Close

Additional rates information

Waimarama Cottages - No. 1

60 Okaihau Road, Waimarama
Ref #: 15328
Share
  • 4
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
Description

Self-catering cottage with amazing views from every living space, located in the foothills of Waimarama beach (2 mins drive to beach). Plenty of grass for the kids to play. Open plan living area with large bi-fold doors through to the deck. One of three cottages on a shared driveway with private owner and family who live next to the cottages.

*Please note online bookings are no longer accepted ...

Read more...

Self-catering cottage with amazing views from every living space, located in the foothills of Waimarama beach (2 mins drive to beach). Plenty of grass for the kids to play. Open plan living area with large bi-fold doors through to the deck. One of three cottages on a shared driveway with private owner and family who live next to the cottages.

*Please note online bookings are no longer accepted from this site - you can make an online booking on the book a bach website - this listing will be deleted after the last booked person has stayed in April 2018*

COTTAGE #1
Cottages are 15 years old and have your standard appointments for self-catering - master bed is firm (new Ecosa latex).

LOCATION
Rural/farm setting on a hill used for exercise by many. Walking to village could be a challenge for young children (steep). No WiFi due to inconsistent supply from providers, however your mobile data coverage for Vodafone & Spark is good. Plenty of rural / beach recreation, and we recommend you bring what you need to enjoy your holiday in any weather (TV's have USB & HDMI input).

We fumigate regularly but you may still see the odd insect due to location - if you could not tolerate this we suggest booking elsewhere.

***
Please enquire for multiple cottage bookings. We also offer special rates on stays of 5 nights or longer. More details on appointments and housekeeping will be provided upon enquiry / booking.

Although this is not full-service, luxury accommodation (which is reflected in our rates), we have had hundreds of satisfied guests over the years.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available from Labour weekend through to Easter

Rates
9 Jan-7 Feb
$220.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
30 Mar-3 Apr
$205.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
18 Oct-22 Oct
$205.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
20 Dec-8 Jan
$235.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
5 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$195.00/Night for 2 guests
$20.00 per extra guest
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Special rates for stays longer than 5 days during peak / holiday seasons, or 10 days during the rest of the year.
Children up to 16 yrs are $10 extra per night. If you are bringing a portacot for a toddler the toddler will cost $5 extra per night. Tents for extra guests are not permitted.

Payment, cancellation and refund policy:
1. 50% deposit of total booking fee required to secure booking. Payments from overseas must add NZ$20 to the deposit to cover our bank fees, plus any other fees that your own bank charges must be covered by you.
2. Where cancellation is made 30 days prior to arrival date, a refund of deposit less a $20 administration fee will be paid.
3. Where cancellation is made 7 - 29 days prior to arrival, a refund of half of deposit (i.e. 25% of total fee) will be paid.
4. Where cancellation is made 6 days prior to arrival or later, no refund will be paid.
5. Where bookings are amended to reduce days booked, the above policies will apply to the days cancelled.

Reviews (8 Reviews)
Beachsider
Stayed January 2017
This property is ill cared for and not what we expected for the cost. There were live cockroaches, stained carpet, blocked shower, no toilet paper, lights didn't go, curtain fell out of track, uncomfortable furniture and beds and the... Read more
Owner's reply
Hi "Beachsider".
We’re really sorry that you had such a terrible experience staying our cottage. We’re not sure who you are, when you stayed or even which cottage you stayed in since anyone can post feedback here. We... Read more
This property is ill cared for and not what we expected for the cost. There were live cockroaches, stained carpet, blocked shower, no toilet paper, lights didn't go, curtain fell out of track, uncomfortable furniture and beds and the pillows were thin as cardboard. Overall not as it is portrayed in the ad/pics...a real shame as it is an amazing location. We have a bach ourselves and would never offer it to anyone in this condition!! Overpriced for the location and property.
Owner's reply
Hi "Beachsider".
We’re really sorry that you had such a terrible experience staying our cottage. We’re not sure who you are, when you stayed or even which cottage you stayed in since anyone can post feedback here. We would have loved to have had the opportunity to sort these out with you when you were here and if we couldn’t sort things out to your satisfaction offer some kind of refund because we aren’t unreasonable and the last thing we want is for people to have a bad experience when they are holidaying in our slice of paradise (Waimarama). Instead we will have to try and address your issues in the way in which they've been presented to us.
The cost of our cottages is comparable to other properties of the same manner with the same views, same offerings and in fact this year was the first time we've increased our prices in 10 years.
We accept there are a few stains on the carpet which is 10 yrs old and used 6 weeks of the year. We are planning to replace the carpet this year not because it’s due but because of the stains (not as many as you make it sound), to industrial carpet rather than the nice wool sisal we currently have to mitigate the effects of guests’ spillage.
If you had raised the issues like the shower, curtain track, light bulbs, pillows, toilet paper we would have addressed those immediately. As we never occupy the cottages ourselves, we rely on guests to tell us if things are broken or not working properly, but it seems we need to add an extra series of checks between stays to ensure things are all working correctly.
All the furniture in all cottages with the exception the queen bed in # 1 and brown sofa’s were quality items purchased from Harvey Norman and due to the fact the cottages are usually empty they’ve only really had 2 years of use. The mattress in #1 probably could be replaced and yes it seems some of the pillows have lost their loft. The brown sofas were our lesson in online shopping i.e. never do it if you want quality. They are not as comfy as we would like and impossible to keep clean but were added for when groups booked out multiple cottages and wanted extra seating. We’re sorry you were so uncomfortable on the furniture.
As our cottages are on our rural property, plonked right in the middle of the natural habitat of hundreds of insects, birds, and other small animals, it is near impossible to keep all insects 100% out of sight. We fumigate right before the season and in the off-season. We’re sorry that this made your stay uncomfortable – we may suggest in our ad that people who don’t want to see anything like this would be more comfortable where there is a little more population and concrete which there isn’t much of in Waimarama, particularly that comes with a view unless you’re willing to pay double what we charge.
As for the ad and photo’s not portraying what is offered, we will have to disagree with you there. Most of those photos were taken 4 months ago and if you can show me something in the ad that is untrue we will happily reword as we are not setting out to mislead anyone.
We appreciate your feedback and again apologise that your stay was so unpleasant. Please feel free to contact us via our contact details when you booked if you’d like to discuss further any of this.
Sincerely, Bayden & Myra Barber.
michelle10
Stayed February 2013
Awesome stay, cottage was family friendly, clean and had amazing views. Room for the kids to run around, owner was very friendly and welcoming. Thanks so much we will be back again
Awesome stay, cottage was family friendly, clean and had amazing views. Room for the kids to run around, owner was very friendly and welcoming. Thanks so much we will be back again
Owner's reply
lisabaines
Stayed January 2013
My partner and I stayed at these houses over Wellington Anniversary weekend last month and had the most amazing stay. The unit was just what we wanted with amazing views and all the items you would need including cutlery, tv, freeview, etc... Read more
My partner and I stayed at these houses over Wellington Anniversary weekend last month and had the most amazing stay. The unit was just what we wanted with amazing views and all the items you would need including cutlery, tv, freeview, etc. We even had cellphone coverage out there with Telecom and Vodafone. :)
The bedroom had the most comfortable queen size bed with this comfy foam topper on the bed. The linen was all provided and was clean.
There is even a washing machine to use.
The views from the property were amazing and we even had a chance to pat the nice two horses that kept popping their heads over the fence to say hi to us.
So nice to just relax on the deck enjoying the sun or take a stroll up the hill or down into the village and to the beach.
Recommended to all.
Owner's reply
myra23
Stayed January 2013
Spectacular views over all of waimarama. Just beautiful.

Loved that we could retreat to this peaceful setting after spending time in the crowds at the beach.

Nice and clean, everything just as we wanted. We are definitely coming back... Read more
Spectacular views over all of waimarama. Just beautiful.

Loved that we could retreat to this peaceful setting after spending time in the crowds at the beach.

Nice and clean, everything just as we wanted. We are definitely coming back again!
Owner's reply
wilkinson73
Stayed December 2012
The cottages were just ideal for us as we were three famlies wanting to stay together.

The views over Waimarama beach were amazing. The units had everything we needed and we really enjoyed our stay.

We're already planning to come... Read more
The cottages were just ideal for us as we were three famlies wanting to stay together.

The views over Waimarama beach were amazing. The units had everything we needed and we really enjoyed our stay.

We're already planning to come back next year.
Owner's reply
jaxz1
Stayed January 2010
Unfortunately not what we expected... unclean, poorly maintained unit. The shower was filthy upon arrival.Cleaning supplies consist of bucket, squeegie and broom only. We spent $25 at the local store so we could clean before settling in... Read more
Owner's reply
Kia Ora John & Jaki

I appreciate your feedback & would like to acknowledge your disgruntled comments.
Firstly I am sadden to hear of your disappointment especially relating to the cleanliness. Im... Read more
Unfortunately not what we expected... unclean, poorly maintained unit. The shower was filthy upon arrival.Cleaning supplies consist of bucket, squeegie and broom only. We spent $25 at the local store so we could clean before settling in. The garage listed is actually a carport, with a piece of rope attached which serves as the clothesline.. Only one "snowy" channel available on TV. No games supplied if wet weather... Outdoor furniture very rickety with no umbrella to shade from the sun - and all three units share the BBQ! Based on the price we expected better facilities, such as more than two wine glasses, more than one couch ( we "relaxed" on the dining chairs), a coffee table,some sort of music facility, a towel rail that allowed for more than a hand towel...clean cutlery...
Needless to say we cut short our stay.....
Owner's reply
Kia Ora John & Jaki

I appreciate your feedback & would like to acknowledge your disgruntled comments.
Firstly I am sadden to hear of your disappointment especially relating to the cleanliness. Im confused on this matter as I personally cleaned the cottages myself.
During the 4 days that you stayed here, we were not once approached relating to this or other issues you have raised on this forum, nor we were given the oppurtunity to rectify the problems.
On departure you raise only some of these concerns(umbrella & no sky tv) with my husband, and as a gesture of good will we offered you a refund of one nights costs.
However, it seems to us that you may have been more suited to a more conprehensive accomodation that offers things such as games for wet days etc.
We have had 100's of satisfied customer over the years who appreciate the strengths of what we offer. Those being spectacular view and ideal location for a holiday at the beach.
We do appreciate your feedback and will look in to these for the future.
All the best
Zena & Bayden Barber
nepia-murrayclan
Stayed December 2009
Sorry forgot to update the date of our stay, it was actually Christmas 2009 not January
Sorry forgot to update the date of our stay, it was actually Christmas 2009 not January
Owner's reply
nepia-murrayclan
Stayed January 2009
Spent christmas at Waimarama cottages and had the best holiday ever. What a wonderful place..absolutely spectacular veiws.
The cottage we stayed in was lovely, clean and light and airy...and beleive me, I am a very articulate person.
It... Read more
Spent christmas at Waimarama cottages and had the best holiday ever. What a wonderful place..absolutely spectacular veiws.
The cottage we stayed in was lovely, clean and light and airy...and beleive me, I am a very articulate person.
It was the first cottage so was nice and private which is what we had requested. The host(owners) were lovely people who went out of there way to assure our time spent there was enjoyable.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Waimarama Cottages to anyone wanting to holiday in the Hawkes Bay region.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make a booking Booking or Enquiry
Show the online booking process Hide the online booking process

About Online Bookings

  1. This booking is subject to confirmation by the owner.
  2. The owner should confirm or decline your booking within 24 hours.
  3. Your credit card will not be charged unless the booking is confirmed.
  4. Details of your booking will be emailed to you along with a booking reference.
  5. Once completed, enjoy your stay at the holiday house!

You will be charged a 50% deposit to confirm your booking

  • First name
    Surname
  • When are you going?
    This house is already booked during the dates you have entered.
  •  
     
  • How many people are going?
Close

Additional rates information

Extra Details

  • You will be charged a 50% deposit to confirm your booking

About Online Bookings

  1. This booking is subject to confirmation by the owner.
  2. The owner should confirm or decline your booking within 24 hours.
  3. Your credit card will not be charged unless the booking is confirmed.
  4. Details of your booking will be emailed to you along with a booking reference.
  5. Once completed, enjoy your stay at the holiday house!

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

Available from Labour weekend through to Easter