Close

Additional rates information

Bach54

54 Tainui St, Mokau, North Taranaki
Ref #: 10694
Share
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
Description

Considered the most desirable locations in Mokau,
Featured in the NZ Weekend Magazine Best place to stay: Issue 12 by Travel writer Heather Ramsay

Bach54 is a self-contained cottage/crib and offers prime sea/mountain and river views and is open all year for overnight stays and extended holidays.

This unique accommodation is situated on its own large elevated section is fully ...

Read more...

Considered the most desirable locations in Mokau,
Featured in the NZ Weekend Magazine Best place to stay: Issue 12 by Travel writer Heather Ramsay

Bach54 is a self-contained cottage/crib and offers prime sea/mountain and river views and is open all year for overnight stays and extended holidays.

This unique accommodation is situated on its own large elevated section is fully self-contained with open plan kitchen/dining and a log burner for cosy winter nights.

There are three bedrooms, a deck with expansive views, easy access to beach and township facilities.
Free wireless internet connection.

Bach54 is owner managed so all linen and firewood is supplied and it is cleaned and maintained to a high standard.

GUEST COMMENTS:

Feature in WEEKEND MAGAZINE Issue 12 by Travel writer Heather Ramsay
“Bach54 offers a three-bedroom bach, private, sparkling and well-appointed, with fabulous views and log fires. Sheets, towels, soap, tea and coffee are provided, and there’s free wireless broadband”

"Thank-you so much for letting us share your lovely spot. Words cannot express how wonderful your secret location is! The pictures on your website are an indication of what you are going to experience but when you actually stand and take in the surroundings it is even better"

SUNDAY STAR TIMES review “If you want a chill-out place, this is it. The views of the sea, river and Mt Taranaki in the background (on a clear day) are amazing. Bach54 would be the place to relax at any time of the year. This old-style bach has been renovated to be modern and still cosy. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Everything is clean. The garden is beautiful and spacious. The owners are friendly and helpful and they have thought of everything that a guest might need. Definitely on my list of places to come back to”

THE BREEZE RADIO STATION: Our relationship with Bach54 is a valued one. They offer the kind of experience that our listeners are after, so it is a perfect match for us. They are friendly and helpful; nothing is ever too much trouble. We have thoroughly enjoyed working with Bach54 on our Easy Escape weekend promotion, with the help of Bach54 it was hugely successful.

Hide...
Map

Javascript is required for this feature

Loading...
Availability
JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All year

Rates
All year
$95.00/Night for 2 guests
 
2 Night minimum
more
close
All year (Weekends)
$125.00/Night for 2 guests
 
2 Night minimum
more
close
Rates:

Bach54 is exclusively for adults only. Maximum of two people at $95.00 per night weekdays (Sunday-Thursday) and $125.00 per night weekends (Friday-Saturday).
Minimum two night stay.
(Our minimum stay may be extended during peak season)

A deposit is required and payment is by direct credit.

This is an ideal holiday destination or romantic getaway.

Reviews (18 Reviews)
Bigted
Stayed October 2017
This is a fantastic retreat. Carol was great in setting us up and everything you could want was on hand. The views are to die for and the tranquility is a salve for the city scarred soul.
This is a fantastic retreat. Carol was great in setting us up and everything you could want was on hand. The views are to die for and the tranquility is a salve for the city scarred soul.
Owner's reply
lowenzahn
Stayed May 2016
lovely view and location! the owners gave us total privacy, which was how we would have wanted it. The bach is very well outfitted, really nothing missing. Extremely comfortable feather and down bedding and pillows, and there would have even... Read more
lovely view and location! the owners gave us total privacy, which was how we would have wanted it. The bach is very well outfitted, really nothing missing. Extremely comfortable feather and down bedding and pillows, and there would have even been washing powder, should we have needed it. This is a first to see that provided in a bach. There were lovely fresh flowers put in 2 vases upon our arrival, a very lovely welcome. Thank you for a great time.
Sue and Michael
Owner's reply
Chutney63
Stayed March 2015
A very special place, in a fantastic setting. The views from this property are second to none! We loved it and had a perfect weekend away from everything. Loved the township and the people are so friendly. My partner and I hope to buy land... Read more
A very special place, in a fantastic setting. The views from this property are second to none! We loved it and had a perfect weekend away from everything. Loved the township and the people are so friendly. My partner and I hope to buy land and build here one day.
Carol & Kevin are excellent hosts and most accommodating and we look forward to staying again soon.

Courtney & Rachel
Owner's reply
stephen w
Stayed March 2015
Our second stay here and not the last .Absolutely love that batch and the view.I wish we could live there .
Owner's reply
Lovely guests to have stay, great communication and prompt payment. Bach54 was well looked after and you're very welcome to come and stay again. Highly recommend to all other Bach owners. Carol. Bach54
Our second stay here and not the last .Absolutely love that batch and the view.I wish we could live there .
Owner's reply
Lovely guests to have stay, great communication and prompt payment. Bach54 was well looked after and you're very welcome to come and stay again. Highly recommend to all other Bach owners. Carol. Bach54
David & Alan
Stayed April 2014
Our third stay in this wonderful place. Great place to rest and relax. Will be back.
Our third stay in this wonderful place. Great place to rest and relax. Will be back.
Owner's reply
bnb95
Stayed April 2014
Our third stay and will, no doubt, be back again to rest and relax in this great place. David & Alan.
Owner's reply
Lovely guests to have stay, great communication and prompt payment, Bach54 was well looked after and you're very welcome to stay again. Highly recommend to all Holiday Houses owners.
Our third stay and will, no doubt, be back again to rest and relax in this great place. David & Alan.
Owner's reply
Lovely guests to have stay, great communication and prompt payment, Bach54 was well looked after and you're very welcome to stay again. Highly recommend to all Holiday Houses owners.
zl1dt
Stayed September 2013
Absolute paradise! Quiet, peaceful and private. Bach54 is on my list of places to go again. Mokau is a lovely small town with great food and beautiful scenery. a great little museum, with helpful people. This all rounded off the best two... Read more
Absolute paradise! Quiet, peaceful and private. Bach54 is on my list of places to go again. Mokau is a lovely small town with great food and beautiful scenery. a great little museum, with helpful people. This all rounded off the best two days away my wife and I have had for some time!
Owner's reply
ChrisandRay
Stayed March 2012
Lovely spacious bach in dramatic location. Views of the mountain hypnotic. Bach is very well equiped, comfortable and the woodburner adds to the pleasure. Hostess welcoming and helpful. Mokau is great for a few days visit.
Lovely spacious bach in dramatic location. Views of the mountain hypnotic. Bach is very well equiped, comfortable and the woodburner adds to the pleasure. Hostess welcoming and helpful. Mokau is great for a few days visit.
Owner's reply
Jan Dickie
Stayed June 2011
We spent four days at this fabulous bach in the middle of winter. Although the weather was indifferent there was still plenty to do. What could be more idyllic on a wet day than sitting in the cosy lounge with a good book, a glass of wine... Read more
We spent four days at this fabulous bach in the middle of winter. Although the weather was indifferent there was still plenty to do. What could be more idyllic on a wet day than sitting in the cosy lounge with a good book, a glass of wine and taking in the wonderful view to the mouth of the river and beyond. The bach was very well appointed with lots of little extras. We would recommend this bach to a couple wanting a few quiet days away from the hassles of city life and also to a family as there is so much beach to explore.
Owner's reply
Mynda Mansfield
Stayed April 2011
Great place! Well appointed Bach, comfortable, stylish, cosy, close to beach and river and with extraordinary views of lagoon, ocean and Mt. Taranaki. A place to lift the spirit! Will definitely return.
Great place! Well appointed Bach, comfortable, stylish, cosy, close to beach and river and with extraordinary views of lagoon, ocean and Mt. Taranaki. A place to lift the spirit! Will definitely return.
Owner's reply
evilwoman
Stayed November 2010
This place is fantastic and so reasonably priced. We both thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the bach. Absolutely fabulous views - private - trendy -everything you need is there - just unpack your car and move in. Within an hour of... Read more
This place is fantastic and so reasonably priced. We both thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the bach. Absolutely fabulous views - private - trendy -everything you need is there - just unpack your car and move in. Within an hour of arriving we were totally relaxed enjoying a wine on the deck. We will definately be regulars at this place. Thanks Carol.
Owner's reply
bevchris
Stayed November 2010
Bach54 is a hidden gem. The bach is very well presented and every little detail has been thought of to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We had a wonderful 2 night stay here, our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The view from... Read more
Bach54 is a hidden gem. The bach is very well presented and every little detail has been thought of to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We had a wonderful 2 night stay here, our hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The view from the Bach is stunning. We will definately go back to Bach54 and will recommend it to our friends and family. Thank you for your hospitality.
Owner's reply
marvon
Stayed October 2010
This accommodation is absolutely superb from its incredible cliff top views to the beautifully restored cottage set in very exclusive private setting.

The amenities were excellent really clean and tidy everything we needed was supplied,... Read more
This accommodation is absolutely superb from its incredible cliff top views to the beautifully restored cottage set in very exclusive private setting.

The amenities were excellent really clean and tidy everything we needed was supplied, amazing attention to detail the fireplace was so relaxing at night and the native bird dawn chorus was something very special, we went on a number of scenic coastal walks, loved everything about this place.

The hosts were kind and considerate and were very respectful of our privacy we really appreciated this.

We have travelled a lot throughout New Zealand and could not recommend Bach54 more highly.

Owner's reply
Jobby24
Stayed September 2010
DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT A STRESS FREE GET AWAY!!!


This bach itself on first inspection is reasonably well presented although drafty and riddled with insects due to windows that do not close and beds that are covered with animal hair... Read more
Owner's reply
EVICTED COUPLE MAKE FALSE COMMENTS ON HOLIDAY HOUSES

Please be advised that due to the disrespectful inappropriate behavior and damage to our premises this young couple had to be evicted from Bach54... Read more
DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT A STRESS FREE GET AWAY!!!


This bach itself on first inspection is reasonably well presented although drafty and riddled with insects due to windows that do not close and beds that are covered with animal hair on closer inspection. We could have put up with these faults, the attitude and aggression of the hosts however was intolerable.
The Saturday night before check out while enjoying a drink on the balcony the peace was disturbed by the hosts having what appeared to be a “marital blue”, this is not what I expect from a host but is not as disturbing as the events that followed come check out time. Check out time was listed as 10am and we were running a little late. At 1008am the woman came and bashed on the door demanding to know why we were not gone. A bit taken by back by her aggression I appoligised then explained that we were running few minutes late but expected to be gone within 10mins at which time she flared up even further and told us that we had better be gone within 5 mins then proceeded to attack us for having too many lights on the previous night before she stormed off!!. We were amazed at her attitude and began to load our belongings into our vehicle at which time her husband came onto the scene and asked how our stay had been. We explained the reception that his wife had just given us and that we did not intend to return. He hit the roof!! Telling us that we were pieces of SH*T and were not welcome back then went into the unit and started throwing our remaining belongings out the door. At this stage I asked him to stop before he damaged anything and explain what the issue at hand was. He responded by telling me to F**K off pushed me then turned his aggression to my partner. As we picked up the last of our belongings he continued to threaten more violence as we left before the situation got right out of hand.
This unprovoked behavior from a host couple is absolutely appalling and I would therefore recommend to anybody looking at this accommodation to

FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE THE ATTITUDE AND AGGRESSIVE NATURE OF THESE HOSTS WILL FAR OUTWIEGH ANY GOOD POINTS THIS BACH HAS TO OFFER
Owner's reply
EVICTED COUPLE MAKE FALSE COMMENTS ON HOLIDAY HOUSES

Please be advised that due to the disrespectful inappropriate behavior and damage to our premises this young couple had to be evicted from Bach54 accommodation.

As an older couple we received intimidation and threats resulting in this couple attempting to discredit the reputation of Bach54.
You can see for yourself just how out of context and untrue their comments are when you visit www.bach54.co.nz and view the feedback we regularly receive from reputable trust worthy organizations and individuals nationwide. Their comments identify just how clean and tidy Bach54 is and the friendliness of the hosts.

A Recent feature in Weekend Magazine Issue 12, 2010 by Travel writer Heather Ramsay
“Bach54 offers either the stand alone, three-bedroom bach or an upstairs two-bedroom tourist flat. Both are private, sparkling and well-appointed, with fabulous views and log fires. Sheets, towels, soap, tea and coffee are provided, and there’s free wireless broadband”

Just received in from a couple who stayed only one week before (Jobbo24)
Thank-you so much for letting us share your lovely spot. Words cannot express how wonderful your secret location is! The pictures on your website are an indication of what you are going to experience but when you actually stand and take in the surroundings it is even better. The lovely cosy bach is just right and we felt very much at home and the wood fire was a welcome bonus. We had a great three nights with wonderful walks on the beach and great views of the white baiters trying their luck. Will definitely be back in the very near future.
Caroline & Peter Viskovich, Whangarei

This couple who don’t even identify themselves come with no such character references and have since been blacklisted from our Holiday Houses Site and other accommodation providers within the region being notified.

Kevin & Carol. Bach54


buntscorp
Stayed August 2009
Thank-you so much for letting us share your lovely spot. Words cannot express how wonderful your secret location is! The pictures on your website are an indication of what you are going to experience but when you actually stand and take in... Read more
Thank-you so much for letting us share your lovely spot. Words cannot express how wonderful your secret location is! The pictures on your website are an indication of what you are going to experience but when you actually stand and take in the surroundings it is even better. The lovely cosy bach is just right and we felt very much at home and the wood fire was a welcome bonus. We had a great three nights with wonderful walks on the beach and great views of the white baiters trying their luck. Will definitely be back in the very near future.
Caroline & Peter, Whangarei

Owner's reply
buntscorp
Stayed March 2009
SUNDAY STAR TIMES:review 22 March 2009: “If you want a chill-out place, this is it. The views of the sea, river and Mt Taranaki in the background (on a clear day) are amazing. Bach54 would be the place to relax at any time of the year. This... Read more
SUNDAY STAR TIMES:review 22 March 2009: “If you want a chill-out place, this is it. The views of the sea, river and Mt Taranaki in the background (on a clear day) are amazing. Bach54 would be the place to relax at any time of the year. This old-style bach has been renovated to be modern and still cosy. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Everything is clean. The garden is beautiful and spacious. The owners are friendly and helpful and they have thought of everything that a guest might need. Definitely on my list of places to come back to”

Owner's reply
Solitaire
Stayed January 2008
This beautiful place has become my second home. The views, gentle hosts and ambience have allowed my Creative-Muse to quietly return, for which I will be forever grateful. This sanctuary, for me, is a very Spiritual and restorative space: the... Read more
This beautiful place has become my second home. The views, gentle hosts and ambience have allowed my Creative-Muse to quietly return, for which I will be forever grateful. This sanctuary, for me, is a very Spiritual and restorative space: the sound of the sea, beach walks and the frequent visits to the garden by Tui and other birds, make it even more special. I am a regular visitor, and stay for over a week every time. I love it. Stephanie, Pukengahu, Stratford.
Owner's reply
JD Howe
Stayed December 2007
stayed here over Xmas,loved it,totally relaxing spot.Owners were freindly and unobtrusive.Hope to bring our kids here in the future
stayed here over Xmas,loved it,totally relaxing spot.Owners were freindly and unobtrusive.Hope to bring our kids here in the future
Owner's reply
Show More... Show More... Leave a review
Make an enquiry Booking or Enquiry
  • First name
    Surname
  • Phone
  • When are you going?
    This includes booked dates. You can still send the enquiry but the house may not be available.
  • How many people are going?
  • Message (optional)
  • From
    $ 95NZD

    This price is an estimate based on the owner's listed rates, the actual rate may differ and your booking could be subject to additional charges.

    Read additional rates information
  • Please confirm you are a human
Close

Additional rates information

Availability

JavaScript is required to display the calendar.
Availability:

All year