BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 100NZD

This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

Cod Cottage Waterfront Akaroa Harbour

22 Onawe Flat Road, Duvauchelle, Christchurch
Ref #: 1871
Share
  • 3
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Description

waterfront cottage COD COTTAGE is a self contained kiwistyle basic bach and is the brown one in the photo, it is two bedroomed and ideal for 4 (but can sleep 6 if the pullout sofa is used) Sometimes available is also a selfcontained caravan next door (the green one in photo) which sleeps 4. So maximum if using both is 10.Please ask about "Penthouse" if interested Both have a large private lawn ...

Read more...

waterfront cottage COD COTTAGE is a self contained kiwistyle basic bach and is the brown one in the photo, it is two bedroomed and ideal for 4 (but can sleep 6 if the pullout sofa is used) Sometimes available is also a selfcontained caravan next door (the green one in photo) which sleeps 4. So maximum if using both is 10.Please ask about "Penthouse" if interested Both have a large private lawn and garden with safe swimming shell beach right at front door. locations like this are rarely available. kayaks, dinghy and bikes are sometimes available to borrow, there is a BBQ available but we recommend you bring your own hotplate liner ( handy reusable ones are available from the Warehouse) as not everyone's standard of cleanliness is the same.

Penthouse caravan was originally built by CI Munro caravans for permanent living it is ideal for 2 but can sleep 4 using pullout sofa. Renting this too when available may be an ideal option for large families or friends wanting to holiday together, but still be private and selfcontained for a great summer holiday right on the seafront. Please ask if you need a cot or highchair.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

currently all year round. Over summer holiday period priority is given to bookings of a week or more at a flat rate of $150 pn in Cod for up to 4 people Long holiday weekends minimum of 3 nights at a Flat rate $150 for up to 4 and for EASTER break thurs -Sun nights @ $150pn for up to 4. Please advise when booking Cod if you are interested in using the Penthouse caravan as well and ask for a quote. Please check your spam folder as our replies sometimes have attachments and can end up there.

Rates
All year
$100.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Cottages are let on an 'as is' basis. Linen can sometimes be hired at $20 per person, most folk prefer to bring their own. Pillows, duvets and blankets are supplied. Cod has Freeview TV Free WIFI at local Hotel and store/cafe. Long weekends such as Easter, Labour weekend etc must be booked, entire, we do not break them up.

Need extra space for family or friends?

We have a small selfcontained one bedroomed caravan "Penthouse" sited next door to Cod that may be available to rent at reasonable rates. Ideal for families holidaying together but still wanting their own space and privacy. Please enquire if interested.

Available all year

Free bikes,boats please ask if wanted

At own risk when available. Conditions apply

Available all year

Reviews (18 Reviews)
Richard Anderson
Stayed March 2018
As described on it’s web site, a very, very basic kiwi batch. A sound knowledge about, or experience of living in the style of “fifties NZ) batch dwellings would be a real advantage. Being located against the bush line you could expect there... Read more
As described on it’s web site, a very, very basic kiwi batch. A sound knowledge about, or experience of living in the style of “fifties NZ) batch dwellings would be a real advantage. Being located against the bush line you could expect there to be some unwelcome night visitors but with the right attitude................Location is good for exploring the area or going into Akaroa and the shop and other facilities were handy. We enjoyed fine and warm weather and so were able to deal with Cod Cottage’s limitations.
Owner's reply
RosyT
Stayed February 2018
What a magic lovely place to stay - perfect weekend and really enjoyed getting out in the Kayak, biking and relaxing- thank you for the opportunity to stay :) Someone had the best birthday ...
Owner's reply
Wonderful, I am so glad you enjoyed it and thanks for leaving it as you found it but you could have kept the Birthday rose, I picked it for you!!!!
What a magic lovely place to stay - perfect weekend and really enjoyed getting out in the Kayak, biking and relaxing- thank you for the opportunity to stay :) Someone had the best birthday ...
Owner's reply
Wonderful, I am so glad you enjoyed it and thanks for leaving it as you found it but you could have kept the Birthday rose, I picked it for you!!!!
graeme52
Stayed February 2018
We had a Fantastic stay at Cod Cottage very relaxing. Been working all year and through Xmas it was so good to lax out, the cottage had all we needed. Bev and Chas were such a nice couple.
Owner's reply
Lovely to have such nice people stay and thanks for leaving it so tidy!!!!
We had a Fantastic stay at Cod Cottage very relaxing. Been working all year and through Xmas it was so good to lax out, the cottage had all we needed. Bev and Chas were such a nice couple.
Owner's reply
Lovely to have such nice people stay and thanks for leaving it so tidy!!!!
Karen Spackman
Stayed December 2017
Great spot, but the house could do with a spring clean.
Owner's reply
Not easy to do over the busy Christmas few days when you and your doggie visited, but we do the best we can!!!
Great spot, but the house could do with a spring clean.
Owner's reply
Not easy to do over the busy Christmas few days when you and your doggie visited, but we do the best we can!!!
Glenda&Dean
Stayed November 2017
We had an amazing time there, very quiet and relaxing. Definitely will return.
Owner's reply
And we would love to have you return you left it so beautifully I hardly knew you had been there!! Thankyou so much!!!
We had an amazing time there, very quiet and relaxing. Definitely will return.
Owner's reply
And we would love to have you return you left it so beautifully I hardly knew you had been there!! Thankyou so much!!!
Kehko
Stayed May 2017
We stayed for two nights at this wee cottage and really enjoyed our stay. Just a shame that it was a bit too cold to sit outside at night time but we enjoyed the view through the window. Thank you so much for having us stay, we will be back... Read more
We stayed for two nights at this wee cottage and really enjoyed our stay. Just a shame that it was a bit too cold to sit outside at night time but we enjoyed the view through the window. Thank you so much for having us stay, we will be back next time we go to Banks peninsula!
Owner's reply
Takerei
Stayed March 2017
Unfortunately not a great stay.
Musty and smelly from wet oustside carpet. We stayed only 1 night out of 2. would not stay here again.
Owner's reply
"After careful observations we have noted a certain smell following rain around the cottage. This does not necessarily have anything to do with the weed control matting in place, it seems to come from underneath patches of native bush on... Read more
Unfortunately not a great stay.
Musty and smelly from wet oustside carpet. We stayed only 1 night out of 2. would not stay here again.
Owner's reply
"After careful observations we have noted a certain smell following rain around the cottage. This does not necessarily have anything to do with the weed control matting in place, it seems to come from underneath patches of native bush on the property beside and behind Cod Cottage and there are also "sea smells" sometimes coming from seaweed washed up on the beach following a storm. Most people do not find these bush and sea smells offensive and we have no intention of cutting down the bush, so if you are reading this and are not into NZ native bush and sea smells we respectfully ask that you perhaps might be better to consider booking a pristine sanitized apartment on the Gold Coast. We hate traffic fumes when we have to stay in the city but we don't ask for our money back if a truck or bus goes past our motel, we accept things as they are."
pault64
Stayed March 2017
my partner and I had a brilliant 2 nights at cod cottage, good fridge and cooking facilities and very peaceful and relaxing , would stay here again
my partner and I had a brilliant 2 nights at cod cottage, good fridge and cooking facilities and very peaceful and relaxing , would stay here again
Owner's reply
And we would love to have you back! Thankyou for leaving it so clean and tidy!!!
Richard26
Stayed February 2017
Stayed in Feb and was not great , very smelly and musty inside and out , ( from rotten carpet) stayed 0 nights out of 6 and we got no refund , very disappointing .
Owner's reply
You are being vindictive and holiday houses have been notified of this. I have information to prove this. Should you wish to lodge a complaint with the disputes tribunal, I would be pleased to see you there.
Stayed in Feb and was not great , very smelly and musty inside and out , ( from rotten carpet) stayed 0 nights out of 6 and we got no refund , very disappointing .
Owner's reply
You are being vindictive and holiday houses have been notified of this. I have information to prove this. Should you wish to lodge a complaint with the disputes tribunal, I would be pleased to see you there.
Dawn Leilani
Stayed February 2017
This Kiwi Bach was perfect for my husband and myself. It was a great location to explore Akaroa and we especially liked the close proximity to the Paa just at the end of the road which we hiked several times. The view from the top was... Read more
Owner's reply
Likewise was a pleasure meeting you both too and having you stay. Would love to be able to visit your island home of Hawaii but sadly I fear our days of complicated travel to America are over. We like to keep things simple!!!
This Kiwi Bach was perfect for my husband and myself. It was a great location to explore Akaroa and we especially liked the close proximity to the Paa just at the end of the road which we hiked several times. The view from the top was amazing. The neighborhood was quiet and we loved sitting out on the deck in the evening overlooking the bay. Loved the big front yard! Felt like we had room to breathe..... Not over run with tourism. The Bach itself was simple, basic and clean and met our needs. We spent most of our days exploring so did not want to spend a lot on the rental. Beverly was friendly and kind helping with any information we needed especially when it came to gathering information on my ancestry there. Thank you Beverly, it was a pleasure meeting you and we enjoyed our stay very much.
Owner's reply
Likewise was a pleasure meeting you both too and having you stay. Would love to be able to visit your island home of Hawaii but sadly I fear our days of complicated travel to America are over. We like to keep things simple!!!
LHodder
Stayed February 2017
This is the quintessential seaside kiwi bach, it has everything you need for a comfortable stay in some of the most picturesque surroundings on the peninsular.
My family and friends had an amazing long weekend enjoying the bay all it has to... Read more
Owner's reply
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and for leaving it so nice and tidy after your Queen's Birthday weekend stay You are just the sort of folk we love to welcome back!
This is the quintessential seaside kiwi bach, it has everything you need for a comfortable stay in some of the most picturesque surroundings on the peninsular.
My family and friends had an amazing long weekend enjoying the bay all it has to offer, from dining out, fishing, jet skiing, swimming and paddle boarding. The options are endless.
Cod cottage is the perfect place for young and old as it is located in a safe, quiet section of the bay allowing kids the freedom to explore and have the independence of adventure that is often restricted in today's day and age. This holiday home is in the perfect spot and will let you get back to basics and enjoy a relaxing break.
We will most definitely be returning and so will a number of our friends and family that we have raved to about this amazing slice of kiwi paradise.
Owner's reply
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and for leaving it so nice and tidy after your Queen's Birthday weekend stay You are just the sort of folk we love to welcome back!
Kiwipaga
Stayed February 2017
Disappointed, Very musty, affected my throat, good fridge, washer, microwave, brilliant gas top cooker & oven. cooking surfaces clean as per hand basin and in toiled, shower. back of toilet and floor not so good, no hand rails or hooks to... Read more
Owner's reply
Sad to read this, and the last time I will leave flowers in the cottage to welcome guests!!!
There was no way the smell was from musty! Our summer northerly temperatures will not allow 'damp, musty or moldy' as the... Read more
Disappointed, Very musty, affected my throat, good fridge, washer, microwave, brilliant gas top cooker & oven. cooking surfaces clean as per hand basin and in toiled, shower. back of toilet and floor not so good, no hand rails or hooks to keep clothes etc off floor. windows very dirty, curtains moldy. M/ bedroom very very dusty and bar heater was so dusty could be a fire hazard. Stayed only 1 night out of 3 booked. Informed owner of problems and no response at all regards this or refund... A bit of TLC and property could be back to wonderful place to stay as surrounds and aspect are great.
Owner's reply
Sad to read this, and the last time I will leave flowers in the cottage to welcome guests!!!
There was no way the smell was from musty! Our summer northerly temperatures will not allow 'damp, musty or moldy' as the recent Port hills fires confirm. Unfortunately though open doors and constant northerlies can cause dusty surfaces and windows but we do advise all people who inquire that this is NOT like a serviced motel but is a "basic kiwi bach let on an as is where is basis" relying heavily on folk "leaving as they find".
Guests are also given the option of requesting a cleaner for an additional fee but in nearly 20 years only one has ever asked for that and 99% of guests accept very happily what we can offer,
This is a great place for a no fuss family holiday in the tradition of a good old fashioned kiwi summer seaside bach.
We have always made it perfectly clear both on the website and in additional info ALWAYS emailed to prospective guests to read just what they are booking.
They are also told that by paying a deposit they have acknowledged that they HAVE read and ACCEPTED the conditions spelled out to them, including the refund policy If in fact they have NOT read information sent properly, we can not be held responsible
If 'a Basic Kiwi Bach on an as is where is' basis does not suit you, please do not book it and prevent other people enjoying the unique environment, peace and wildlife.
Farmer1049
Stayed February 2015
A really nice spot overlooking the water. It is a proper kiwi bach and so fairly basic but that is what we wanted and we really enjoyed our stay.
Was a great place to stay and explore the area. Had a nice lunch in Akaroa, (fish and chips on... Read more
Owner's reply
Yes, a real no fuss relaxed holiday kiwi batch it is meant to be, but guess what arrived last week!? Watch this space for a 12 meter long kauri ex pilot boat that will be a welcome addition to the facilities available at Cod. Kids will love... Read more
A really nice spot overlooking the water. It is a proper kiwi bach and so fairly basic but that is what we wanted and we really enjoyed our stay.
Was a great place to stay and explore the area. Had a nice lunch in Akaroa, (fish and chips on the wharf), went to the Okains Bay Maori & Colonial Museum, very good.
Owner's reply
Yes, a real no fuss relaxed holiday kiwi batch it is meant to be, but guess what arrived last week!? Watch this space for a 12 meter long kauri ex pilot boat that will be a welcome addition to the facilities available at Cod. Kids will love it!!!!
kiwiamanda
Stayed October 2013
Hi, i just so happened to look at your accommodation & was reading posts on here. Sad to read about Winnie & Moses & also quite delightful for me to read about them. I am sure these guys originally belonged to my nana Beverley, as... Read more
Owner's reply
That is just amazing you found this. So heart warming too as you may or may not be aware I kept in touch with your Granddad to let him know they were very much loved and OK and promised I would spin and knit him a jersy out of Moses'... Read more
Hi, i just so happened to look at your accommodation & was reading posts on here. Sad to read about Winnie & Moses & also quite delightful for me to read about them. I am sure these guys originally belonged to my nana Beverley, as there can't be too many with the same names. They were given away after she passed. I always did wonder where they ended up.....looks like it was a great spot:)
Owner's reply
That is just amazing you found this. So heart warming too as you may or may not be aware I kept in touch with your Granddad to let him know they were very much loved and OK and promised I would spin and knit him a jersy out of Moses' wool, but sadly your Granddad passed over before I could fulfill my promise, but he knew they were happy and I know he was counting the days till he could be reunited with his wife. Winnie and Moses lived on for a few more years and both lit
literally died in my arms of old age
jeremycosteloe
Stayed March 2013
A beautiful spot overlooking the water. It is a proper kiwi bach and so fairly basic but that is what we wanted and we all really enjoyed our stay.
Kids loved the big flat lawn to play on and it was a quiet peaceful spot to spend a couple of... Read more
A beautiful spot overlooking the water. It is a proper kiwi bach and so fairly basic but that is what we wanted and we all really enjoyed our stay.
Kids loved the big flat lawn to play on and it was a quiet peaceful spot to spend a couple of days.
The shop/bar round the corner was excellent doing everything from coffee to fish and chips and we had an great meal in Akaroa one night too.
Owner's reply
rossvick
Stayed March 2013
Lovely spot - but the place was dirty when we arrived. Dog hair on the carpet, Defrosted food in the fridge, filthy microwave, dirty dishes in the sink, pot on the stove, rubbish bags at the front door. The owner was away and explained that... Read more
Owner's reply
I am shattered that this renter has seen fit to take this public. Her booking of the "Penthouse" cabin next door to Cod should have been an enjoyable experience and I was as upset as her when I discovered it had not been cleaned... Read more
Lovely spot - but the place was dirty when we arrived. Dog hair on the carpet, Defrosted food in the fridge, filthy microwave, dirty dishes in the sink, pot on the stove, rubbish bags at the front door. The owner was away and explained that her cleaner had let her down. We had to clean to the place before we could use it and there was no offer of any discount (we had paid in advance). We stayed 2 nights and the experience soured our stay. We were nto treated fairly and i would not stay there again on that basis - I don't go away for the weekend and arrive somewhere expecting to clean up someone elses living dirt.
Owner's reply
I am shattered that this renter has seen fit to take this public. Her booking of the "Penthouse" cabin next door to Cod should have been an enjoyable experience and I was as upset as her when I discovered it had not been cleaned. Sadly this was totally beyond our control as the poor woman that I had asked to check the cottage had just lost absolutely everything when her home was burnt to the ground then hurt her back and the doctor put her on bed rest in agony. I can understand how she forgot to tell me she was unable to do the cottage as she had been through an awful experience. I fully understand this renters annoyance, but wish she had discussed this with me if she felt she was owed compensation and we hope we have taken the right steps to ensure this does not happen again.
vrenwick
Stayed April 2010
My husband and I spent three absolutely fantastic nights in the Penthouse last week. We originally enquired about Cod cottage, but as this was booked we stayed in the Penthouse. What a gorgeous property this is, being right on the waterfront,... Read more
My husband and I spent three absolutely fantastic nights in the Penthouse last week. We originally enquired about Cod cottage, but as this was booked we stayed in the Penthouse. What a gorgeous property this is, being right on the waterfront, and so much to offer to not only couples, but families also. Although it was only the two of us this time, we are looking forward to being able to take my 12 year old son there, as he will love the choices of stuff he can do.
It had a greatly equipped gamesroom where we spent a few hilarious hours. We were also lucky enough to take the dinghy out and drop a line over. The owners of this property are very generous as we were also able to take their bikes out for a ride around the seafront.
All around it was an idyllic place to be, and we were kept entertained also by all the birdlife (including a couple of rather large geese).
We would definitely recommend this property and arereally looking forward to going back sometime real soon.
Thank you so much.
Owner's reply
R.J.Wilton
Stayed January 2009
Thank you so much for sharing ur slice of paradise, The kids and us had a fantastic time, very apprieciated the cheap fare,as often enough on holiday the accomadation is only half ur spending! All the added extras U provide make it so... Read more
Thank you so much for sharing ur slice of paradise, The kids and us had a fantastic time, very apprieciated the cheap fare,as often enough on holiday the accomadation is only half ur spending! All the added extras U provide make it so affordable, the kids are proud as punch now they know how to sail now! and we even caught a fish taking the dinghey out.(free tea!) The wild life are a real delight,Ur history novel of Onawe eye opening-Thankyou, comfortable, clean, privacy 5 stars! we will be back! R Wilton.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 100NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

currently all year round. Over summer holiday period priority is given to bookings of a week or more at a flat rate of $150 pn in Cod for up to 4 people Long holiday weekends minimum of 3 nights at a Flat rate $150 for up to 4 and for EASTER break thurs -Sun nights @ $150pn for up to 4. Please advise when booking Cod if you are interested in using the Penthouse caravan as well and ask for a quote. Please check your spam folder as our replies sometimes have attachments and can end up there.