Prime beachfront location

Max Guests

About this Holiday House

Original kiwi bach situated 3mins north of Mokau village. Superb beachfront locality in a private setting (just 1 neighbour next door), 15 metres walk from deck and you are on the beach. Good kontiki fishing and surfcasting in front of bach. Awakino pub 3mins north, which has a good restaurant, and cafes and stores at Mokau. Also a garage just north of pub which is well stocked with groceries and general supplies. Uninterrupted views of Tasman Sea and Mt Egmont from deck. This truly is a unique spot, and is still an unspoilt and "wild" part of N.Z. Photos coming this week. All we ask is that you treat the bach as if was your own, leave it clean and tidy, and enjoy your stay.

Details and amenities

Child friendly
No pets
Linen not provided
Smoking allowed
No disabled access
Accessible Bathroom
Washing Machine
Boat parking
Off Street Parking
Cleaning equipment
Clothes line
Electric heat
Extra Toilet
Laundry Tub
Outdoor furniture

Bed layout

3 Single(s), 2 Double(s), 1 Sofa bed(s), 1 Stretcher(s)


Average Rating: 3
13 total reviews

A kiwi bach with beachfront access. Unspoilt Mt Taranaki and sunset views. Unfortunately we had to air out because of musty smell and a bit of cleaning was required.There was a few small issues but overall comfortable double bed made it ok. A bit of a tidy up and this bach would be perfect. We had a 5 year old who camped on the couch with his sleeping bag, we had all our own bedding. We wanted a relaxing holiday with beach walks and play and that's what we got.
Response from Owner
Thanks Maree, as I said I take people on trust to leave it clean and tidy.
Jen and Dave
We recently booked this Bach and were really unsatisfied with the standard of the house that we never even stayed a night. The location is very good and right on the beach so if you don't mind slumming it it could be the perfect place for you. The main problem was that the property looks nothing like the photos,especially the bedrooms which,to be frank,were disgusting. Very messy,with wardrobes with wonky doors, mattresses that would be at least 20 years old,live rodent traps and an ant problem and a really horrible stale,damp smell. We believe that the owner has deceived us and any other potential tenants by providing such out of date photos. You will also note that all the reviews on here are 7 years old which is telling.....She also admitted in a note on the wall that there had been a leak earlier this year and advised not to turn a light for a few weeks in case the leak hadnt dried out yet.she assures us that this note is no longer applicable and the problem has been resolved but it hardly inspires confidence. We have a toddler and felt that potential rodent infestation along with water damage and potential electrical faults was not safe or hygienic and wouldn't have felt at all comfortable letting her sleep in a room on her own. If the rodent problem had been advised in the advert or when she phoned us before we paid then we wouldn't have booked the Bach in the first place. Once we got home and had a phone signal we contacted the owner and explained the situation and what we were unsatisfied with but she didn't agree (or perhaps even care)and just seemed offended that we didn't like her Bach as much as she did. At no point did we ever ask for a refund but she said she wouldn't give us one because our 'attitude stinks'.
Genuine Kiwi Bach. So close to the beach. Had a great 6 days here fishing, walking and relaxing on the deck and the sunsets were awesome. Was really peaceful and private. Alison the owner had great communication with me and was very helpful. I took spare kitchenware but didn’t need it as all amenities were in the Bach and was clean and tidy and I had the best sleep I have had for months. Just trying to organise time off work to go back again.
Response from Owner
Thanks Brent I have my best sleeps down there too! January is almost fully booked so just get back to me when you’re ready.
View more...



Date rangeRatesExtra guestsMinimum stay
All year$135 / Night for 2 guests$152 Nights
All year
$135 / Night for 2 guests
Extra guests: $15Min. stay: 2 Nights
$135 per night for two, and then $15 each per person after that.
Children under 10 years free.
We would prefer a minimum stay of 3 nights to cut down our travelling to and from the Waikato in between tenants, but we are flexible.

The bach is available through the whitebaiting season when we are not fishing ourselves.


More Holiday Houses near Mokau