BOOKING
Check-in
Check-out
This includes booked dates.
Guests
From
$ 100NZD

Please note this price may be subject to additional charges, such as linen and cleaning fees.

Read additional rates information
Enquire
Close

Additional rates information

Clarks Cottage

1351 Coast Rd, Karitane
Ref #: 17479
Share
  • 4
  • 10
  • 4
  • 1.5
Description

The cottage is a refurbished Bungalow with wrap around veranda providing views to the water along with a 50m2 deck accessed through French Doors to the rear. Lots of room in the large attached garage. 4 double bedrooms and large kitchen dining room with effective log burner.

Read more...

The cottage is a refurbished Bungalow with wrap around veranda providing views to the water along with a 50m2 deck accessed through French Doors to the rear. Lots of room in the large attached garage. 4 double bedrooms and large kitchen dining room with effective log burner.

Hide...
Key Features & Amenities
  • Linen not provided
  • Disabled access: please enquire
  • Children welcome
  • No smoking
  • No pets
  • Bath
  • BBQ
  • Boat parking
  • Cellphone coverage
  • Cleaning equipment
  • Cleaning supplies
  • Clothes line
  • Dryer
  • DVD
  • Fire place
  • Fire wood supplied
  • Freezer
  • Fridge/Freezer
  • Garage
  • Laundry Tub
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor furniture
  • Oven
  • Shower
  • Tea, coffee, sugar etc
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Washing Machine
  • Cottage
  • Kitchen
Bed layout: 2 Queen(s), 4 Single(s), 1 Bunk(s)
Special amenities:

The home enjoys a great view across the spit down Waikouaiti Beach and the Matanaka Headland. The very safe Karitane beach is a 5 Minute walk and beyond that you can walk the headland 45min or head south down the beach. On the way to the beach you will pass through the harbour area and picnic grounds. Karitane has a special flavour and I doubt anyone would leave here without being effected.

Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year.

Rates & Specials
1 May-30 Oct
$100.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
1 Nov-30 Apr
$120.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$120.00/Night for 2 guests
$15.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Maximum of $240/night Cleaning bond required. School holidays peak rates will apply. Bookings for a minimum of two nights except peak periods where preference will be given to bookings 5 days or more.

Reviews (12 Comments)
Brent R
Stayed June 2013
Great place for a group of friends at a reasonable outlay. The place was very warm and comfortable throughout, in cool weather. Fishing gods were kind to us. The estuary launch ramp gives you a couple of hours either side of high tide. The... Read more
Great place for a group of friends at a reasonable outlay. The place was very warm and comfortable throughout, in cool weather. Fishing gods were kind to us. The estuary launch ramp gives you a couple of hours either side of high tide. The peninsula walk was fascinating, twice. Thanks Clarks.
Owner's reply
c.d.baker
Stayed November 2011
had a fantastic stay here , plenty of room, lovely views. shower could do with a boost but all in all very happy.
had a fantastic stay here , plenty of room, lovely views. shower could do with a boost but all in all very happy.
Owner's reply
Goose
Stayed September 2011
What a great place to stay.. We had 2 nights.. Big rugby game .. in the city. room for all. Great fire, and big kitchen. 8 of us. Just lovely. thanks Tony,,
What a great place to stay.. We had 2 nights.. Big rugby game .. in the city. room for all. Great fire, and big kitchen. 8 of us. Just lovely. thanks Tony,,
Owner's reply
gregc5
Stayed July 2011
Lovely place to stay with a beautiful view. The house accommodated the 6 of us with room to spare. A fantastic fire which kept us very warm :-) and everything we needed for a very relaxing stay.
Lovely place to stay with a beautiful view. The house accommodated the 6 of us with room to spare. A fantastic fire which kept us very warm :-) and everything we needed for a very relaxing stay.
Owner's reply
Gowsa
Stayed March 2011
Cheers Tony , had a wedding up the road and this was ideal for us , great views and close to the beach , nice touch with the BBQ out on the deck, would recommend to anyone.
Cheers Tony , had a wedding up the road and this was ideal for us , great views and close to the beach , nice touch with the BBQ out on the deck, would recommend to anyone.
Owner's reply
bevclark
Stayed January 2011
Ten adults had the most amazing weekend in this cottage. It provided a cosy lounge for all of us to relax in when the weather closed in. The kitchen was open and spacious so we were not tripping over each other and when the sun shone the deck... Read more
Ten adults had the most amazing weekend in this cottage. It provided a cosy lounge for all of us to relax in when the weather closed in. The kitchen was open and spacious so we were not tripping over each other and when the sun shone the deck was the place to be where we relaxed with our books. The sea air made us sleep like logs in the comfy beds and we couldn't have asked for a better place to be. Thank you Tony for the opportunity to enjoy your cottage. We'll be back. Bev and the Gang
Owner's reply
Oscy
Stayed January 2011
Had the best holiday ever. Certainly enough space for the ten of us. Views to die for and perfect for us as 5 mins from family who live in Karitane. Log fire kept us warm nicely on a couple of cold days. However some of the beds were not... Read more
Had the best holiday ever. Certainly enough space for the ten of us. Views to die for and perfect for us as 5 mins from family who live in Karitane. Log fire kept us warm nicely on a couple of cold days. However some of the beds were not comfortable and I felt the bunk bed was quite dangerous so i ended up putting my youngest daughter on a mattress on the floor, and some of the appliances require attention - oven, jug and dryer.
Owner's reply
jodievs
Stayed December 2010
Loved the stay here and would gladly come back again. The view was amazing and just a short walk to the beach. Loved the decent sized living area. Very relaxing and quiet.
Loved the stay here and would gladly come back again. The view was amazing and just a short walk to the beach. Loved the decent sized living area. Very relaxing and quiet.
Owner's reply
millera
Stayed December 2010
Do NOT rent this place! It says it has been renovated but 3 out of 4 bedrooms have not been done and are old and musty after having a leaking roof. The bedding was disgusting and the kettle stank and had never been washed (we boiled water in... Read more
Owner's reply
Mr Miller proved to be the worst possible visitor expecting a palace and forgetting he was renting a 90 year old cottage. He is the only previous person to complain which I think was to deflect attention from his damage to the door which was... Read more
Do NOT rent this place! It says it has been renovated but 3 out of 4 bedrooms have not been done and are old and musty after having a leaking roof. The bedding was disgusting and the kettle stank and had never been washed (we boiled water in a pan!).
Don't expect reading lights in the bedrooms, light shades on bare bulbs or utensils in the kitchen for that matter.
Added bonus of doors falling off their hinges!
The owner called us "whinging Poms" and told our 75 year old parents and our under 4 kids to 'toughen up'! Thanks for trying hard to ruin our holiday!"
Owner's reply
Mr Miller proved to be the worst possible visitor expecting a palace and forgetting he was renting a 90 year old cottage. He is the only previous person to complain which I think was to deflect attention from his damage to the door which was fine like the rest of the house when we stayed their two days before . I explained to him that the water is fine and different because it is not treated. His comments are a personal attck against me I suppose because I called him a whinging pom.
Lynn Ferris
Stayed February 2010
We often just go racing past Karitene but what a fabulous spot we have missed out on over the years! Great house, very comfortable, and lovely views. Owner followed up to ensure their were no problems with our stay. Would definitely come back... Read more
We often just go racing past Karitene but what a fabulous spot we have missed out on over the years! Great house, very comfortable, and lovely views. Owner followed up to ensure their were no problems with our stay. Would definitely come back again.
Owner's reply
Seaoh
Stayed January 2010
Thanks Tony Great location and views. Super living space and decks. Log fire was great on the one cool night we had. Enjoyed the walks on the beach and the daily Peninsular walk. The renovations are making a huge difference.
Thanks Tony Great location and views. Super living space and decks. Log fire was great on the one cool night we had. Enjoyed the walks on the beach and the daily Peninsular walk. The renovations are making a huge difference.
Owner's reply
Highlander
Stayed January 2010
6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids) stayed here over New Year 2011. Cottage is ideally located close to estuary and a short walk to the beach. Great views. Plenty of space. Renovations under way can only improve the appeal of this home. This is... Read more
6 of us (4 adults and 2 kids) stayed here over New Year 2011. Cottage is ideally located close to estuary and a short walk to the beach. Great views. Plenty of space. Renovations under way can only improve the appeal of this home. This is a holiday destination we'd certainly use again.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Add a comment
Nearby attractions & activities

The estuary below the house has a multitude of birdlife and the occasional playful seal so bring binoculars. The headland walk covers the ground occupied by an historic Pa and history of sealers and whalers. Kayaks can be hired in the harbour with excursions up the estuary or out to sea for the brave. If you have a boat the fishing is great and there are boat charters available as well. The best is the soft sand beaches and gentle waves of Karitane beach which is very safe. There is a 4 Square shop 400m from the bach for essentials and ice creams for the kids.

Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • Please confirm you are a human

Contact details

View contact details

Contact details

Ask for Tony

Please mention HolidayHouses.co.nz

Mobile phone: 021 2219808

Best contact time: anytime is fine

View contact details

Contact details

Ask for Tony

Please mention HolidayHouses.co.nz

Mobile phone
021 2219808

Best contact time
anytime is fine

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available all year.