortable retreat which the vast majority of guests appreciate and give good feedback on. In good faith however, appreciating that you felt it was unsuitable for your particular requirements, we offer you a $100 credit on a future booking (non-transferrable). We hope you will take the opportunity to enjoy the many positive aspects of the house - perhaps in the summer months.



Caroline202
Stayed April 2012
Great views and spacious, but house needs a thorough clean through and having no forewarning that the oven was not working was very inconvenient.
Owner's reply
We had only become aware that the oven wasnt working properly as our guests arrived, the microwave was working as were the elements and the grill, as to the cleaning our house is thoroughly cleaned every week. A few dishes left to dry in the... Read more
Great views and spacious, but house needs a thorough clean through and having no forewarning that the oven was not working was very inconvenient.
Owner's reply
We had only become aware that the oven wasnt working properly as our guests arrived, the microwave was working as were the elements and the grill, as to the cleaning our house is thoroughly cleaned every week. A few dishes left to dry in the dishrack hardly equates to a home in need of a thorough clean.
sscourfield
Stayed April 2011
Great place to stay - we were especially thankful for the log burner as we had snow overnight and it made it a cosy house! Very spacious house and great views. Only downside was TV did not have good reception - but did have dvd player for... Read more
Great place to stay - we were especially thankful for the log burner as we had snow overnight and it made it a cosy house! Very spacious house and great views. Only downside was TV did not have good reception - but did have dvd player for kids to watch dvd's - very minor though as busy out and about during day. Thank you - would book again if staying at Hanmer. Suzie :)
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make a booking Booking or Enquiry
Show the online booking process Hide the online booking process

How to book this house:

1
2
3
4

  • First name
    Surname
  • When are you going?
    This house is already booked during the dates you have entered.
  •  
     
  • How many people are going?
Close

Additional rates information

Extra Details

How to book this house:

1
2
3
4

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year.