Close

Additional rates information

Absolute Beachfront Holiday Home - OREWA

Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa Beach, Auckland
Ref #: 1453
Share
  • 5
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
Description

ABSOLUTE BEACHFRONT HOLIDAY HOME

A Memorable Holiday

We would love you to enjoy the property as many others have.
Also we can now get WIFI in the house (albeit the dining room only at this stage) from the Orewa Hot Spot across
Sky TV is installed at the property for your enjoyment.

***Latest Guest Feedback***

"Hi David,

Well what can i say!! It was more beautiful than i could ...

Read more...

ABSOLUTE BEACHFRONT HOLIDAY HOME

A Memorable Holiday

We would love you to enjoy the property as many others have.
Also we can now get WIFI in the house (albeit the dining room only at this stage) from the Orewa Hot Spot across
Sky TV is installed at the property for your enjoyment.

***Latest Guest Feedback***

"Hi David,

Well what can i say!! It was more beautiful than i could of imagined!
Looking out of those lovely big windows was awesome! I even went out for an early morning swim when i woke as the tide was right up below the back lawn.
Inside was so comfortable, reminded me so much of back home. Mam and nan
loved it, they just relaxed and walked the beach each day.
I knew it was in a great location for food, motorway and attractions but I was blown away with the views just sitting in the living room! We all slept like a log too!
Everything we needed was provided and all the instructions you gave were so easy to follow.
If I were you I wouldn't want to live anywhere else, mam had to push me through the door as we were leaving haha..
Dave you own a piece of Heaven!!!

Thank you so much!!!

Rach"

"Hello Alison and David
We had a wonderful time at Orewa. Your place is really special and the feeling that you treasure it comes across very clearly. Thank you for sharing such a special place with so many people (the visitors book tells its own story!).

Our litle granddaughters just loved the sand and sea and spent the whole time like little sand-hoppers building wonderful castles and having fun on the boogie boards. The weather was great all weekend. Once again, thanks very much for the chance to enjoy a piece of fast disappearing NZ". Lyn Evans - Wellingon

"Hi David,
A note of thanks for opening your Orewa holiday home to my family.
We had three generations with us and all of us enjoyed the stay immensely.
The wonderful view in the morning was a great way to start the day, and the mix of different books supplied, SKY TV, and various outdoor activities in the area made for a varied and relaxing week.
You may hear from us again in the future re further bookings.
Arlene was most helpful in assisting us and I have passed on our thanks to her.

Regards Paul"

SOME INFORMATION ABOUT THE PROPERTY

Located right in the centre on the finest beach in the Hibiscus Coast, (and arguably New Zealand), on the beautiful Orewa Beach.

Literally TEN steps from your lounge to the beach. NOTE - We are the ONLY freestanding house available for rent that is truly ABSOLUTE BEACHFRONT (most houses for rent on Orewa Beach have a level PUBLIC WALKWAY between their property and the beach). Further, some other owners also reside at the property. You have the full and exclusive use of our property.

Absolutely stunning sea and beach views from bedrooms, lounge and dining rooms.

Fully self contained 3 bedroom home (sleeps 7).
Big TV, DVD,CD/tape player, microwave, washing machine, fridge/freezer, oven, solid outdoor furniture and barbeque. A new kitchen has now been installed complete with dishwasher and appliances. We have also upgraded other parts of the property, including some new artwork that has been completed by a painter who has used as a canvas the old kitchen doors amongst other things!!

Hop skip and jump to Orewa Beach Town Centre, but the loudest thing you will hear is the crashing of the waves.

The property sits on a land area of some 1200+ square metres, and extends a few metres onto the beach itself. There is ample space for car/boat parking at the front of the property.

You have 180+ degree water views from the house. The view encompasses both ends of Orewa Beach, Hatfields Beach, Kawau Island with Little Barrier beyond, to Coromandel and along the Whangaparaoa Peninsula to Red Beach.

High tides illumined by a full moon can lap the edge of the lawn. It is not your private beach, but it may feel like it in the early morning, as you watch the sun rise in your personal theatre of sand, sea and sky.

Always available for short/medium term holiday rental.

PLEASE NOTE - OUR LISTING NUMBER OF 1453 - DEMONSTRATES THAT OUR PROPERTY IS ONE OF THE EARLIEST ADVERTISERS ON THIS WEBSITE. GUESTS HAVE NOW BEEN ENJOYING OUR HOLIDAY HOUSE SINCE DECEMBER 2000 - NEARLY 15 YEARS.
YOU CAN TRUST US WITH YOUR BOOKING.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Rates
14 Dec-28 Feb
$750.00/Night for 7 guests
 
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rest of year
$350.00/Night for 7 guests
 
1 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Rental rates depend on season and length of stay. All Enquiries welcome. 2 nights minimum weekend Friday Saturday nights otherwise 1 night available on other days.
POA for peak Christmas,New Year, Easter period.

Reviews (20 Reviews)
Trudi63
Stayed August 2018
The house is in a wonderful spot - stunning beach views from the front and shops conveniently at the back. We had a lovely stay. The house could do with an extra spring clean in certain areas. Unfortunately, at this point, one week after... Read more
The house is in a wonderful spot - stunning beach views from the front and shops conveniently at the back. We had a lovely stay. The house could do with an extra spring clean in certain areas. Unfortunately, at this point, one week after our stay, the owner has not responded to emails with regards to the return of our $200 bond for linen Alison did correspond prior to, and during our stay, but for some reason has not replied to emails thereafter. As a result, a pleasant stay has ended on a sour note.
Owner's reply
Trudi Hoogerbrugge
Stayed July 2018
Alison was out of contact for a week and has fully refunded our deposit. Thanks.
Alison was out of contact for a week and has fully refunded our deposit. Thanks.
Owner's reply
TKM
Stayed September 2017
We loved staying here so much thank you! You are literally right on the water when the tide is in! We took my mum - her mobility is not so great now but the fantastic location and view meant she could watch us flying kites out on the beach... Read more
We loved staying here so much thank you! You are literally right on the water when the tide is in! We took my mum - her mobility is not so great now but the fantastic location and view meant she could watch us flying kites out on the beach and swimming (yes, we swam on the first weekend of spring!) Comfy beds, great shower and bath and everything you need. Would love to come back in summer!
Owner's reply
John and Pam
Stayed August 2017
Hi David.
This is an overdue response from us!
After arrival at 7pm from Brisbane, we explored your house and found we were unable to count the bedrooms as they were ‘everywhere’ and also ‘hidden’ but we were ready for a good pillow and... Read more
Hi David.
This is an overdue response from us!
After arrival at 7pm from Brisbane, we explored your house and found we were unable to count the bedrooms as they were ‘everywhere’ and also ‘hidden’ but we were ready for a good pillow and deep sleep after a long travelling time. Other family members visited and also were grateful for the comfortable seating in the lounge, and the walks to shops , which are very close and easily accessible.

Waking up to the sound of gentle waves outside the window, followed by a steady stream of fitness walkers, the gentle elderly with walking canes , and a fair number of well controlled pet dogs having fun chasing birds and sticks in the low tide flat area, was such a change for travellers, good fun and nice and easy. Quite the opposite when high tide came in!

My brother was delighted to sit at the large window gazing at the waves beyond the shore edge, after months of his nursing home existence. He was happy to go for long walks to the Surfing Club building with his daughter, grandson and stepdaughter and ourselves. The family had a great time and were all able to contribute to meals at home, economising on the travelling costs. The kitchen was very well set up and easy to use. It was also great to utilise the selection of restaurants, and shops opposite and near us.

Finally thanks for the opportunity to stay at Orewa and be so comfortable.
We enjoyed studying your art work around the house as well - the five panel art work with the river winding into Waiwera was my pick.

Thanks also to Veronica as well, a heart of gold there!
Thanks from all of us,
John and Pamela
Owner's reply
Hamish.tina@xtra.co.nz
Stayed July 2017
This house is in an amazing location. Easy commute to Auckland city, good motorways. Every morning you wake up to an amazing view of the ocean and listening to the sound of the waves and its so handy to restaurants and supermarket literally... Read more
This house is in an amazing location. Easy commute to Auckland city, good motorways. Every morning you wake up to an amazing view of the ocean and listening to the sound of the waves and its so handy to restaurants and supermarket literally across the road. House was a good size for a family of 4 or more and well equipped. Could have stayed much longer. We would definitely stay again should we visit Auckland in the future.
Owner's reply
emmac123
Stayed March 2017
What a fantastic holiday home to stay in.
Excellent owners to deal with.
Location, view and home - all amazing.
We stayed for a long weekend and wanted to stay much longer.
Thank you!
What a fantastic holiday home to stay in.
Excellent owners to deal with.
Location, view and home - all amazing.
We stayed for a long weekend and wanted to stay much longer.
Thank you!
Owner's reply
Kayemcee
Stayed February 2017
We had an amazing week here lazing about between the backyard and beach. The hardest part was deciding whether to BBQ or get takeaways from over the road. Beautiful setting. Thank you, we will be back.
We had an amazing week here lazing about between the backyard and beach. The hardest part was deciding whether to BBQ or get takeaways from over the road. Beautiful setting. Thank you, we will be back.
Owner's reply
kmm21212
Stayed December 2016
What a wonderful place for a kiwi Christmas. Stunning location, beautiful beach, great for kids and dogs! Had a wonderful time here, we'll be back! Thank you so much.
What a wonderful place for a kiwi Christmas. Stunning location, beautiful beach, great for kids and dogs! Had a wonderful time here, we'll be back! Thank you so much.
Owner's reply
rickardo301
Stayed October 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic location with shops so close and right on the beach. Great for family with young ones, kids spent most of their time on the beach or amongst the rocks looking for treasures. Had beach toys for the kids... Read more
Really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic location with shops so close and right on the beach. Great for family with young ones, kids spent most of their time on the beach or amongst the rocks looking for treasures. Had beach toys for the kids which was really handy.
Owner's reply
Vikkihaines
Stayed October 2016
Loved the location.. right on the beach but so close and convenient to town... I just had to roll out of bed and walk across the road to the cafe ( who's service was impeccable) to get my coffee.. or if yr a swimmer.. the beach is... Read more
Loved the location.. right on the beach but so close and convenient to town... I just had to roll out of bed and walk across the road to the cafe ( who's service was impeccable) to get my coffee.. or if yr a swimmer.. the beach is literally right there for yr early morning wake up swim :)
House itself has great views..super clean and tidy.. the whole property is well maintained.
The sound of the ocean was beautiful to gently send you off to sleep in a bed I found very cosy! 😊
Definitely recommend this lovely property.. I will definitely stay again :)
Owner's reply
medwa
Stayed June 2016
We loved the location of this holiday home. The beach right on the front doorstep and the town centre just across the road. Easy and fast communication with the owner. Would definitely recommend!!!
We loved the location of this holiday home. The beach right on the front doorstep and the town centre just across the road. Easy and fast communication with the owner. Would definitely recommend!!!
Owner's reply
Ibbo
Stayed February 2016
Loved the position of this property, great to walk across the lawn and onto the beach. Shops etc. just across the road and the park 5 mins walk away. Kids loved it, and we loved waking to the beautiful views across the bay. Thanks David... Read more
Loved the position of this property, great to walk across the lawn and onto the beach. Shops etc. just across the road and the park 5 mins walk away. Kids loved it, and we loved waking to the beautiful views across the bay. Thanks David for sharing your home.
Owner's reply
lola.P
Stayed November 2015
My family and I spent two nights here for my daughter's 1st birthday. We enjoyed it so much, everyone had an aawesome time out on the beach and on the kayaks all day. The shops and restaurants are only a walk away. Picture perfect view... Read more
My family and I spent two nights here for my daughter's 1st birthday. We enjoyed it so much, everyone had an aawesome time out on the beach and on the kayaks all day. The shops and restaurants are only a walk away. Picture perfect view from the lounge and dinning table. Exactly what we were looking for.
Thanks so much david
Owner's reply
Teresia
Stayed June 2015
I can’t thank you enough for opening your home to our family and sharing your piece of heaven with us. Everything we could have asked for in a property and location was provided for.
The joy for us as a family, was waking up to the view... Read more
I can’t thank you enough for opening your home to our family and sharing your piece of heaven with us. Everything we could have asked for in a property and location was provided for.
The joy for us as a family, was waking up to the view of the ocean. For the children to enjoy the beach and the sand on your back doorstep. Very safe, peaceful, beautiful and relaxing.
Then having the convenience of our grocery, restaurant and daily needs at your front door step. You have the PERFECT location for a holiday home. Your home was the PERFECT accommodation for our family. It catered to all our needs.
Thank you again for sharing your home with us. My 5 year old daughter asked if we can spend her birthday at your holiday home, so we are saving up for that.
I have already recommended your property to friends and family for a holiday away from home.
We really do appreciate the simple things in life, sitting in your living room looking out at the ocean allowed us to reflect on the BEAUTY of life and our family time.
Thank you.
Tee
Owner's reply
muffiezz
Stayed November 2014
This is a truly amazing location, beach on your door step, shops out the other side - you can get your coffee fix and sit on the beach and enjoy the stunning views. This is the second time we have stayed here and we haven't been... Read more
This is a truly amazing location, beach on your door step, shops out the other side - you can get your coffee fix and sit on the beach and enjoy the stunning views. This is the second time we have stayed here and we haven't been disappointed. The beach is safe for the kids and we even got a display of 4 aerobatic planes while we ate our dinner outside one evening! This place is our first choice for accommodation when we stay North of the Bombays :)
Owner's reply
brutus
Stayed June 2014
We've stayed here twice before over last eighteen months - this is first time during winter. Although the sea was too cold for me the kids still had fun playing around in the kayaks. This time we had IN LAWS with us - so group of six -... Read more
We've stayed here twice before over last eighteen months - this is first time during winter. Although the sea was too cold for me the kids still had fun playing around in the kayaks. This time we had IN LAWS with us - so group of six - and the place accommodated us all pretty easily. The air conditioner was great to keep us cozy in the evening. We stayed five nights and we all just had a wonderful time. The problem is the kids have already starting asking when we are going back.
Owner's reply
puskin
Stayed May 2014
Over the last 5 years we have stayed at this beautiful spot at least twice a year.
It is wonderful to be able to wake in the morning and walk straight down on to the beach. On chilly mornings the heat pump in the lounge is much appreciated... Read more
Over the last 5 years we have stayed at this beautiful spot at least twice a year.
It is wonderful to be able to wake in the morning and walk straight down on to the beach. On chilly mornings the heat pump in the lounge is much appreciated.
We are so pleased to have found a house that can accommodate the three generations of our family, in such a beautiful spot and so close to the amenities that Orewa has to offer. We are returning in October for another lovely break with extended family.
Owner's reply
caveman
Stayed May 2014
Although the location is superb, prospective renters should be wary.
From the property advertisement - ‘Newly refurbished and fully self contained’ - this property may have been ‘newly refurbished’ many years ago, and is not self-contained,... Read more
Owner's reply
We went out of our way to accommodate 'caveman' who only wanted two separate one night stays. At the time the washing machine was away being repaired - and a new one has since replaced it. We received no communication from... Read more
Although the location is superb, prospective renters should be wary.
From the property advertisement - ‘Newly refurbished and fully self contained’ - this property may have been ‘newly refurbished’ many years ago, and is not self-contained, there is no laundry.
Property advertises items which it does not have, which you will not find out until after you have paid, i.e linen provided (only if you pay), washing machine (there is no washing machine). The pictures of the property show a garage, this cannot be used as it is full of rubbish, and is a fire and health hazard.
The house is dirty and poorly maintained, it does not have working fire alarms, everything, including the TV, is old and outdated. Also the owners require a bond, which they will return at their leisure.
Owner's reply
We went out of our way to accommodate 'caveman' who only wanted two separate one night stays. At the time the washing machine was away being repaired - and a new one has since replaced it. We received no communication from 'caveman' until we read this quite harsh negative comment - our first in 14 years of making our property available for others to enjoy.

Just in the last week our property manager has purchased electric blankets, heaters and put up new drapes and curtailing throughout the house. Refurbishment is a constant ongoing process so that people can enjoy the property as a home away from home. The reason why we do not have a 'modern' TV is simply due to the fact the house does get broken into when it is vacant and the TV is the first item they look for. The last burglary resulted in even one of the beds being taken with all the furnishings. Unfortunately these are sad but true reasons and and go with the territory of owning a holiday home.

The garage is not made available to anyone and is locked up. We are not sure how 'caveman' could make a comment on the garage when they do not have access to it.

We have a very conscientious property manager who cleans and prepares the property for each guest arrival. We have many, many guests who keep returning and I receive many emails afterwards stating what a lovely time they had and how clean the property was.

Yes we take a small bond and this is always disclosed in the first email. It is no different to giving your credit card to a hotel for when booking a room - it is just a very small level of security assurance.

We are very honoured to own this wonderful piece of paradise. We continue to make it available based on the enjoyment our hundreds and hundreds of guests continue to gain from it. It is a shame there are the odd 'cavemen' that believe the first thing they should do if not happy is to communicate through a webpage - rather than contacting the owner. I guess we kid ourselves that we can please everyone all the time - but we will at least continue giving it a go.

muffiezz
Stayed November 2013
Had an absolutely fantastic time at this beach front house! To walk out the back door and be greeted by the beautiful white sand beach was a dream for us 'south of the Bombay's' people!! The house was clean and tidy, plenty of... Read more
Had an absolutely fantastic time at this beach front house! To walk out the back door and be greeted by the beautiful white sand beach was a dream for us 'south of the Bombay's' people!! The house was clean and tidy, plenty of space and the use of the kayaks was great for the kids! To have the shops out of the other side was a bonus too - the best of both worlds
Idyllic NZ beach holiday destination, thanks David, we will definitely be back to stay again :)
Owner's reply
David Hassall
Stayed January 2007
Please note we have ALL guest feedback on a word document. Please request, and we will happily email you a copy. There is too much feedback to include here.
THANK YOU.
Please note we have ALL guest feedback on a word document. Please request, and we will happily email you a copy. There is too much feedback to include here.
THANK YOU.
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make a booking Booking or Enquiry
Show the online booking process Hide the online booking process

How to book this house:

1
2
3
4

You will be charged a 20% deposit to confirm your booking

A cleaning charge of $50.00 will apply to this booking.

  • First name
    Surname
  • When are you going?
    This house is already booked during the dates you have entered.
  •  
     
  • How many people are going?
Close

Additional rates information

Extra Details

  • You will be charged a 20% deposit to confirm your booking
  • A cleaning charge of $50.00 will apply to this booking.

How to book this house:

1
2
3
4

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.