Chaslands Farm Cottages (Rata)

219 Waipati Road, Chaslands, Owaka
Max Guests

About this Holiday House

Our older style retro Cottages are located in the heart of The Catlins on a 303 ha (750 acre) farm surrounded by forest. This tranquil surrounding is a great place to explore from. You are only minutes from The Cathedral Caves, McLean Falls and Tautuku Beach and you are still central to the many other amazing attractions in The Catlins or explore Invercargill and Balclutha for the day as they are only one

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen provided
No smoking
No disabled access
Extra Bedding
Washing Machine
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Tea, coffee, sugar etc
Cellphone coverage
Cleaning equipment
Cleaning supplies
Clothes line
Electric heat
Laundry Tub

Bed layout

1 Queen(s), 5 Single(s)

Special Amenities

You are located in a tranquil environment with great views of Mt Sampson and the surrounding native forest. Central location to many iconic Catlins attraction like The Cathedral caves (10 mins) Curio Bay and the Petrified forest (20 mins) to only name a couple.

Special Attractions and Activities Nearby

While visiting our Chaslands Farm Cottages accommodation you may wish to venture to The Bride Veil Falls which has limited access through our farm.


Average Rating: 3
4 total reviews

Debashish Munshi
Nice, secluded, rural setting and yet close to the major attractions of the Catlins region. Comfortable cottage and lovely hosts. However, the wifi coverage to the cottage ( Cottage 1 - Rata) is very poor and nearly non-existent.
Response from Owner
Thank you so much for the lovely feed back it was a pleasure hosting you. I can only offer apologies for the Wifi service, I am working through some technical difficulties with our provider and can promise that it is being sorted now that we are out of Christmas / New Year holidays for the tech people. Regards Dianne
Deane Henderson
Extremely run down and dirty. Only stayed one of the two nights booked. Spoke to the hosts and asked for a refund for the second night but heard nothing at all. I do not recommend this accomodation at all.
Response from Owner
Thank you Deane for your feed back. It was a pleasure meeting you even with your early check in arrival. Your unhappiness came as a big surprise as you and your good lady seemed very happy when Tony caught up with you later in the day. When you made your complaints at lunchtime the following day I asked you to specifically show me this 'dirtiness' so I could see the problem first hand and then hope to fix them. When I was cleaning up after you left I did see a bit of cooking oil behind the range so cleaned this up. I was unable to refund you as you declined my request to see the problems you mentioned which I did not feel were justified. You left after mid day on your second days stay it would have been more appropriate bringing your issues to me ASAP. Kind Regards Dianne
Karen Rowe
We sooo enjoyed our night off the grid the native birds and new lambs beds very comfy everything you could wish for
Response from Owner
Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you although we did not get to catch up. I would like to thank you for leaving the Cottage in an extremely tidy state and you were very respectful guests. Kind regards Dianne
View more...



Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
All year$110 / Night for 2 guests$201 Night
All year
$110 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $20Min. stay: 1 Night




More Holiday Houses near Catlins